We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place wid excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage, Kanatal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hermitage, Kanatal to your Saves list
The Hermitage, Kanatal
Rauslikhal, PO Kanatal | Chamba Mussoorie Hwy, New Tehri 249145, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 New Tehri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing place wid excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we went to kanatal on 14 may for our anniversary wich was on 15th....after going there i realized we cont have chosen a better place!!!! its a quaint land cosy place wid nature all around u......even in may we were ard a bonfire at nite!!!! the hotel is made in such a way tat it has a 360degree view of the valleys around u.....love the quiet surroundings, perfect getaway if u want to enjoy nature good food great hospitality and just sit n hear the birds!!!!
about the owners - suman n less!!! they are the best hosts i have ever met !!!! though we went there as hotel guests they made us feel as though we were their personal guests....taking care of our every possible need!!!! on our anniversary they gave us a huge surprise by decorating the whole restaurant n arranging a cake n flowers n drinks!!! all from their side!!!! it was unbelievable n soooo touching!!!! i felt as though i was at home n my family was with me!!!! they sat with us around the bonfire n for us we have made friends for life!!!! food there was superb ,infact a couple staying at another hotel use to come to hermitage everyday for their meals!!!!
all in all great great stay...thank u suman n less

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello Kanupriya
Thank you for your kind words and appreciation of the little things that we did to make you welcome and feel at home.
We have enjoyed having you and your husband stay with us as we did the little chats between your entries and exits for sightseeing.
You are a blessed and lovely couple. Stay well and be safe always

Warm regards

Suman, Les and staff @ The Hermitage Kanatal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A. location
On the main Mussoorie Chamba Highway 14 Kms from Dhanaulti ..
Is this surprisingly refreshing, new eatery called Chai....Chalega.situated amidst a delightful little fruit garden with panoramic views of the Rausli forest and valleys. It is located within The Hermitage in Kanatal, a small quaint and cosy resort that is impeccably managed by a warm and friendly staff led by the owner and hostess herself Suman Bhatia.

B type of food
Depending on the season and time of the year, the menu is amended to accommodate fresh produce from the local markets with a high emphasis on locally grown vegetables.
For starters me and my friend both ravenous shared a crisp vegetable wrap with one of the most refreshing fresh lime sodas. We followed this up with a typical daal tadka, a chicken lababdar (not on the menu)and a spicy potato seasoned with the local herbs.
It was a simple but hearty meal but most of all fresh and served well in time. We ended this with fresh gulabjamuns though the kitchen had some mousse n soufflé s too.
All in all a truly satisfying meal with a very friendly service.

C price
Neither too steep nor cheap a meal for two would be in the 500 to 700 mark

Overall
We were told that with increasing footfall the restaurant cum cafe caters to outside public too but with advance notice. The cakes, breads and soups all made In house too may be ordered .
All in all a great place and ambience to stop in for food and a chat. Must visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello Kapil
Thank you for your kind observations.Yes Our new restaurant Chai..Chilli & Chill..Sab Chalega is an endeavour to serve fresh hot meals as is the seasonal bakery too. I am glad you enjoyed your meal, so do pop by again to try our new wraps and rolls..
Safe travels

Suman & The Staff
The Hermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great place, comfortable stay, good food, peace and natural surroundings made our stay and trip a life time memorable.
And even the hosts, Mrs and Mr Bhatia are excellent host to you.
Kids enjoyed the ambience and the facilities specially developed there.
Must visit place.
Lalit Arora.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Lalit
We at The Hermitage wish to thank you for making the time to give your feedback. In June we expanded the activities for our little guests to include swings, slides,board games, easels etc..what we propse is a small little jhoola baari..for the little ones.
We wish you and your family safe travels..

Suman & Staff
@The Hermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Built into nature. non overbearing structure - you just feel the nature. Icing on the cake - very good food - they even have their in-house bakery for cakes, bread etc.. at just a couple of hours notice .
All rooms recently re-furbished.
Staff - all keen and attentive to our needs.
Do your self/family a favour ... visit/stay here for a non-city type experience.
Full electricity backup. even water supply in baths is pressurised.

