We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal and Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chou de Bruxelles

Le Chou de Bruxelles
Rue de Florence 26, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 2 537 69 95
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Chou de Bruxelles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 20years our restaurant have the pleasure to serve you a local cooking in a "belgo-belge" decoration, our specialty, the mussels, prepared in more then 30 kinds, built our reputation and well outside our borders. In good weather, a beautiful garden will welcome you.Special in Brussels, you can compose yourself your Menu "à la carte" for 29€: starter, main course and dessert to choose in the menu.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went here our last night after a week in Europe because it got strong reviews and was near our hotel in Brussels. Wow! Great place! Family-owned restaurant has wonderful French Belgian cuisine. Mussels any way you want them; steak frites; foie gras, and more. The atmosphere was casual, happy and romantic all at once. The food, wine and beer were excellent quality and the service was mostly quick (but not too quick) and always with a smile. Love the owner -- I couldn't decide between foie gras and beef carpaccio so the owner (I later learned) piled my carpaccio with a taste of the foie. So unnecessary, hilarious and delicious. I would go out of my way to come back to this restaurant. Magnifique! Super! Merci Bocu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    110
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome to Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The girl at reception at my hotel recommended an Italian restaurant close by, but as it was my first night in Brussels, I was looking for something of a Belgian flavour. This restaurant offered just that. I had moules a la creme which of course came with pomme frites. The mussels came in a huge steaming pot, and the sauce was just perfect - not too creamy but with a delicious flavour. And the pomme frites were also fantastic. I don't want to know how they make them taste so good! I followed with tarte tatin and It was so good I could have licked the plate.
The service was terrific too. I dined on my own and everyone made me feel very welcomed.
Great value, plenty of food and a real Belgian experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited based on TA reviews, and totally agree. This restaurant is a true gem. The best part is that it is clearly favored by the locals (always a good sign!). We enjoyed their 3 course dinner menu for EUR29.00 - great value and quality. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Uninteresting food, decent setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of our hotel concierge. Quite disappointed, the salmon was, to coin a phrase from my dining partner "cooked to all holy hell" and despite her shrimps being swimming in butter and garlic, had only minimal flavour. Both our dishes were accompanied with plain boiled potatoes; it is a general dislike of mine when restaurants batch boil potatoes and serve them unseasoned with everything as an accompaniment. Ditto on the slightly wilted salad greens that made several appearances.

The bread was slightly stale, and had a crust indicating it had been left out for some time.

The service was quite good and attentive, and the setting nicely quiet. However for 70 euros on two courses (we did not stay for dessert after the disappointing meal), I frankly expect more. Brussels has some excellent dining options, and there is really no reason to dine here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great family run restaurant. Very friendly and attentive. Will visit every time I'm in Brussels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Chou de Bruxelles also viewed

 

Been to Le Chou de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chou de Bruxelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.