We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s hard to leave this place once you have discovered it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de La Borie Saulnier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Chateau de La Borie Saulnier to your Saves list
Chateau de La Borie Saulnier
Champagnac de Belair, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Simmern, Germany
1 review
“It´s hard to leave this place once you have discovered it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Since we have discovered le Chateau de La Borie Saulnier in 2005, we have been returning every year for a visit. The castle is owned and conducted by the most pleasant couple Claude and Michel Duseau. They offer loving furnished spotlessly clean rooms in a majestic Chateau filled with memorable furnishing of yesteryear times. A big pool and and a huge park let you chillout in a minute. But the pick of the bunch are Claude and Michel. Friendly and discreet, they let you live in the Chateau like you are the owner of it. It´s hard to leave this place.
Robert and Ute from Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked two rooms for late October as Chateau de La Borie offered great value for money compared with staying centrally in Brantome, yet it is only 10 mins (max) drive away.

The welcome was warm and the explanation of the facilities, the chateau and the surrounding area was excellent.

The chateau itself is, as an earlier reviewer mentioned, authentic and you feel like you are staying with the family in their ancestral home rather than a hotel.

Yes, it is a little rough around the edges and there are some quirky aspects to staying there, but this is a 14th century property and for those expecting a spa, drench showers, bathrobe & slippers this is probably not for you.

The chateau, and the rooms, are furnished with antique furniture, books and family air looms and you leave with the feeling that you have stepped back some years in history and had a glimpse of what life would have been like in centuries past.

Breakfast was typically French - home made preserves, croissants, etc. Could have been enhanced with some fresh fruit, yogurts, etc. but for 79 € for two (breakfast included) value for money was excellent.

Would be happy to recommend for those looking for a place to stay in the area who are in search of authenticity.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Saturnin d'Apt, Provence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed three nights at the Chateau Borie using it as a base for visiting the Perigord Vert and could not have been happier with our decision.

First off, the location is ideal - it's in the countryside about 10 minute outside of the town of Brantome and in a huge private park (it's a chateau, afterall) which insures as calm and peaceful a night's sleep as you will ever find. Note, however, that this is not a place to stay without a car !

The grounds are lovely, though visiting in October meant we couldn't take advantage of the pool.

We were particularly pleased with our room, which was an enormous two room suite with very high ceilings (befitting a chateau) and decorated with lovely furnishings that made us happy to come back and rest after a day's sightseeing in the beautiful surrounding area.

Breakfasts were continental - done to a high standard. Best of the three places we stayed in the Perigord.

And above all, I'd be remiss not to mention the owners, M. and Mme. Duseau, who could not have been more charming. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome - offering lots of advice on places to visit and restaurants, for example, while remaining, at the same time, discreet.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay and can recommend the Chateau Borie highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The place could be quite nice but it's really rundown and the aristocratic owners, especially the woman, should be just a little bit less snooty and unpleasant with commoners like us who come and stay in their castle although to call it a castle is pushing it a bit but it seems to me that anything with a tower or a turret on it in this region is called a castle. The place is in desperate need of renovation, the garden is completely neglected but the worst thing was the smell and the noise of the goats in the adjacent field. The swimming pool is small and unheated so unless it's really hot, which it wasn't, it's a bit of a shock to the system. No meals other than a rather meagre breakfast are available so on the days it poured with rain we had to drive to a nearby town. Also, this place is rather inaccessible and unless you have a car you won't be able to get to or from it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Champagnac de Belair hotels

USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

This place was so bad and so unfriendly we moved out after one night. The place is falling to bits. The beds were uncomfortable, the mattress had long ago lost any firmness and were dirty and smelly. The place is next to a farm and at the freezing cold tiny swimming pool we were constantly covered in flies and stung by mosquitoes. The owner's wife was an absolute female dog any time we dared to ask for anything such as hot water or a clean towel. We moved down the road to the Moulin du Roc which was like paradise after this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Old trees cover the long entry road to this medieval castle with a lot of history. At the end a rusty fence. We had the yellow room which was more like a hall with a four-poster bed. This was the first bathroom this year where you had to sit in the bath tub to have a shower, carpet in the bathroom. The interior of the castle was dark, very dark, almost scary. Lots of boxes everywhere. The impressive building is in much need of good restoration, the owners are working on it. There is scaffolding in the court-yard but it is too much we think. Also the gardens which surround the castle need work, too many old machineries, rusty equipments, rusty fences.
We had a good breakfast on a beautiful morning but again in a dark room, while it could have been outside under a big old tree.
The owner told us to reserve a table in Brantôme at a restaurant near the river. The restaurant was very good but there was so much choice of restaurants in Brantôme that we did not understand why we had to make reservation. There is a swimmingpool in the garden. We missed something during our stay and the state of the castle made us feel sorry for the owners, but maybe we where spoiled the night before in another castle.

  • Liked — The history of the castle, the pool, the nearby village of Brantôme.
  • Disliked — The castle was a bit scary, you didn't know where the owners where, all too dark.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de La Borie Saulnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de La Borie Saulnier

Address: Champagnac de Belair, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de La Borie Saulnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Borie Saulnier France/Champagnac De Belair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de La Borie Saulnier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.