We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chou de Bruxelles

Le Chou de Bruxelles
Rue de Florence 26, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 2 537 69 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Since 20years our restaurant have the pleasure to serve you a local cooking in a "belgo-belge" decoration, our specialty, the mussels, prepared in more then 30 kinds, built our reputation and well outside our borders. In good weather, a beautiful garden will welcome you.Special in Brussels, you can compose yourself your Menu "à la carte" for 29€: starter, main course and dessert to choose in the menu.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“superb !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely food , very friendly staff , nice ambience in restaurant , if you are in Brussels make sure you email and reserve a table in this place , you wont be dissapointed ( make sure you reserve though as i see people turned away Friday night )
If you want to be taken to the cleaners with abject food and service then by all means stick around the " grand place " if you want some high quality local food and excellent prices then jump the metro or cab and head to this place . The ham with mustard was superb , wish i had gone back the following night !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    129
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We ate here on a Monday night and the place was packed , so it is obviously doing something right. This is a very pleasant place for a nice meal, but nothing special. Fine dining it is not , and the prices are very reasonable ( that is for us Londoners!!). Plenty of choice, and if you just want a plate of moules, the choice is huge. We much enjoyed the cassolette de fruits de mer as a starter. Better than the moules on their own. Mains are large, served with vegetables. Desserts are fairly predictable and not that exciting. Atmosphere is friendly. Wines very reasonably priced. Certainly a successful establishment for a good value night out. Booking strongly advised. Service can be a bit slow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great Restaurant! Many locals seem to eat here, which is always a good sign! The staff was very friendly and fun, welcoming and know what they are serving.
Loooong list of mussels to choose from - amongst many other delicious things on the menu! Value for price is great! We will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“excellent kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This restaurant offers typical Brussels cuisine done in a very accomplished way. Though quite busy, the service was friendly and timely. We enjoyed the sole meuinere and the beer simmered lamb shank. We agreed that we would return for these two dishes again anytime. Delicious. The meal was concluded with a perfectly made mousse au chocolate. The pricing was quite reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Exceptional Moule Frites, Great Prices and Cozy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The best Moule Frites in Brussels so far. With thirty different preparations at a set price of 21 euro, you can't go wrong ordering the mussels. Here. the Belgian staple are plump, juicy and packed with flavor. I ordered the Moule de la chef which was a garlic cream sauce with green vegetables. Delicious! My spouse ordered from the prix fixe menu, a bargain at 29 euro. The Caprese salad was exceptional. While his steak was more in the average range, he enjoyed the roasted potatoes which the server graciously substituted for the frites. The prix fixe also came with dessert. My spouse chose the tarte tatin with ice cream, a portion enough to share. Very good, but not the best we've had.
There are reasonably priced wines and great service. Reservations are recommended. We lucked out and got the last table of the night but many people were turned away after we arrived. They have a very nice garden which was unfortunately closed as one of their servers called in sick. Rather the staff be proactive and manage to their resources than over commit and disservice the entire restaurant.
This is our go to restaurant for Moule Frites.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chou de Bruxelles also viewed

 

Been to Le Chou de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chou de Bruxelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.