We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bab el Oued

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agdz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bab el Oued
Save
You added Bab el Oued to your Saves list
Palmeraie de Tamnougalt | Mezguita, Agdz 45050, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Agdz B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eco-luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent only 1 night here, but would like to have spent more. Rooms are very spacious, food is very good and there is a nice little pool.
8 little houses are placed in a luscious garden, with wonderful plants and flowers. Really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been travelling for 12 weeks and sorting out where to stay and when and how long. We were just up the road having lunch at a large Riad Kasbah with a pool and 30 Spanish architecture students so on arriving down the road at this quiet little place it seemed like heaven. We have since stayed at many , looking testing sorting and staying. Hind sight is a wonderful thing. The sheets and towels superb. The rooms for first timers were looking good although the quality of building work a bit poor. The pool sensational, but value for money was not good. The service was search and ask, the garden seemed as if unable to maintain so shabby with too much decorating of pots dying and nick knacks. It was a haven away from the hustle and bustle of travelling and food was quite good. It is a lovely place to stay for peace quiet etc,. The expense is enormous and we have not seen the likes of this throughout the rest of our trip and we have stayed in many similar and great places for 1/3to half the price. We paid up and left, no goodbyes, it was just as if we hadn't been there. For this sort of money, it should be a lot better than this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabelOued, Gérant at Bab el Oued, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for noting that with only 6 Eco Houses , although we arrange 5000 sqm in palm grove, we cannot have welcomed 30 persons in the Oasis...
This comment does not concern Bab el Oued Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This idyllic eco-resort was our last stop before heading into the Sahara for a stay at Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp. Paradise is such an over-used word these days but oh so appropriate here. We both wished we could have stayed longer. Highlights included welcome tea and biscuits served on modern lounges beside a clear, clean central swimming pool. The pool was surrounded by an organic fruit, vegetable, and flower garden. Guest accommodations are individual adobe-style cabins. Ours was appointed with a King bed, high-end European linens, a delightful sitting area, and a modern washroom with beautiful fixtures. After a long day of driving I had the most refreshing shower of our trip. We grabbed our cameras and wandered the palmeraie next door until sunset. Dinner was served in the main lodge, where the owners, Mathilde and Zine, pampered us with their warm, cheerful demeanor and an absolutely delicious multi-course meal. They seemed so genuinely focused on ensuring our utter happiness, we couldn't help but relax and let go of our travel stresses. We only knew a little French but Mathilde was happy to spend extra time answering our questions about what went into the resort, what types of birds were there, etc. We would definitely go back and stay much longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in 5 places on our trip in Morocco - this is the most difficult review. There is so much that is good about this place, and there are so many good reviews it must be that we were unlucky. However, you can only write about what you find.
When we arrived (25 May) we were told we didn't have a booking, which was strange as we had the email to prove it and had paid a deposit to confirm. As it happened the hotel had space and we got the room we had booked in any event. Not an ideal start though. There wasn't the warmth in the greeting we became used to in Morocco, no real explanation of the facilities, what time meals were at etc etc. Room was excellent - no water though, and none was offered.
We asked and were told dinner was from 8 to 10, and chose 8. We sat from 8 to 8-45 before anything happened. the meal was poor - tasteless soup and not sure what the main course was - we weren't told, and as it was so dark it was difficult to tell. no offer of coffee or any other drink after the meal.
Good breakfast in the morning - despite a local power cut.
Wouldn't return which is a shame as the facilities and location are so good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly s/Seine
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Bab El Oued, coming from charming Kasbah BahaBaha (see our critic) on our way back to Marakkech.
The place, though only few years old, is really charming, thanks to the beautiful garden, the nice bungallows that are built in traditionnal materials and using antiques, the warm and inviting swimming pool and, the excellent cuisine -bio from what was said- and, last but not least, the communicative enthusiasm of the owners, Mathilde and her Moroccon husband (whose first name I didn't catch though he definitely speaks fluent French).
Close to this charming maison d'hôte-very well suited for a few days halt- is a wonderfull Kasbah, formerly owned by Caid (sorry, again I missed the name), an opponent to Pacha Glaoui, who built one of the most beautifull Kasbah we visited in Morocco and that has a wonderfull inyard court spanning over three stores that dates back to the XVIth century.
Indulge yourself in a visit with one of the 10 local guides who won't count their time when evocating the past glory of the place (the fours caid's ladies, the slaves and the strong Jewish community he helped flourished as they linked him to the -then-global merchant place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After hours of hot, bumpy driving from Merzouga, opening the heavy wooden door into the gardens of Bab El Oued was like stepping into paradise. A peacock strutted past flowers and the only noise was birdsong. It was beautiful, quiet and tranquil. For a moment I couldn’t quite believe my eyes!
We stayed in the largest of the 6 wooden huts/rooms right next to the pool. The hut/room was rustic and cosy, decorated with a beautiful blend of Moroccan artefacts and European design. Our bed was the most comfortable of the whole trip – lovely.
Straight after we arrived at Bab El Oued we set off to look round the ancient Tamnougalt Ksar (a 5-10 minute walk away and definitely worth a visit). Our 3 kids were all exhausted and rebellion was in the air so we had to hurry through the dilapidated alleys and low doorways of the old fort. Back at Bab El Oued the kids soon relaxed in the beautiful pool.
Supper and breakfast at Bab El Oued were delicious – including organic fruit and vegetables grown in the gardens. The owners were really charming, providing a warm welcome and very attentive service. We were all sad to have to move on the next day. With hindsight I would have planned a stay of at least 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Absolutely delightful in every respect . Very Eco friendly and perfectly built in a delightful palmerie .
Wonderful service , great food and total tranquility - it really doesn't get any better. European / French standard of construction and with perfect taste - not overdone - just right. The absolute perfect honeymoon destination as long as you can sacrifice the beach for a lovely pool!

Five stars all the way - will certainly return .

Fab, Fab , Fab

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bab el Oued? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab el Oued

Address: Palmeraie de Tamnougalt | Mezguita, Agdz 45050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agdz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Agdz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ecolodge OasisBab el Oued Morocco.Located in Tamnougalt( 5Km of Agdz direction Zagora ) in the heartof Draa Valley , in the Southof Morocco.In the heart of Draa Palm Groove, in a 5000 sqm wide Oasis where many species of flowers and fruit perfume the air , Bab el Oued Morocco just opened its doors . In an enchanting setting with Kasbah Tamnougalt and Jebel Kissan as background, Bab el Oued Morocco Ecolodge propose you 6 independant unique bedrooms .Each bedrooms offers full comfort including reversible Air Conditioning and a mixture of traditional material for your senses delight​At the Ecolodge , each independent room is build according to unique traditional techniques inspired from South Moroccan Kasbahs :Clay and straw walls, tadelakt , wood and reed palm. They are all entirely powered by solar panels and equiped with reversible air conditioning , large bathrooms with walk in shower and water saving toilets 3L/6L aerator (Dual Button)and Confort Queen Size beds . These unique all confort Eco Houses benefit from a warm and personalized Ethniq decoration . ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bab el Oued, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.