We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of comfort & design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urbanrooms

Save Saved
You added Urbanrooms to your Saves list
Urbanrooms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urbanrooms
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Rue D'Alsace-Lorraine, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Ixelles B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great mix of comfort & design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful B&B!
Small, quiet, cozy and with an amazing minimalist design. Unfortunately we stayed only for one night but I will definitively stay here again if I come back to Brussels.
Very good location if you are coming for truism and also close to the EU parliament.
Rooms are spacious and ours even had a nice terrace. Breakfast was great and hosts took good care of us and gave us a great recommendation for restaurants.
The place has been completely renovated and it's in great conditions... and most important, it is super clean! Worth trying it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Urbanrooms is a wonderful B&B! Great location: walking distance to a lot of trendy restaurants and to city center. Amazing rooms: comfortable, design, luxurious bathrooms, great beds. Delicious breakfast and last but definitely not least: amazing hosts! Julie & Tanguy are extremely friendly and charming, and they are always ready and willing to provide you with expert recommendations about places to see and things to do around Brussels. All this makes Urban rooms the perfect place to stay, both for a romantic city trip or for an efficient business trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This B&B is a converted apartment over multiple levels. It has a limited amount of rooms and might not be the best for families, but I thought it was an excellent choice for my work-related trip and can imagine it would be very nice for couples as well. The B&B is very clean, modern and comfortable and is situated a short walk from the Metro. It's also close to EU Parliament and easy walking distance to a number of restaurants. The breakfast is excellent - a variety of healthy options and fresh-pressed juice. The only drawbacks are that you have to climb up a few levels of stairs - tedious with luggage - and I thought the pillows were quite uncomfortable. If possible, try to email the B&B in advance with your arrival time so that the woman who owns knows to expect you as she isn't always there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Took us a little while to find our bearings in Brussels, this accommodation is best for people who can read maps and follow directions. By no means is it a run of the mill hotel chain in a super central area. Instead, Urbanrooms is a little off the beaten track.
As with previous reviews the area it is located was unsettling to walk through at night (I'm writing this from the perspective of 2 gay girls from NZ), during the day this was not a problem and generally we didn't go out at night anyhow.

The rooms were really cool, minimalist without too much bother on anything flashy. Awesome bathroom (I want those? polished concrete tiles), just be careful to shower with the bathroom door closed as we managed to set the fire alarm off briefly.

The only downside for us was the temperature of the room, it was super hot and we couldn't have the curtains drawn and window open simultaneously.
There was a fan provided but was pretty noisy.
Not great for people who don't like stairs as you needed to climb a few to get to the rooms.

No elevator or anything flashy just beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly hosts.

Lovely hosts and should we return to Brussels we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really enjoyed the modern look of this B&B - very stylish and clean - and the pictures on the website actually matched reality. The hosts were very friendly and offered suggestions about where to go in Brussels. Breakfast was simple but filling, and the free coffee and tea throughout the day were appreciated. All was in walking distance to metro stop and EU parliament / Place du Luxembourg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was beautiful, super clean, modern, and the bathroom, big and comfortable. No one was there to receive us, and being new to Brussels, and given that it is located off the "tourist" track, it took us some time to get our bearings and figure out what to do. It would've been nice to have some suggestions of restaurants, etc. from the B&B.
Breakfast was do it yourself too, some signs pointing out that the eggs were raw (I thought they had been previously hard-boiled) would have been nice, directions to use the Nespresso machine would have saved some wasted filters, and we had to snoop around for extra cutlery.... Besides that, it was basic but good: fresh bread, cereal, yogurt and fresh OJ.
The cleaners came into my room while I was still there, well before check out.
Besides the "ghostly" feeling of the B&B, our stay was very pleasant.
For someone in and out of Brussels for business, or for people who are familiar with the city, this is the perfect place to stay. For someone who needs more guidance, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, nice breakfast, very friendly owners and fellow travellers (only 2 others!). Walking distance from EU locations, peaceful and private, can be highly recommended!

Room Tip: I was in room 3 facing the street, am sure the others are just as good. Nr. 1 is to the yard, so mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urbanrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbanrooms

Address: 10 Rue D'Alsace-Lorraine, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urbanrooms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Urbanrooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbanrooms Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urbanrooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.