We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canalta Hotel Humboldt

Save Saved
You added Canalta Hotel Humboldt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalta Hotel Humboldt
2421 8 Avenue, Humboldt, Saskatchewan S0K 2A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Humboldt
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I spend few days every month there when visiting our sites in saskat and is a Great hotel in the middle of nowhere

Is a great new hotel with awesome beds in a little town in sask so ifyou need to work there drive from wherever you are no more than 1 he and relax in thee spacious rooms and have a well & deserved sleep after a hard day of driving and working. Their breakfast is good and the service too.
The front desk staff were great.
they are always full so make sure you book with time, if not you may have to pay over two fifty for the Jacuzzi room which is awesome but you don't want to pay that much

Room Tip: all the rooms I've tried are large, spotless, and have fridges and microwaves. The bedding and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
The Humboldt Canalta is often used for guests such as yourself that come to the area for work.
Being central in the province, we are able to provide accommodations for a large business area.

Whether you are planning on staying only 1 night or for a extended period of time booking early is always a good idea.
Either way, the jacuzzi suite may be your room of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
4
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Canalta Hotel chain never ceases to impress me. Yes, they may be slightly expensive for the small communities they are in (139/night) they are worth the money! Everyone is friendly and always willing to help you out. The rooms are new, clean, have large bathrooms, microwaves, mini fridges, and GOOD wireless in every room. There is a clean pool, hot tub, and great workout room and they offer a very good HOT and FREE breakfast. Definitely worth the extra money to stay at Canalta!

Room Tip: All are good in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It sounds like you have had the opportunity to stay at more than just our Canalta location. I am glad that we have been able to build a brand that you seek out when you are traveling.

We continue to strive to be leaders in the industry, and based on you comments it sounds like we are well on our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picture Butte
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent two nights at the Canalta Hotel in Humbodlt recently on business. Brand new, nicely appointed hotel with large, quiet rooms. A little thing, but I liked the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner dispensers right in the shower. The front desk staff were great; special kudos to Amanda who checked us in and provided quick, informed answers when I asked her for assistance, and even personally delivered the menu for a local restaurant when I inquired about nearby eating places. Although we didn’t use the swimming pool and waterslide, it was a spacious and nicely designed facility and would be a great place to bring kids. Continental breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of hot and cold cereal, eggs (both hard boiled and hot), sausage, three juices, yogurt, fruit, bagels, biscuits, toast, waffles, coffee etc in an open, comfortable dining area. The lady responsible was helpful and efficient at keeping things clean and well-organized; unfortunately I didn’t catch her name, but she’s doing a great job. Overall, an excellent value for the $140/night room rate. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of the amenities that we offer. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy the pool/water slide the next time you stay here.

I have passed on your compliments to Amanda and the breakfast attendant. Guest comments like this are a great way to encourage our staff to keep promoting excellent customer service and remind them that no good deed goes unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an event in town and booked this hotel as it is the only decent hotel in Humboldt. It is clean,well appointed, and the staff is not only efficient but very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large, spotless, and have fridges and microwaves. The bedding and pillows are thick and comfy. The rooms are quiet and the elevators slow. The breakfast included is as good as any offered by the major chains. There was a good selection of hot food, eggs, bacon, waffles and hot or cold cereals. Lots of bread products, fruit and juices. There are comp cookies when you check in.
NOW, THE DMF. So the hotel is not cheap for the location, but properly priced for the quality. When I checked out I looked at the bill and saw the usual taxes,but the one that caught my eye was the DMF OF 3%. So I asked the clerk, who advised it was a destination marketing fee. So what is that I asked. Well she says it is a fee the hotel collects so they can market the hotel locally, support sports groups and activities. WELL, why is it not in the rate and placed on the bill like a tax you might just assume it is. It is misleading & This is rediculous. Hide it in the room price, but don't create extra REVENUE charges you get surprised with when you check out and are not advised of. Next we will see a breakfast cleanup charge. A warm water for the pool charge. Great hotel shady charges sour taste on departure.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for you kind words about our location.

The DMF fee is listed separately because we do not believe in hidden costs. The room rate is based on the amenities that the hotel provides and nothing else.

The Destination Marketing fee is actually quite common in hotels. It is a fee that is collected to enable to hotel to give back to the community it is located in. Canalta uses it to help non-profit groups as well as the community as a whole. It helps bring events to the area that may not be possible otherwise.

I hope the DMF does not deter you from staying at Canalta, but that you will return based on the experience you had during your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed two nights while attending a writers' workshop nearby. The regular hotel room was very spacious and clean with a nice desk for working at. The breakfast was great with hot items to choose from. Their 'dream beds' and friendly staff made for a very nice stay along with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Canalta dream beds are just as they are described......dreamy.
Combine that with the option of soft or firm pillows and it equals a good night sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a newer hotel in the area. A very good staff ; polite and always available to help. If you are up there in the winter months try to go a Humboldt Broncos hockey game. It is fun for everyone the team is very good but make sure you take a jacket it is very cold.

Room Tip: It has a great swimming pool and water slide
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Canalta Hotel is a major sponsor of the SJHL and we are glad you were able to enjoy a hockey game while you were here. As for the cold... the hot tub is a great place to relax and warm up.

Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our son was married in Humboldt and the hotel was excellent for our family and friends.
We wanted to have a supper after rehersal and the room for meetings etc fit very well. Staff went out of their way to help with all requests. Breakfast was very good with choices. Hotel is very well looked after - grandkids loved the slide and pool. Is the perfect choice for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaHumboldt, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Humboldt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Congratulations to your son and his new wife.

I love it when a "plan comes together" and it sounds like that is exactly what happened for you during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you when you return to Humboldt to visit the newlyweds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humboldt
Lagana Hotel 4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews Bella Vista Inn 3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Humboldt, ranked by popularity

Been to Canalta Hotel Humboldt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Hotel Humboldt

Address: 2421 8 Avenue, Humboldt, Saskatchewan S0K 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Humboldt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Humboldt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Canalta Hotel Humboldt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalta Hotel Humboldt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.