We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was superb..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Marcoola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Marcoola to your Saves list
Ramada Marcoola
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Marcoola, Australia
1 review
“Food was superb..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As has been said before, the room was very standard, but view was beautiful looking out to the ocean. Pool is excellent, but the standout to me was the food. I had my doubts, but after sampling the included breakfast (which was a combination of continental and fully cooked breakfast) I was very pleased - enough to fill me and I am a big eater...and then we dined at the same restaurant (Drifts) at dinner and the food was truly 5 star standard - true story...service was excellent as well! Maybe next stay we will opt for one of the apartments in the north or south tower - they looked more modern. But all in all a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear thebigmansays, Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I have passed on your comments to our restaurant operators as they will be very pleased and appreciative of your positive response. We look forward to welcoming you back to Marcoola Beach in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    85
    68
    35
See reviews for
94
155
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pretty much what everyone else has said about the rooms. Minuscule, the noisiest aircon ever, tragic hot water pressure. Nice little balcony with lovely ocean view.
The beach is right there but sadly with all the wild weather the Qld coast's had this summer, it's very badly eroded at present (March 2013).
Staff were all lovely.
Big TV with movie and sport cable channels.
We got a deal of $199 for 2 nights with breakfasts, a drink voucher each, and a free DVD hire, so it was pretty good value. Breakfast is cereals, fruit, toasts, pastries, etc buffet style, plus choice of 3 cooked breakfasts made to order. The Eggs Benedict was disappointing, but the other 2 choices were good.
The location is best for those with cars, as there's not much in Marcoola itself, but Coolum to the north and Mudjimba to the south all have lots of shops, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: As long as you get it for the right price, and you either pack earplugs or can sleep through noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear AuntyJoy, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are working on the air-conditioning and hot water pressure issues with our hotel room owners and have made some excellent progress. The hotel rooms are our lead in product and are very popular when booked using one of our special promotional deals. We hope you will visit us again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here before when it was called the Surfair, still hasn't really improved.

Rooms are ok, small but ok. Bed creaked each time I moved during the night though.

Great location for beach access, sadly due to the weather didn't get a chance to enjoy it.

Couldn't eat at the restaurant as it was closed due to a conference which sucked but went across the road to a good little Chinese joint, lovely waitress, great service.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear SimonQLD, Thank you for your review and feedback. We hope you will stay with us again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We only stayed there one night but liked it a lot. We stayed in the standard room, which looked brand new so must have been recently renovated. The room was on a smallish side but had a large and comfortable bed, a large flat-screen TV with Austar, an adequate and clean ensuite bathroom and a small balcony ('hinterland' view). The onsite restaurant serves good food, there is a bar just by the pool and the pool itself is large, nicely maintained and heated. It’s just a minute stroll to the beach, which makes the place a perfect place for a weekend getaway, if you aren’t looking for a very lively spot (Marcoola is a very small settlement, you won’t find places to party there). Last but not least, it was a very good value, for just over $100 per night I wouldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Julita_i_Wojtek, Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate your thoughts and comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel because of the proximity to the ocean and the size of the pool, and paid extra for an ocean view room.

This hotel is quite old and an attempt has been made to 'do it up', but it's still very obvious that it is an old hotel. The rooms are very small, and the air-conditioner is noisy, plus you can't adjust the temperature, so we froze for the weekend. We tried changing the temperature, and turning it to heating, and it made no difference.

The most unfortunate part about the room though was the shower - on the first day we had some hot water with very minimal water pressure. By the second day though, the water pressure was non-existent and luke warm water is an exaggeration. I ended up having to wash my hair in the sink, as the water pressure there was decent, and it had hot water. We let the hotel know about these things, so hopefully they fix them up for the next guests.

The other disappointing element was the breakfast. You order the hot food when you arrive, and then it's a continental buffet, which is basically some cereal, fruit, bread and pastries. For $20 I would have also expected some cheeses and sliced meats. The hot food was OK, but nothing special.

Being a hotel I also expected the room to be serviced on a daily basis. This isn't the case - it must only be on a weekly or per stay basis.

The pool area is lovely. The day spa is no longer there. Dinner at the onsite tavern is reasonably priced, and if you go early it isn't too rowdy.

If you have a car, the location is good if you want to be close to the beach. There is not much else around though, especially for dinner, so you'll need to drive for about 15-20 minutes to find some choice.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: The only thing that would make this hotel reasonable to stay at is if you had a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear AlphaTravelling, Thank you for your review and feedback. We received your comments on the hot water and have investigated the situation and the problem has been rectified. Thank you for letting us know as on many occasions we are not given the opportunity to respond. Out hotel rooms are serviced daily whereas out apartments are not I am sorry your room was not attended to. We hope you will at least consider returning to the Sunshine Coast to holiday. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel rooms are old and a bit on the small side. Decor and fit out are showing signs of their age.
We had two single beds pushed together to create a double, which is less than ideal. The beds themselves were comfortable.

Despite the nice views from the surfside rooms, there is a distinct lack of privacy as even on the third floor people in the hotel pool or walking back from the beach could see into the room without too much effort. We paid extra for a room with a view and when you do that you want to be able to enjoy the view, not close the curtains.

I thought paying the discounted rate we were able to obtain was a fair price, but would have been livid if we had paid the full advertised tare.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Paul G, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are working closely with all of our unit owners to have them invest in upgrading their apartments and hotel rooms. This is a big challenge for us. The ocean view hotel rooms do have great views and we have had a very positive response to the promotional deals we have on offer. Wishing you all the best. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for a week over the Christmas period. I had booked us in for the Christmas lunch that they put on, which was really nice. Our 2 bedroom apartment was terrific - huge living area, great kitchen, beautifully renovated and very comfortable and clean. It seems there are some units that are not yet renovated, so try to get into one that has been as it is well worth it. The pools are terrific, the location excellent (right on the beach), and we managed to squeeze in some brilliant private surfing lessons for just our family too. Overall a really relaxing and cheap holiday which the kids and adults thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room and try to get ocean views if possible - it's a gorgeous location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Radmila B, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are working closely with all of our unit owners to have them invest in upgrading their apartments and hotel rooms. This is a big challenge for us. Your feedback on your stay was very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Marcoola Beach. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Marcoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marcoola

Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Marcoola 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Marcoola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Marcoola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.