We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Internet situation is totally unacceptable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Aeropuerto No.400 | Parque Industrial Milenium, Apodaca 66600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Apodaca
Winder, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Internet situation is totally unacceptable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed in multiple rooms for a total of 8 nights so far. Only on 1 night did I actually have usable internet. That was worse than dial-up speed. I complained to the front desk no less than 3 times and called (or was transferred to) their help desk. The answer I got more than once was that slowness would be due to too many people being on all at once. But for most nights, slowness doesn't apply since it was totally stopped.

This might pass as normal for folks down here, but it is a show stopper for me. This made my whole experience awful. Cleanliness was below average, but not terrible. The front desk is understaffed because more than once I put off complaining due to the severe wait time of even getting to a desk agent.

If you have to stay at this hotel as I did (corporate influence), you can get tolerable internet by going down to the lobby/food area.

Room Tip: I would think the closer you are to the ground floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Fl0tsam_N_Jetsam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our internet service. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you need to be close to the airport this is a safe and comfortable place. You can get work done, eat well and relax without having to hit the streets. Good quality taxi service from here too, to local malls or into town if need be. The girls and guys at reception are well above average professionals and personalities for the region, and can go the extra mile to give a good stay. There's a Tex-Mex all-day grill bar next door, good party venue as well as broad menu restaurant and cocktail bar specialising in flame-grilled meats; and if you like Mexican food the hotel's own breakfast has cooked meat, eggs, tortillas and sauces, on top of continental and American choices.

Sritas y seniores de recepcion: gracias por una muy buena estancia - no saben lo que es aterrizar en londres de buen humor y con saborcito a chilaquil aun en la boca.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading here, there are some spacious and comfortable suites to settle down in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGE A, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind comments, Iam very glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed our facilities, I will share your comments with my team

please come back for more chilaquiles soon... looking forward!

Jorge Aquino
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my first stay at this hotel. I have stayed at others, but none of them are as nice, clean, and comfortable this one. This hotel is within 5 minutes of the airport...maybe the closest hotel. You can have the information desk at the airport (at domestic arrival/departure) call the hotel for you....the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and fluent in English (my spanish could use much improvement). The breakfast in the morning was good, plentiful, not the sausage or biscuits & gravy you find at those HIX in the states...they have local foods that were quite good, plus they have the cereal and fruits as well. The hotel has a pantry style store for items the traveler may need, including some candy and chips, and cold drinks.

The shuttle service goes to the airport and most industrial facilities in the area. The shuttle is limited to about 6km radius. Safety in Mexico these days is so very important...travelers don't know the area so finding a hotel that one feels safe and comfortable with, thats important. This hotel is secure, and I feel it is in a safe area...I feel safe...!!!

There is a very nice but small pool and the water is at a very refreshing cold temperature. I travel on business 90% or more, and it is hard to think of a better facility then the Holiday Inn Express and others in the IHG family. This is definitely the best hotel that I have stayed at in Mexico.

There are a lot of food choices close by that ranges. I have tried steak and tacos at El Papalote, located next door to the hotel and while a chain restaurant it is an authentic Mexican restaurant that is highly recommended.

Room Tip: On line I was able to only reserve a two bed room and not the King bed that I really wanted. On arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGE A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for your time and comments, your complete satisfaction is our goal, Im very glad that we were up to yout expectations and that you had a great time here!

thanks again and please como back soon!

cordially

Jorge Aquino
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a very nice stay at this 3 star hotel. It was one of the closest hotels to the airport. I called from the airport coin phone and the hotel shuttle picked me up within 10 minutes. The room was clean and the morning buffet was good. The airconditioner worked well and the tv had several hbo channels. The hotel has 2 free computers for guests to use and a workout room with 2 treadmills and a bike that was open from 6am to 11pm. The small pool was open from the same times. A restaurant was outside the hotel or the shuttle could take you to others within a 6 km radius. I felt safe and well taken care of my entire stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGE A, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your kind comments with all the tripadvisor community and with ourselves, we strive to offer the best service possible and comfortable surroundings
thanks again and look forward to see you soon!!


JORGE AQUINO
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel when in the Monterrey/Apodaca area for the past year. We used to stay at the Holiday Inn Norte, which is a long taxi ride from the airport, and not even close to our customers. We have stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott right down the street from this one, and the Crown Plaza next door, but none of them are as nice, clean, and comfortable this one. The staff is exceptionally friendly and fluent in English. The breakfast in the morning has scrambled eggs made with REAL eggs! The fresh fruits, and other choices make a wonderful way to start the day. In the evening during the week, they put out a wide selection of food, with salad, snacks, pizza, and other "finger foods". Soda and beer makes a great way to end the day. The shuttle service goes to the airport and most industrial facilities in the area. This hotel is secure, and in a safe area. And the pool is always a very refreshing cold temperature. I travel on business 90% or more, and it is hard to think of a better facility than this one, and definitely the best that I have stayed at in Mexico. There is a lot of food close by that ranges from burgers that are great at Papalotes, to the II Castillo Italian restaurant that is exquisite Italian, to Los Fresnos, an authentic Mexican restaurant that is also highly recommended.

Room Tip: For extended stay visits, get the suites, they come with a refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalerias, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for your time and for sharing your comments, we are glad that you had a great experiance in our hotel, it is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable as posible

thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to see you soon!!

cordially


JORGE AQUINO
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

They do a good job of taking care of you here. The shuttle will take you anywhere you want within a few miles of the area, even to work (and they will pick you up). This makes it really convenient if you rather not rent a car and drive in mexico, so long as you don't have to go that far.

I am unsure if they have a dinner buffet but the breakfast one was good, as well as being free. The little restaurant out front had decent food as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalerias, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I Would like to thank you for your kind comments during your stay with us, your satisfaction is our goal, thanks again for your time and certainly will share your feedback with all the team

we look forward to see you soon!

Best Regards

JORGE AQUINO
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is a Good basic business hotel for overnight stop, the room are reasonable size and clean, following the standards of this hotel chain, good basic breakfast in a very simple "restaurant" area, a good and SECURE place to stay, the biggest problem I found is that it is in the meddle of nowhere, sure very close to the airport and a very good chain restaurant next door to the hotel besides that nothing else to do.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto

Address: Boulevard Aeropuerto No.400 | Parque Industrial Milenium, Apodaca 66600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Apodaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Apodaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, your best stay ... for a day, a week, a month or even a year! Designed with the renovated Holiday Inn Express Brand Identity located only one minute away from the Monterrey International Airport you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. You are at the heart of the main Industrial Parks and only 25 minutes away from downtown and the most important Convention Centers of Monterrey. Take advantage of our complimentary transportation service 6 miles around the area including shuttle to and from the airport. When it is time to get connected we are the only hotel in the city that has what you need, the fastest and free High Speed Internet Access through wireless and LAN Connection in your room and all the public areas.Every night is a great night resting in our spacious rooms and our comfortable beds will make you want to stay put, also every day starts right with our healthy and hot breakfast. Just a few minutes from Motorola, Smith Medical, Carplastic, Halliburton, Alcoa, Chrysler, Schneider Electric Square D, GE Manufacturing, Visteon, Trane American Standard, Denso, Parker, Elcoteq, Takata, Whirpool, Doncasters, Lear Corporation, York, Marathon Electric, Toyota, Emerson, Celestica, Uniform Color, Johnson Controls, etc. Come and discover a Unique Experience feeling a Genuine Service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto Mexico/Apodaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Monterrey Aeropuerto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.