We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Marcoola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Marcoola to your Saves list
Ramada Marcoola
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shame about the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I booked the hotel without knowing the area, which was not wise. The overall environment of Marcoola, I found quite depressing, the view out my window, was Subway and Tradesmen digging up the road. I could hear the traffic the whole night long. The room was basic and quite bland, the pool was lovely, apart from screaming children. The buffet breakfast had definite room for improvement. Staff were lovely. So much to see within 15 min drive, but think staying in a town that had some atmosphere might have been a much nicer experience. Thankfully I got quite a good deal $100 a night, but would have been pretty upset if I had paid more..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Nik P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. From the rate and location of your room, I can see that you booked your stay in one of our budget hotel rooms. As you describe, these are on the rear of the building, and have not been refurbished as recently as our deluxe and deluxe ocean view rooms.

Currently there are street work revitalizations being completed, which will be a boon to the area. While Marcoola has a much slower pace than Maroochydore and Mooloolaba, many of our guests prefer our quieter location with the long (and far less crowded) beach directly out front. I can imagine that if you stayed during the school holidays, the pool area would have been quite hectic.

Should you be planning another trip back to the area, I recommend one of our apartments or deluxe hotel rooms, and unless you are bringing your family, booking outside of school holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    101
    85
    68
    35
See reviews for
94
154
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ramada Marcoola. Rooms where small but had everything that you could want and were very clean. We had no problems booking over the long weekend and the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. Buffett breakfast consisted of cereals, bacon, eggs (poached or scrambled), pancakes, fruit & juice. We also ate at the tavern and found the meal prices there very reasonable. We didn't upgrade our room and had a great veiw of the airport. Fantastic value. Great location, only 7 minutes drive to Maroochydore and 15 minutes by car to the Palmer Golf Course.

Room Tip: Unfortunately our room had some pipe noise that woke us up, so maybe don't request room 2215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear JLP9202,
Thankyou for your review of your stay last weekend. Its great to hear that you enjoyed all apsects of your stay. The Scoopon deal was very popular and we hope to see you again,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay here was fabulous make sure you pay extra and get the ocean view room. 5th floor is best. The moonlight over the ocean at night was a photographers dream. The sun rise in the morning the same!! Buffet brekky is great. We hired bikes for half the day for about $10 for both! There is a concrete track all the way north and south flat riding. So you can check out your coastal surroundings and the nearby beaches and coffee shops. Rooms are serviced daily. They have been updated with nice outdoor baloncies. Its hard to make a choice whether to swim in the huge.. huge heated pool or go swimming at the beach which is no kidding about 50 metres from the pool area!!! Spoilt yourselves we did.

Room Tip: Ocean view room 5th floor the higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear 1451Kathy,
Thankyou for your review of your recent stay. For the reasons you mention, our Deluxe Ocean View rooms are very popular with our guests. More recently refurbished, with stunning views accross the ocean, they are worth the extra to upgrade.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked two nights through a scoopon promotion so only paid $200 for two nights including daily breakfast which is a real bargain. Booking with the hotel was easy and they catered for all our requirements with no issues very efficient.

Easy to find and great location on the beach with easy access.
We upgraded to an Deluxe ocean view hotel room which was small and the balcony tiny however it was classed as a hotel room not an apartment so cannot comment on the size of the apartments. Nice view to the ocean one way but you look directly into other peoples rooms in the other direction.

There where blue stains on the balcony and it was in need of a good clean as did the bathroom. The bathroom wasn't filthy but in need of a decent spring clean behind the blinds and behind the toilet etc.

The bed was comfy and adequate pillows, there was only a small wardrobe to put your clothes and bags into and given the size of the room we where having to trip over our belongings.

There was a small desk that you could make tea and coffe on but if you have a lap top or other electrical devices you again are struggling for space.

The restaurant area that you have breakfast in was nice first morning we could order off the menu which was great (it was a Friday) second morning was a buffet which was ok not a huge selection but more than sufficient if it's included in your room price. Staff as the restaurant where friendly and seemed to enjoy working at the hotel as did all the staff we came into contact with.

While we didn't use the pool it did look lovely and clean with lounge chairs dotted around. It was of a good size for the size of the hotel.

You can park your car directly outside the main lobby or in secure underground parking which was great to have this choice.

There are a few shops directly accross the road including a bakery, coffee shop, chemist, petrol station, etc and a supermarket about 5 mins away by car.

We are a couple in our mid forties with no kids and noticed a wide age group staying at this resort which does cater for all ages.

All in all I would stay again if another good special came up but wouldn't pay rack rate or probably go at peak time due to the size of the hotel.






  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mareebali,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramada Marcoola Beach.

For our guests looking to stay more than a day or two, we always recommend one of our one, two or three bedroom apartments to give the guests more space in which to relax.

I will be passing on your feedback to our team.

Kind regards
Damien Keenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

my mother and sister and I had a holiday together here - we had an apartment which had three bedrooms each room having access to the balcony.

The apartment was clean and a great way to go so we could keep costs down by having breakfast and dinner there - making a decision to eat out for lunch.

There was also a choice as to whether to have the apartment serviced each day or on a weekly basis - we chose weekly as there was also a laundry available inside the apartment.

The pool was lovely, we did not get to usethe gym but it was nice to know that it was available, the hotel is ideally situated 5 mins frm the nearest international airport and an esay drive to Brisbane and noosa.
The weather was not warm enough for me to swim in the sea but I did get into the pool which was nice.

