We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Poor Amenites IN Hergiswil” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pilatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pilatus Hotel to your Saves list
Pilatus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 34, Hergiswil 6052, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hergiswil
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Poor Amenites IN Hergiswil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is situated on Lake Lucerne. Stayed here for three nights on tour of Switzerland. Lucky to have one of two lakeside view rooms in our coach party. The rest were put into an annex facing a side street and had to crick their necks to get a poor view of the lake. The hotel had fairly good rooms and were clean and tidy. The food was plentiful and quite nicely cooked. A problem in the bar area one night where the staff asked a few holiday makers to be quiet as it was 9.30PM what's that all about. The Bar staff were rude and miserable and would turn the lights on and off from 11PM supposedly as a closure sign. The Waitresses in the Dining room were very polite and worked hard but with always a smile on their faces. Hergiswil is a small town has numerous hotels a glass blowing factory and two grocery stores and very little else.

Room Tip: Avoid any of the annex building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
42
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed a stay with 43 other friendly travellers on a Shearings holiday at the Pilatus hotel, which was with Lee, what an exceptional driver, nothing was too much trouble for him. The hotel was very nice, good food, polite staff and the choices of food were adequate, especially when they came around with seconds, the only down side were prices of drinks, but it was Switzerland. We did not use the pool or gym but they were o.k. Stunning views over lake Lucerne especially in the morning with the sun coming over the mountains. Our room overlooked the road but we did not find it noisy and we had a nice view of Mount Pilatus.

Room Tip: You can pay a little extra if you want a room with a view over the lake, but there is a large seatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Norton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Returned from this fantastic location sunday 23/09/2013 after spend in a week touring switzerland enjoyed the friendly atmosphere from the staff at this hotel would recommend people to stay here.
Single rooms plenty big enough because you are out all day and it's only a place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arranged via Treyn as part of an organised trip.
Hotel really one of two parts, as the hotel had a budget to work to we did expect some budget type service and food but the breakfast as a continental breakfast was totally unimaginative as we passed the hotel restaurant to get to our budget room we saw the breakfast served to other guest which looked far superior and what you would expect, the hotel we stopped at for the for the next part of our trip had the same budget (we assume) but they served a 4* breakfast as opposed to a 1*
Dinner on arrival pretty poor, edible but poor. Dinner on last night not very good but better that than first night although the meal was plated by two kitchen staff and a handy man in a tee shirt and jeans with latex gloves on ????????.
It seemed that we were put in a conference room with tables and treated as second class guests with just enough to keep us happy.
We did eat in the hotel restaurant which was what you would expect from a 4* hotel al a carte menu excellent food and service.
It seemed that on web sites the rooms do have tea & coffee facilities, for some obscure reason these had gone, again not good for a 4* hotel and I question the star rating for packaged holidays more like 2* as far as food concerned.
Location on Lake superb but Hergiswil a very quite village with not very much to see or do other than short lake side walks, not conducive to a holiday environment, but Luzern just a trail ride away.

