We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly it is no longer a hidden gem” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marcoola Surf Club

Marcoola Surf Club
64 Marcooola Esplanade, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
07 5448 8605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 restaurants in Marcoola
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A family Bistro by the beach - open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Coolum
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sadly it is no longer a hidden gem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The chef for the last few years has left and sadly the food is no longer great and it was. At best the food is available, now the meal sizes have shrunk, the taste is bland. The menu has been redefined to being a typical club menu full of chips, hot possibly and the rest unmemorable. The service, no longer good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    15
    22
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great destination at the end of a bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of the smaller laid back surf clubs, which makes it less frantic than most we have been to. The location as you would expect is great, with views over one of the quieter beaches on the Sunshine Coast. We called in for lunch after a very pleasant bike ride along the coast from Mudjimba Beach. The food is uncomplicated but very tasty, and the servings are generous. My wife and I both had the bangers and mash, perfect after a bit of exercise, and we both agreed it was most delicious, quality sausages served on a bed of mashed potatoes with a very yummy gravy and onion sauce. Cant wait for our next bike ride to this location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly staff, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful, great food with lovely staff both in the bistro and behind the bar. Fabulous location and spacious feel. Very happy with all the meals and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Best club food I've had on the coast. Better than noosa and maloolaba. Didn't try the pizzas but they look amazing, definatly on the next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good quality food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

They had a courtesy bus from the surf club to were we stayed which was good if you have a few drinks. Food was good value, clean and tidy dining room and a lovely outlook,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcoola Surf Club also viewed

Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
 
Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Marcoola Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcoola Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.