I highly recommend it for a place to stay and enjoy the sunshine coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Rebecca K,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our apartments are very popular with our guests, especially families, for the reasons that you mentioned. Self catering is a great way to keep costs down and having a washer and dryer in every apartment is convenient for families and those staying for longer periods of time.
We look forwarded to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Damien Keenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the this resort in Sept, in a deluxe ocean view room ( in the middle tower), we were able to get a 2 night deal and that made it wonderful value. The room was quite large and clean and had the most amazing view of the ocean and pool area. The first room we were put into was on level 2 and had a really strong citrus smell. I was able to speak directly to the cleaner and she stated that she had removed chewing gum from that room. I went back to reception and told them and they moved us into another room on level 3 which was must better, appeared newer too.

It seems that all the rooms are privately owned, thus all different standards. I find this most annoying as you never know what you could get when you book and that makes it a bit of a gamble. Also the days we booked, the resort had booked out the pool area for a very large and noisy private party. Loud music, near naked girls and swearing !!! I was concerned for my 5 year old son being exposed to this but there was nothing we could do. ( the party did end at 4.30pm that day) I did mention to reception that we would have liked to be informed that this event was occuring when we booked and we would have booked a different day.

That being said, the service was amazing and nothing was a issue. The room was nice, the breakfast at the drifts cafe was amazing !! It was hot and very tasty and lots of different choices on the menu. We really enjoyed the breakkast and thanked the chef and the waitress was very good on the 2nd day too !!
We ate at the drifts cafe one night for dinner - it was expensive and ok, but could not really jusitfy the price, my steak was cooked to perfection but the other elements of the dish let it down.
The resort is right on the beach and this makes it really special, we loved it !! The pool area is really nice too - my son had a great time.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and for the price were very happy with our 2 night stay and would stay again if we could get this deal.
We also looked at the 2 bedroom units ( for a longer stay) they were nice too, but once again a risk to what standard you get as they all appear to be different, eg one had a new leather lounge and the other an old lounge that had seen better days.

It appears that the resort has be taken over by Wyndham time shares and on arrival you are asked to get information about the resort from this perosn, it would be good if you are told up front that this person works for time shares. the women was very nice and easy going and did give us a bottle of wine and a voucher for $100 to spend at the resort if we attend a 1 and half hour session on time shares, we declined and she was fine with this. I did note alot of other people accepting though and it made me wonder what direction this resort is going in !!!

Once again, we did enjoy the stay and the 2 night deal was amazing value.

Room Tip: Make sure you check which room you are booked into and ask about whether it has been renovated or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Rachel R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us in September. You are correct that all of our rooms and apartments are owned by different people, however we work closely with our owners to ensure that they continue to maintain their units according to our Ramada standards. With this in mind, in the coming 12 months guests will see a more consistent look across all of the rooms.

A large part of our business is conferencing and events, however the pool party that you mention was a one off event. While we did have signage in the lifts and around the foyer, we have taken your feedback on board and discussed with our front office team ways of further communicating to our guests when we have larger (and more unique) events onsite.

Ramada Marcoola Beach (and previously when it was known as the Surfair) is part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, one of the world’s largest Vacation Ownership companies and as such we do enjoy talking with our guests about the holiday opportunities with our company. The staff member you are referring to is a fellow member of the Wyndham Team and as such assists our front office team to provide our guests information about the resort, local area and nearby attractions, along with the opportunity to find out more about the Vacation Sales opportunity. As you noted, some guests are very interested, and others simply decline.

Rachel R, thank you for your feedback and we’re happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Damien Keenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September 2012. From what I gather they have three towers of apartments. We were in the older middle tower. It's design round design is terrible, our "deluxe" room faced the car park and the road. The round design also means the room is an odd trapazodial shape fanning out from the door (even the shower is this shape). This means things like the TV fixed on the wall faces into the corner not towards the bed. The rooms themselves are rather old and badly need a refresh. The bed sloped away from the middle on both sides. The sliding door into the bathroom had no handle. etc etc etc

We also had two free breakfasts in the hotel restaurant. The hot breakfasts were cold on both days. Day one in particular was rather poor. The second was slightly better. Regretably we had dinner in the restaurant one night, it was average at best. Even worse when you take into account they are trying to pretend they are fine dining and charging high prices. You would do better to take the courtesy bus up to the Marcoola surf club. Much cheaper for the same quality food if not better.

One other thing: On arrival we were told we would be getting a free gift. The "free gift" was someone trying to hassle us about attending their 'holiday club' information session in return for vouchers to spend at the restaurant. By all means i'm happy for people to ask if we want to attend a session but don't pretend it's a free gift.

Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Marcoola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Nath1978,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.

While we are unable to do anything about the structure and shape of the hotel, I don’t see any record of you advising us you were unhappy with your room during your stay. Had you of let us know, we would have done our best to accommodate you in another room more to your liking. In our deluxe room types, we have both Deluxe and Deluxe Ocean View room types, so if you are not in an Ocean View room type, the room will have an outlook that may include some aspects of the carpark, surrounding buildings and hinterland.

Regarding your dining experiences, I will certainly pass along your comments to our Food and Beverage team.

Ramada Marcoola Beach is part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, the world’s largest Vacation Ownership company, and as such we do like to discuss the opportunities with the company to our guests. The free gift you refer to is part of our welcome pack with information on the resort, local area and surrounding attractions, however at no time are our guests forced to partake in anything they don’t wish. While many guests accept the offer to hear more about the company, many also simply decline the offer and go on to enjoy the rest of their stay.

Should you wish to give us another try and come and stay again, I invite you to contact me directly to facilitate your booking.

Kind regards
Damien Keenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Marcoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marcoola

Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Marcoola 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Marcoola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Marcoola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.