We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appartments, but owner a bit unfriendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Marino by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Marino by the Sea to your Saves list
San Marino by the Sea
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great appartments, but owner a bit unfriendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The appartments are very good - spotless, big and with enough kitchen utilities. I would have given the hotel a 4-star rating if it wasn't for the owner. We thought he was a bit unfriendly. We arrived early and our room was already clean which was great (as in some hotels you have to wait until midday or later to enter your room)! He checked us in quickly but that was it... No tips on what to do, no map of the area was provided, not even direction to the nearest supermarket or the beach were explained. I think this is a big flaw if you own a hotel. Of course we are able to figure everything out ourselves, but it just makes you feel more welcome when the owner explains some of the basics. Also, when we rented a car we couldn't get a hold off him to ask where to park (even after ringing the door bell at reception). He also asked us not to use the second bedroom because we got upgraded to a two-bedroom appartment. Of course no problem, but thought it was a bit of an odd thing to ask (as was the question to empty or own garbage bin).

That being said, the appartments are near the beach, have a nice balcony, shower is good etc. Don't expect much from Marcoola though, there is NOTHING to do. If you prefer something more lively I would stay in Noosa. If you're after a quiet stay and you don't mind the uninterested owner this is your place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your words and suggestions so that we can learn from our errors and ensure we give all our guests a wonderful experience.
We try not to overwhelm guests with too much information upon arrival however are now reviewing this and like your suggestion of providing a map.
We wish you well in your travels, and thank you for staying with San Marino by the Sea. Kind regards, Jody and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed with friends for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have asked for better. Neil & Jodie are top managers, the rooms are so clean and well appointed, and the location just heaven.
The common area of pool, tennis court and swimming pool is well appointed and spotlessly clean.
An absolute pleasure to stay, and we will be back again, and again. Well done, Neil and Jodie, keep up the good work.
John & Elizabeth Kirk

Room Tip: If you are looking for something "special" check out room 31 with the roof top private sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you John and Elizabeth for choosing to spend your anniversary with San Marino by the Sea. We are so glad you have a memorable anniversary and enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Roof Top. We look forward to welcome you back for more smiles and memories next year. Kind regards Jody and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely apartments in a beautiful area. The apartments were spotless, and very well equipped. The hosts were lovely. As we know the area quite well, we did not have to ask many questions, but Neil and Jody were very helpful. Just a walk through the garden and you were at the beach! We did this on a Groupon, otherwise we may have struggled with the price, however, even at full price these apartments are great value. We hope to come back next year. Jenny & Bill, Melbourne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Owner at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you Jenny and Bill for coming to stay with us here in Marcoola and writing a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Marino. Best Wishes, Jody and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms are very private and quiet. Would also be great for families. So close to the beach. Best views and everything was so neat and clean. Very happy. Great for a romantic get away. Lovely heated pool and full size tennis court. The units have everything you need for a great holiday ! I would recommend if you love to sit back and look at the ocean !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your romantic weekend away. Gorgeous weather was on your side and it was nice knowing you got to spoil yourself by enjoying a relaxing time away. Thank you for your kind words. Best wishes Neil and Jody Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have never before stayed in such beautiful apartments with such amazing views.Our top floor 2 brm unit was huge and decorated beautifully.Neil picked us up and took us back to the airport, along with other spontaneous trips. On the way to San Marino, Neil surprised us with the news that we had been upgraded to a rooftop aptmnt as a gift for my husbands special birthday.On arrival we discovered how amazing that was, as we climbed the staircase off our balcony (with sea views) to discover even more awesome views.Also received chocolates and wine left for us!What a treat! Marcoola was everything we hoped it to be with it being quiet and undiscovered, yet with the bus stop directly out the front, we were able to spend time in the busy areas of both Noosa and Maroochydore,and come home to peace and quiet.It did have all the necessary shops incl a cheap chemist and mini market, and the Chinese restaurant was great directly across the road.The pool was a warm 29*,so it was warmer in that out.We never heard a sound the whole time we were there.Neil and Jody made us feel like we were their only guests, which was definitely not the case and we felt by the time we were leaving that we were farewelling friends.We are so grateful for all they did to make this a most wonderful memorable occasion for us.It was just perfect!Cant wait to go back! Thanks guys! Phil and Alison

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Owner at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you Phil and Alison!!! We loved having you stay with us at San Marino and are wrapped your birthday surprise was so much more than just one day. We look forward to celebrating many more birthdays and weekends away with you both. Kind regards Neil and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed five nights at San Marino by the sea, we had a top floor apartment, with own private roof getaway, the stay was amazing with the help of Neil & Jody, who made us feel like family. Their warming and inviting attitude to all the guests that we saw was fantastic. The apartment that we stayed in was brilliant, spacious, so comfortable and the decor was very modern and refreshing. Neil & Jody, once again thank you so much for a very rememberable stay, we will definitely make this a second home for us. Craig & Felicity

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Craig and Felicity. It means a lot to us that you left relaxed and feeling a part of our family. Holidays should be memorable and we are glad you loved our beautiful resort and your apartment. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for writing your review. Neil and Jody Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at San Marino for 5 nights it was a relaxing stay. The only issues we had were our air conditioner was out of order for the entire stay which was a bit annoying, but we were there in winter so not a huge deal, but the heating function would've been good for our baby. Within the hour of telling the on-site caretakers of it they had a small room heater brought to us and a box of chocolates. There was also one day where the pool heater wasn't on which was annoying too. Overall though it was a good relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil L, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your understanding and patience, we never know when something is going to kick up its heels and give up...we are glad the smaller heater helped and you and your family were able to also enjoy our 29c heated pool. The cooler nights can bring the temperature down in the pool and this is why it dropped to 24c for one day. Thank you for staying with San Marino and are glad you have a relaxing stay. Neil and Jody Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Marino by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino by the Sea

Address: 917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marino by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marino offers affordable 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Self-Contained Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation. Opening up onto private balconies overlooking the ocean. Marcoola Beach Family Holiday Apartments are tastefully decorated and generously sized. All apartments are spacious, open planned,contain fully equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave and full laundry. Marcoola Holiday Apartments are absolute beachfront and perfect for a relaxing holiday escape. Quality Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation in a tranquil setting, while still being totally accessible to the areas of Mooloolaba, Noosa, Coolum and Maroochydore. Try San Marino at Marcoola, we are sure you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your San Marino by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marino by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.