Room Tip: Higher floors even a better view than low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from our first ever holiday with Treyn and our first stop was at the Pilatus Hotel in Hergiswil.The hotel is in an ideal location overlooking Lake Lucerne.We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the lake but others were not so fortunate.The hotel has a fantastic swimming pool, with jacuzzi and a gym.Our room was a good size and bedding and towels were changed daily.The bathroom was a very good size but we found the glass door a bit odd for a bathroom.The hotel was very clean.Drinks making machines would be appreciated as would more adequate pillows.
Being a small party we were given a small room for the meals that we had and we found that the set up was a little like a canteen but it was adequate.for the time that we were there.The train station is within walking distance but it can be more diffficult in the rain lugging your suitcase behind you.The hotel does have a mini bus and kindly took our cases to the station when we departed.The driver also took anyone that was not fit enough to walk.There is not alot to do in Hergiswil but it does make an excellent base particularly with the good train connections to Lucerne.Our holiday included an excursion to Mount Rigi and we made our own way to Interlaken.You are dependant on weather conditions as we discovered when we found Mount Rigi covered in mist with nil vision.-not Treyn's fault but disappointing.Interlaken however was bathed in sunshine and the trip around the lake was well worth the money.We were given a Swiss Pass which allowed us to go on the boat at half price and provided free train transport for that day.
We were lucky to have Mark Stokes as our tour manager as he was very knowledgeable and could not have done more to make our holiday a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: We were in room 123 which has a lovely view over the lake and is only one flight of stairs to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Pilatus Hotel with a Shearings Coach trip party, at the end of June, and were allocated a room with absolutely stunning views overlooking the lake. (Not all members of our party were so lucky, and some paid extra for this.) The room itself was quite comfortable and adequate,with plenty of storage space, but there were no drawers in which to stow away bits and pieces. It was clean, and towels and bed linen were changed daily by pleasant and helpful cleaners. We weren't too keen on the glass door on the bathroom, but apart from that, the showers were nice and hot with good pressure, and it was handy to have double wash basins. There was a small balcony which had the lovely views. Shearings guests had their own dining room and separate menus from other guests. Service was excellent with 2nd helpings being served at evening meal.There was usually a choice of 2 evening meals, starter, main and desert, which we had to choose the evening before. Breakfasts were adequate, and there was plenty of choice though it was a cold buffet type continental breakfast, with boiled eggs available. There is a bar in the hotel, but drinks are very expensive here. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is an indoor pool and sauna, and on warmer days it is possible to swim in the lake. There is not much to do in the village, but there is a glass works which is open in the daytime, and there are several small parks by the lakeside, where it is pleasant to stroll in the evenings. There is a well stocked Coop just over the road, and a larger one by the station. The local station is not too far, where you can get a train into Lucerne. The city of Lucerne is really picturesque and well worth a visit, and you can get a paddle steamer back to the hotel. Brienz, Interlaken and Grindenwald, are all interesting places to visit, with amazing scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip, and particularly with our Shearings driver, Lee, who was so knowledgable of the country, very interesting to listen to and also very witty too. We would certainly recommend the trip, the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went with Shearings and 45 other magnificent people on a Coach trip to the Seehotel Pilartus early last month.Excellent place but the brochure didn't mention the busy road (what a surprise) which our room 230 on the second floor, overlooked.Although we had excellent views of the local mountains.The posh rooms (saved for locals and non coach party members) had balconies, overlooked the lake and had magnificent views.I would have asked for AND paid extra for a lake view if I had known but whether I would have got one is another question as I was on a bus at a 'bargain' price..The staff were first class in everything they did most of the time but I would have thought that a hotel with the star rating of the Pilartus would have provided ALL their guests with tea and coffee making facilities in their rooms.It is 2013 after all.THEY DIDN'T But I managed to get around that problem with a borrowed kettle even though I could not get any assistance from the staff.I got my 'groceries' from the co-op across the road or when the staff weren't looking.There is not a lot to do in Hergiswil (It's boring) apart from the the facilities in the hotel.Although the pool is magnificent.No decent evening strolls around the lakeside as it's all or most of it is private gardens.We were booked in on a 'Half Board' basis and were allocated a dining room of our own so we didn't get to dine with the 'Gentry' on the terrace by the lake even though we were only yards away from it, or get to look at or sample items from the the 'MAIN DINNER MENU'.Some of the food being taken to guests on the terrace looked really YUMMY.Our 3 course evening dinner was adequate as when you are cooking one menu for 50 guests it's easier to provide a fairly basic meal.Although most of it was cooked properly, you should be able to gently poke a sharp pointed knife into a cooked new potato.NOT be able to use it as a golf ball.But we did get 'seconds' though which were welcome. On the whole it was a very good holiday in a very nice hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed.Shearings driver Lee was magnificent throughout.A credit to his company.Will we go there again????.No.Lovely hotel in a lovely setting but that's all.Nothing in Hergiswil.Will go to Interlaken again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake if you can.But most of them are not allocated to 'bargain tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilatus Hotel

Address: Seestrasse 34, Hergiswil 6052, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Nidwalden > Hergiswil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hergiswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilatus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Pilatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.