We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown Hotel - Framlingham to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting relations. Stayed in room 7 and it was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable (my husband said it was best nights sleep other than in his own bed) and both the room and bathroom very spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was yummy, we had the haddock with poached eggs. The only reason I've not put excellent was because there were painters in and scaffolding outside our room which did spoil it a little and we still paid full price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review, I am sorry that the scaffold slightly marred your enjoyment, but I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
85
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Crown in Framlingham is a charming building that oozes character and has taken on the owners' quirky tastes with aplomb. The bar, lounge areas and dining room are inviting with a relaxing ambience. The atmosphere is enhanced by the fact that it is more than just a hotel for tourists but it is the hub the community. In the mornings there is a buzz about the place and you see the people who work in Fram enjoying a drink in the evening.

The Crown has a very good choice of beers and wines. The breakfast caters for all tastes; from those on a health drive to those who want to indulge. The menu in the dining room also offers a la carte and a pub menu.

The beds are very comfortable. The hospitality tray is of a high quality with 'Tea Pigs' and fresh coffee. The homemade biscuits are delicious.

The rooms were immaculate.

The staff are courteous and professional - nothing is too much trouble. I wish to add that in general I found Suffolk folk to be very friendly and polite.

A warm welcome awaits you at the Crown. The owners have got the balance right between respecting the inn's old world charms and injecting some of their own personality.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you - I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, you have beautifully summed up exactly what we want The Crown to be and I am delighted that you appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Classically quintisential english country hotel, like stepping back in time the building oozed history, only had tea and cakes but provided a welcome break and the staff were friendly and helpfull, went to the castle all rested and fed. good day out

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am very pleased that we regularly hear that the staff are friendly and helpful. Please do call in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I had stayed In the crown for a night while visting reltives. It was a wonderful hotel, the staff were extremely friendly, breakfast was superb and the rooms were spacious, clean and well kept. Would definitely recomment the crown to anyone looking to stay in the quaint town of Framlingham.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Such a great review, thank you very much for taking the time to post it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great little hotel right with a well stocked bar on the town square and a few minutes walk to the castle. This is a property that is cared for and kept in a spotless condition. The staff are plentiful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little slow in arrival, but the selection available was great in quality and quantity.
Overall it is a must if you are staying in Framlingham.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review and for the kind recommendation, I do hope you will come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Crown, at the centre of Framlingham an amazing town which I have visited Framlingham for the last 10 years, has the potential to be great! But obviously the current owners are incapable of running it at all. Since they have taken over the status of the crown has fallen of a cliff. Staff are ridiculous, rude and believe they are some kind of superior race.
There are many good pubs in Framlingham, the crown is at the bottom of the pecking order in my eyes!
If you want an expensive drink and rude service you will love it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Crown last month and had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The staff were great, had lots of interesting knowledge about the history of the hotel and were very polite and attentive. The room we had was lovely, we had a whole selection of herbal teas and coffee and the room was stylish and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and had delicious food, as a vegetarian I often find restaurant food can be boring and repetitive but the menu had some really interesting vegetarian options and my main of truffle macaroni was incredible! The wine was reasonably priced and the local cheeseboard was also fantastic, the waitress could tell me which cheeses were vegetarian and could also tell us who supplied the fish which my partner had. We also had breakfast in the hotel, the breakfast menu for meat eaters had a great selection and my partner had eggs benedict which he really enjoyed. The vegetarian selection at breakfast was slightly disappointing, there wasn't as much "hot" food to choose from, it would maybe be nice to have a greater selection of cooked veggie breakfast such as mushrooms on toast or grilled tomatoes on toast. I asked for scrambled eggs and the waitress said that was not a problem but it didn't look as special as my partners food! Aside from that very very small complaint, we had a fantastic stay at the Crown and will be recommending to all our friends and family, hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review. I have spoken with chef with regard your comments about vegetarian options at breakfast and he is in complete agreement and a revised menu is being prepared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framlingham
7.8 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.5 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#1 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel - Framlingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Address: Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel - Framlingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.