We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown Hotel - Framlingham to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at The Crown for New Year's Eve. On arrival we were greeted by David, despite the bar and restaurant being extremely busy he found us a table for lunch, we were made to feel very welcome despite arriving at a busy time. David even asked his daughter to move her car so we could park (parking is limited) but I guess when the hotel was built they were only expecting the occasional horse and carriage and not numerous cars. Our room was lovely, very clean and spacious. The plumbing had "character" but the hotel is extremely old, the food and service were fantastic. Lots of young waiting staff but all exceptional, polite efficient and friendly.
NYE dinner was fantastic although I thought the desserts a little disappointing, the steak was superb but could have done with being hotter but the taste was amazing.
We loved the hotel and will return in the summer so we can explore the local area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is very much our intention to make guests feel welcome and to make sure that they have a good time when they are here so I am delighted that this was the case.It is always good to get such positive feed back on the staff and the service they provide, so thank you I will pass it on. Great that you plan to come back in the summer, we look forward to seeing you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
61
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

just back from a short break. Very relaxing atmosphere, great food in a nice restaurant and a lively pub, all under one roof at the crown. The rooms are clean and tidy and well maintained. The new owners are clearly making an effort to make this place special. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review us and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back - we look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed and held a birthday dinner party for 26. India and David were great, they offered suggestions for the menu, room and table layouts and drinks. The function room and bar provided an ideal venue for friends ,family and children. The Crown team were professional and served very good food faultlessly. The party was a hit. Our bedroom was perfect for a quiet night, in a restful room and comfortable bed, clean crisp bedlinen and plush towels. Breakfast options were excellent and the food quality and quantity was fine dining.

Room Tip: Tell India or David what you would like- they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I am really pleased that the party went so well and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for choosing The Crown and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend staying at The Crown in Framlingham.
We arrived on Friday evening and were shown to our rather nice room (8) at the front of the Inn. It was huge, with a lovely 4 poster bed and roll top bath. Felt very luxurious!
We ate in the restaurant that evening, and the food was excellent. The meat was slightly over cooked but all things considered, we were very happy with the standard of food, service and wine. The cheese board was massive and very good value!
The breakfast in the morning was also very tasty.
The Inn itself has been very nicely decorated, and is very considered and in keeping with the age of the building, while still managing to keep a modern edge. Lots of open fires, feels very cosy, with cute little candles and lights everywhere.
The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful!
We were the only people staying at the inn on sat night who were not part of a separate party who had booked the rest of the rooms, and the staff were very informative giving us plenty of notice regarding their late arrival and the noise level.
I would say that the acoustics of the hotel is quite loud, as it is such an old building, there is no sound proofing or double glazing (the market on sat morning started setting up at 6am which woke me up) I would recommend if you are a light sleeper to bring some ear plugs just in case.
Otherwise, a lovely little hotel which I would strongly recommend to stay, or eat at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am so pleased that you had a wonderful weekend and that the staff looked after you so well. Thank you very much indeed for recommending us and please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have enjoyed the good food and lovely surroundings before, so took our parents yesterday. Unfortunately ome of the food was dreadful. The broccoli and sweet potato soup was a strange combination and very salty and the salad was disgusting. I picked out at least five black and rotting leaves, many others were heavily bruised the tomatoes were revolting, all suggesting it was a very old salad. The dressing was also sour and vinegery. I told the waitress about the rotting leaves, and she apologised but I discovered afterwards that no allowance was made for this in the bill and no manager came over to apologise or do a single thing to ameliorate such a mistake. I do think it rather poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience. This falls well below the high standards that we set ourselves as you will know having enjoyed "good food and lovely surroundings before". It is a shame that you did not review us then for balance. I can assure you that had either my wife or I or a senior member of staff been aware of the issues then we would have addressed them as is only right, I am sorry that did not happen. We do pride ourselves on our food and our service and your experience was evidently unsatisfactory. I would very much like the opportunity to make amends and would be very pleased if you would contact me to arrange another visit to enable us to do so. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just been to stay for a night with friends after enjoying lunch at The Crown in July. We all agreed that the staff were pleasant and welcoming in a way which made us feel relaxed and cared for but without constantly being fawned over which can often be the case in some hotels.
The place was clean and the decor quirky. Will return as Framlingham is so pretty and we got lots of Christmas shopping done too.
The dinner we had was delicious and we couldn't fault it.
Thank you to everyone at The Crown for making us feel like we had had a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it is so good to read that the team delivered the service that we all work hard to provide. I am delighted that your stay was relaxing and you were properly looked after. Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown and I hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We live locally and wanted most of our guests to be able to walk to our wedding reception, so were pleased that the Crown Hotel were able to accommodate all our needs, recommending a local disco company and agreeing to a local hog roast company for the catering.
A big thank you to all the staff who could not have been more helpful. The Stables is gorgeous and furniture arranged as requested.
Everyone had a wonderful time and as we were so lucky with the weather we were able to open all the doors and spill out into the courtyard. Would highly recommend this hotels facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am so pleased that everything went so well on the big day. It was a pleasure holding the reception here, thanks for choosing The Crown and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel - Framlingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Address: Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel - Framlingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.