We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, very good hotel and spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velence Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Velence Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Velence Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   To utca 4-6., Velence 2481, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velence
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, very good hotel and spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We spent a couple of days in this hotel at the end of May. We had 2 connecting rooms, both of them were small but enough for 2+2 people. (There are bigger kind of rooms in the hotel.) The beds are acceptably comfy. The bathroom is nice. Everything is clean. All rooms have a balcony with side view to the Velence lake, though some of them are closer to it (ours were the closest ones, rooms 2316 and 2317. The suites have full lake view. The rooms are either South-West or North-East oriented, it is better to ask the latter ones in the hottest months, though the air con in the rooms works well. The three blocks of the hotel were built rather close to each other, nevertheless it is not really noisy. The garden and the common areas are well kept and beautiful, with plenty of vivid colors (colorful walls and sunbeds, green grass and flowers, etc.).

The spa is really good, it has 3 different pools, a thermal area and a sauna park. The biggest swimming pool is basicly covered but one can swim out to its open air part, even in winter time. It is around 32 degrees Celsius and has different attractions. The other 2 pools are open air, one of them is especially for swimming, both of them are heated when the outside temperature requires. Inside there are 2 further pools with special thermal water. The sauna park includes a Finnish, a bio and an infra sauna, a steam cabin, a pool+shower area and a tepidarium room for relaxing. Everything is absolutely clean and well mainteined. The wellness area includes massage rooms (ask for Timea, I have found her the best masseur) and a small fittness room (TecnoGym equipment) + a gymnasium where special training classes are held.

The restaurant offers half board with delicious food, even those with a special diet requirement can find something or get special food upon request (e.g. gluten free products). Fresh fruits and salads are included in all buffet style meals. The lunch can be a buffet menu or a la carte order. (Prices: e.g. a Ceasar salad, a spaghetti or a pizza is around 6 €/ 1500 HUF). There is a separated section for hungry peolpe in swimming pool, so no need to change before eating. Eating out is another option but the surroundings of the hotel is a bit poor with few facilities only.

What else? You can rent a bike (a ride around the lake is nice). Nice playground and inside playing room for the kids. No hairdresser in the hotel. Minibar is too pricey.

The strongest point of this hotel is its staff: all the receptionists, room maids, waiters, pool attendants, etc. are kind, helpful every time and work efficiently. It is expected though, as the hotel is a bit overpriced, I think. But its excellent location, quality and staff still give the feeling of getting a good value for money. So I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had two adjoining rooms for our 8 year old and us on the 4th floor of building two, they were fairly small but clean and adequately furnished with small balconies, a TV (2 or 3 English speaking channels), however before we arrived we did check that the hotel was a non-smoking establishment and were assured it was (due to asthma in our family) but on our arrival there was a used ashtray on one of the balcony tables. There was also a smoking room which could be smelt in reception at times and smoking was permitted outside by the pool and restaurant areas.
So now for the positive's! The inside and outside pool areas were great for families and the spa pools were also very good and there were numerous treatments and massages to choose from. The food (we had booked half-board) was buffet style and excellent for this type of dining, lots of choice of fresh ingredients both traditional and continental. The location was lovely facing the lake and car parking was available at a cost. All in all a good value for money family hotel which we would return to again if in the area mainly for the location and pool areas.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The best in the hotel is the animation. Our children, 4 and 5 loved the animators and the programs. We could have quite time together with my husband.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Perfect for leisure. I love the glass blocks shining in all the colours of the rainbow. This holiday was just like a dream "somewhere over the rainbow"!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have stayed at the hotel at the beggining of February, 2011. The check -in was quick and very professional, Anna was very smiley and helpful with us. She gave my children a little funny magnetics, that were very kind of her. My boys like them very much....After the warmly welcome, we looked for the children corner. Our boys adore Kata, who took care and played with them half day. She was awesome...:)))
Our rooms had a great view for the lake, (Velence-to)....the wellness area was spaceous and clean. Me and my wife were satisfied.
For dinner my boys had a kids menu, and we can choose lots of dishes...that were filling and fine.
We had a great weekend in hungary, velence....we warmly recommend Velence Resort & Spa!!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed this hotel for weekend in January 2011. When we arrived, our room was smoky (it is a non smoking hotel), but we could change our room for a good one. The spa is really spacious vwith quiet big selection of services. We were albe to book a massage on friday 7.00 PM for the same day at 3 PM, instead of next day 3 PM. When we were waiting for our massage on saturday 3 PM, we have been told, that our massage (according to their IT system) hapened on friday 3 PM. After this, nobody was approaching us to excuse from hotel management... No comment.
Food and service is not the best, according to my experience, just to give an example: 4star hotel, with two types of dessert dinner time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I had been to Velence Resort and Spa in Nov-Dec 2010 and had the best resort experience ever.

The resort is right at the lake shore.
It has more than 4 different types of pools - Herbal, Cold Water, Hot Water and one outside in the open.
There are also 2 different kinds of Sauna Rooms.
The resort has indoor game arrangements for Table Tennis and Fuzball.

Now apart from leisure, the Resort has business facilities for Conferences.

Every room is provided with a Free LAN Internet conneciton and LCD TV.

There are also two huge apartment size rooms for big families.
Room service and courtesy is at its best at this resort.

The buffet Breakfast has a variety of more than 15 type sof dishes and is made for all age groups and cultures.

All, in all, this resort is great for both - weekend with family / friends or even long business related stays.

Its just 45 kms away from Budapest Airport and is well situated near the Railway station too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velence Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velence Resort & Spa

Address: To utca 4-6., Velence 2481, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Fejer County > Velence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Velence Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velence Resort & Spa**** is the first complex on Lake Velence that functions as an all-in-one spa, wellness, conference and children-friendly hotel. Velence Resort & Spa is located right along the lakeshore. Our restaurants, the balconies of our rooms and the conference rooms offer a spectacular view of Lake Velence and the surrounding hills. The area is abundant in natural beauties and cultural sights, which guarantee a lasting and memorable experience during your stay.Bring along your children! We have a children-friendly environment awaiting the youngest visitors complete with playrooms, a children’s pool, a playground and a sandbox. During the peak season qualified educators work with the children to allow their parents to experience complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velence Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velence Hotel Velence
Velence Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velence Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.