We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secluded beachfront holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Marino by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Marino by the Sea to your Saves list
San Marino by the Sea
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toowoomba
1 review
“secluded beachfront holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had a wonderful, comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the patrolled beach directly outside the hotel was never crowded. I was surprised to find such a peaceful, affordable place along the south coast. Will definitely consider Marcoola for future holidays!

Room Tip: We had ocean views but would have preferred a balcony facing East instead of south to get optimal be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your great review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Also glad that you have 'discovered' this area and how peaceful it is and the beach uncrowded. We love it here and many of our guests come back time and again after visiting this area. Next visit remind us that you would like to try an east facing unit so you can enjoy even more of the ocean views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is our third time at San Marino but this time was with our daughter and three adult children and their partners,. We had a great time by the pool, playing tennis, on beach[close by] Beautiful sea views from our apartments and close to shopping and cafes.
Thanks again Mal and Lidi

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
It is always a pleasure to see our guests come back time and time again.
Thank you for your review as it does encourage us to keep the standard high.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the awesome beach we have here at Marcoola.
While the beach has been patrolled as a surfing beach from September holidays through to end of Easter holidays next year 2012 will be the first year it will be patrolled all through Winter (weekends and winter school holidays). That is great news for the southerners who come up for a winter warmer holiday.
Also for your info the Marcoola David Low Way section of road in front of the resorts here will be street-scaped and improved which will force the traffic to slow down and making this area and more friendly people place - new name to be Suncoast Boulevard.
You will enjoy this area even more next time. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed at Marcoola before but this was our first visit to San Marino. We were not disappointed. Our three bed corner apartment with private rooftop terrace entirely lived up to expectations: clean, comfortable, well equiped and with the best sea views we've ever experienced. Slight confusion with operation of TV/DVD was quickly resolved for us. Pool area is exeptionally nice- heated pool and lovely shower area meant we could really make the most of our last day after check out. The stunning patrolled beach is a two minute stroll through a privately accessed gate, just perfect. There is a skateboard park for the kids a 5/10 minute walk away and a great kids playground at Mudjimba- 25 min walk on beach or short car ride away. There are a few shops and cafes across the road or Coolum is a 15 minute drive away if you need a wider choice. We have stayed at quite a few different resorts on the Sunshine Coast but Marcoola remains our favourite for a quiet get away (the airport noise is minimal) and I think we'd be hard pressed to beat San Marino.

Room Tip: High floors have amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Wow, what can I say, what a great review for both Marcoola and San Marino by the Sea - thank you. We know Marcoola is a special place and love it when others discover her secrets and appreciate the area. Thank you again for your comments. We do hope our guests all enjoy their stay here and try to make things the best that we possibly can. Spring is a beautiful time of year on the Sunshine Coast and so happy that you enjoyed your time here. You are always welcome at San Marino and it will be a pleasure to look after you when you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have enjoyed 3 nights at ths San Marino Hotel and will be back for moere later in the year. Located metres from a flagged beach, the 3 bedroom unit had fantastic ocean views. The room was well appointed with BBQ, pool and tennis facilities kept in excellent order. Run by Mal & Lidi Butler, they give the resort has a warm personal feel- a nice change from the big chains of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. So many people have yet to discover this beautiful area. We love having families visit and hearing the laughter of children in the pool and enjoy the facilities and the wonderful Beach at Marcoola. This year we provided a few pool toys for the children and families to enjoy and they all seemed to have a fun time in the pool. The weather has been so kind to us the past weeks it was a great opportunity for family holidays at the beach. We look forward to your future vists and we always offer our return guests a great deal to visit again. We must remember book some perfect weather for the next holiday season. All the very best and may the time pass quickly till your next holiday break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Mal and Lidi Butler at San Marino by the Sea helped to make our short stay on the Sunshine Coast a memorable one. Their service was friendly and efficient, with nothing being too much trouble. The units are clean, comfortable and well appointed, and located right on beautiful Marcoola beach, close enough to all the Sunshine coast has to offer. The complex is quiet and family friendly, definitely the right place for your next holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your generous review. It is a pleasure to see our guests from near and far enjoy this unspoilt area and beach. We have to give credit to the owners of the apartments who allow us to keep their apartments in top condition. As you can imagine there is much maintenance and cost maintaining an apartment by the beach. I also have to give Lidi kudos for her tireless work in achieiving her high standard of presentation and cleanliness. While we know it is expected it is often and thankless task. All the very best to you and your family and we hope we can provide you with the same if not better level of service and standard next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The managers are very lovely and approachable. Rooms were lovely, well furnished and clean.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floor ocean view rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thanks so much for your review. We do hope you all enjoyed a very special weekend with family and glad we were able to assist in any way possible.Yes, the views are great the higher up you go, the shrubs on the beach sand dunes are growing after all the rain early in the year. All the very best and hope to see you again for another visit sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

went here with my best friend in 2010 sometime! the apartment was so big! and very nice bathroom, i wish it had a spa bath but other then that perfect! would recommend to anyone.the pool was nice but also didnt have much sun, the lifts where a little sandy from people treading sand from the beach but nothing to bad at all, couldnt hear anyone else in the building so that was a plus! very nice beds! x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Heh, thanks for your 'wonderful' review. The rooms are great and we thank you for making mention of that. I guess, cause we are so close to the beach, people dont have time to walk all the sand off their feet before they get into the lifts. But we do clean the foyers and lifts daily, sometimes more during holiday seasons. Hope you come back again for another visit, we are always making improvements to the place. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Marino by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino by the Sea

Address: 917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marino by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marino offers affordable 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Self-Contained Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation. Opening up onto private balconies overlooking the ocean. Marcoola Beach Family Holiday Apartments are tastefully decorated and generously sized. All apartments are spacious, open planned,contain fully equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave and full laundry. Marcoola Holiday Apartments are absolute beachfront and perfect for a relaxing holiday escape. Quality Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation in a tranquil setting, while still being totally accessible to the areas of Mooloolaba, Noosa, Coolum and Maroochydore. Try San Marino at Marcoola, we are sure you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your San Marino by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marino by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.