Room Tip: even the cheapest room is clean modern bath and good value for money. Their super deluxe room is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello Neeraj
You of the many people who have visited Kanatal have been a witness to the development and growth of not just Kanatal but The Hermitage. Your frequent visits to the property have I guess given you a deeper and wider insight of many small and big behind the scenes activities..
Thank you for being a part of our history..You are well aware of how this property since its inception in 92 has been run..for the love of the place, its community & its culture.
I hope and shall endeavour to keep it this way..
Thank you for your observations, feedback and numerous bits of advice..
The Hermitage shall always welcome you.
Best wishes and thank you again for making the time to give your valued feedback

Suman and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Hermitage is managed by a very charming, courteous, articulate and warm-natured couple, Mrs Suman & Lez, who see to it that their hospitality lingers on in your memory, days after you checked-out.......and make you look forward for the next visit! The place has all the comforts of a semi-formal hill resort, as there is flexibility in management's attitude. Location is excellent and resort is well-maintained. One can totally unwind and soak in the idyllic, picturesque surrounding blessed with natural beauty and sounds of silence. No shopping arcades, no traffic, no next-door tourist hotspot, no cable network.......not even the need for fan/AC, thanks to the wonderful weather even at peak summers. But, cellphone connectivity is excellent. Food is appetizing, staff young, energetic n well-mannered, service is quick n efficient. Overall a heart-warming experience that is good value for money...........

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley are good, but other guests have to go around your room if you take rooms tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Dushyant for making the time to give your feedback. I am glad we could give you a comfortable stay.Am so looking forward to your pics..soon I will be adding a art gallery to display and share pieces of art, poetry,a recipe maybe, anything really.. contributed by my guests..So dear camera happy friend lets see what you got to see..
It was lovely having you on the property too.we do hope to see you around..
Warm regards

Suman & my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A perfect resort to completely feel at home and return rejeuvenated..excellent and warm staff ..great hospitality, delicious food..comfortable rooms with an awesome view into the valley..Lots of nature treks and safaris into the adjoining forest..Very calm and serene place with a cool ,pleasant weather even in the peak summers..special thanks to Mrs Suman Bhatia who is an excellent host!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Radhana for your valuable feedback.
There is a book waiting for you to read by Ruskin Bond..Hopefully you will be back to do so.
It was a treat hosting you and your wonderful and warm family all the way from Hyderabad and I am glad you did not go disappointed.The staff remember doctor saab' fondly as I do your lovely mum and our little chats.Someday soon Dr.Ravi Kumar's sketch and the beautiful poem penned down on The Hermitage shall adorn my next project..contributions to my little artists gallery by my valued guests & friends..
Be safe always

Aunty Suman & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The resort is a relaxed getaway in the middle of hills about 2-3 hrs away from dehradun. It is a quiet place and has few rooms. The staff is very courteous and the food is good. There are a few beautiful treks close to the resort that you can explore during your stay here. It was windy and cold in the evenings even during peak summer although the afternoons were warm. There is a nice coffee house and an open verandah where you can enjoy your tea or a bonfire that the owners will gladly put on your request. This resort is in the middle of nowhere so make sure you carry any stuff you may need except food and water like medicines fruits etc with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman_hermitage, Owner at The Hermitage, Kanatal, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Valued Traveller
I appreciate you making the time to give your feedback on your stay at The Hermitage. Hope to see you back.

Warm Regards
Suman Bhatia & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage, Kanatal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage, Kanatal

Address: Rauslikhal, PO Kanatal | Chamba Mussoorie Hwy, New Tehri 249145, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > New Tehri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Tehri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located at a cool 8900 ft, nestled amidst deep pine forests and apple orchards, The Hermitage is a true retreat for the perfect getaway. If you're looking for solitude, quiet and life's simple pleasures, The Hermitage it is. Close to Mussoorie and Rishikesh, make this your next getaway holiday home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Hermitage, Kanatal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage, Kanatal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.