We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin du Roc

Save Saved
You added Le Moulin du Roc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Moulin du Roc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

i went with some friends to have dinner and stay at the hotel. we had a drink outside by the river. beautiful setting, seeing the fish in the water, the trees. then the dinner , a memorable affair of ´foie´,the fish was delicious, the desserts also. the wine, white and red was recomended by the sommelier, very well chosen.
the rooms were very confortable, with a very cosy decor.
wonderful garden, with a very nice pool.

Room Tip: first floor for the vue of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
82
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a fine hotel with all you want for an enjoyable stay. Excellent staff to greet you, large comfortable rooms, a view of the river and the working mill wheel from your balcony, excellent food and they welcome dogs. The gardens are nice but the main building is a little sun restricted, great heated pool, tennis courts and bridges over the river. All this and yet very relaxed and not over bearing, just what I want from a hotel of quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Moulin many times in the past 20 years. The high standard is consistent. The rooms are very comfotable, The food deserves its Michelin star. The hotel management and staff are welcoming and do everythibg to make one enjoy one's stay. Prices are what you expect from this class of hotel and restaurant. The location is beautiful.. The Moulin du Roc is very highly recommended to those seeking peace and quiet and excellent food in charming relaxing surroundings in a beautiful part of France..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The grounds alone of this hotel are enough to give it a top rating. So are the rooms. So is the food. I really find it hard to find anything to criticise, but I do feel it has lost some of the magic it had some years ago when I was last here.

To be really picky, the service was pleasant enough but slow at dinner where they couldn't really cope with a bit of a rush at 8pm. No longer does Alain Gardillou bake five different types of roll for dinner and breakfast. Does the wine list still get reprinted every time one particular wine is down to the last two bottles so that guests knew they could have several bottles? Au contraire, another table had the wine list and we had to wait for it to become available. At dinner there were just three main course options that didn't have supplementary charges, two of which were fish. The light on our balcony wasn't working. Excellent shower in the jacuzzi-style bath, but no shower screen. Little things, I admit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is supposed to be the place in the region, we arrived and got into a dusty place, the rooms we visited were really old, one was smelling of moist or dust, or both, must say it was quite depressing and we did not want to stay, on top, the staff were a bit pretentious, which was not very attractive...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our second visit to Le Moulin was as spectacular as the first some years ago. Level of service, quality of rooms and dining were still top notch. By luck, we had the same room as when we visited before, a large, roomy double-bedded room with a terrace overlooking the stream. Bathroom was pristine and well-appointed with quality amenities (Hermes) although I was disappointed that they did not replenish them when they cleaned the room. (It is probable that I could have called/asked for more) Lovely dinner on the dining room terrace our first night and lunch indoors the next day. As for lunch, one small disappointment: we had to choose from the same limited menu as the night before. Again, we knew this before we sat down . . . .but it's too bad that they can't change the lunch menu given that some customers staying for multiple days might like to see a change. Overall, a high spot on our trip and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked a hotel via bookings.com... Great expectations until arrived to our junior suite without AC... You can imagine the temperature inside when outside reads 32.. Fans were provided, no help. I got a 10 percent discount after the complaint. The hotel lecks the finess promises in the ads.. The staff is very young and cannot get better if they are receiving more training.

Room Tip: Wait until some renovations are compleated... The AC systems is very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Moulin du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Roc

Address: Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin du Roc 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Moulin du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Roc Hotel Champagnac De Belair
Le Moulin Du Roc France/Champagnac De Belair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin du Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.