We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budgeted stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Motor Inn

Carnegie Motor Inn
Carnegie Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carnegie Motor Inn to your Saves list
Carnegie Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1102 Dandenong Road, Carnegie, Glen Eira, Victoria 3163, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carnegie B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good budgeted stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with family for 3 nights. Overall satisfied with the stay. Bread toaster and micro wave were of good use. Free wifi was an added advantage, though the speed was not that much. Good locality too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Awful, carpet dirty and not vacuumed, not all pillow cases had been changed, bathroom old and grotty, cupboard and fridge grotty, air conditioner filthy dirty and was a waste of time having it on, very very disappointed as we were sent there by staff from Cabrini Hospital.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed before and are staying again. Now, this is not a 5 star motel. If you want a 5 star then you will pay for it. The room is nice, bed is nice, bathroom is nice. What more do you want for the price and location?
We stay here because the price is right and the location is what we want. We use the room for sleeping. We are not living 24 hrs a day in the room.
The staff we have dealt with are nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The stay started off badly after being rudely informed by the motel that we had been classified as a "no show" for arriving a day late and "had we never heard of a phone". This was despite having emailed them a week before to let them know we would be arriving late and receiving an email confirmation back from them.

The room was not serviced everyday as promised. And on the days it was serviced it was not cleaned well at all. The carpets were never vaccuumed, the beds were "made" by just pulling the top cover over (the books that were on the bed were not even moved before pulling the cover over them), the towels were not clean (not even on arrival) and in a non-smoking room, it smelt like someone had been smoking in our room every evening when we arrived back.

On leaving we checked under the bed to make sure we had not left anything behind, only to discover 2 empty wine bottles that were clearly not removed after the last people had stayed in the room.

The staff we found to be extremely rude and unhelpful.

Would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

When we drove into the motel I thought at first glance it must have been closed for several years - the grounds are derelict and the signs are faded (there were also no cars in the lot!). However, check-in was smooth and we found our two-bedroom apartment easily. The rooms are old, have not been updated (except for the flat-screen telly), but have everything you need, including comfy beds (probably the most important criteria). The motel is close to Chadstone Shopping Centre and is easy to find on Dandenong Road. It's near a supermarket and rail station, so it would be a good budget/suburban option for families travelling to Melbourne if you don't need/want to stay in town.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom apartments are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Highly awful - I stayed because I was put here by the people I was working for - I would never have stayed myself - crockery and cutlery all smeary, bathroom had not been cleaned properly, every day my bed was not made but the cover was simply thrown over the top, air con did not work properly. All night party one night by guests. It was awful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Victoria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

There is little accomodation available near caulfield racecourse where our conference was held. This motel was 10 mins drivetime. Very basic motel room. Although they had some 2 bedroom SC apartments - the only we saw had beds to sleep 5. The rooms were clean enough but dated. Breakfast was a very basic cold continental delivered the night before for you to cook in the toaster in your room.
A train into the city would be a better option for accomodation & breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnegie Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Motor Inn

Address: 1102 Dandenong Road, Carnegie, Glen Eira, Victoria 3163, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Glen Eira > Carnegie
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnegie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carnegie Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.