We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay in this town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Raisin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pont-de-Vaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Raisin
Save
You added Hotel Le Raisin to your Saves list
2 Place Michel Poizat - 01190, 01190 Pont-de-Vaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northiam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in this town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was born in this town in 1944. both my mother and father we in the resistance here. it was such a surprise tofind the Hotel Raisin was in fact the hotel that the group used as their safe place.
The rooms are very adequate indeed and the food wonderful. A fantastic menu and beautifully cooked. the breakfast was very good and great value.
After over fifty years living in England it was was a wonderful surprise to find this hotel. thouroughly recomended.

Room Tip: make sure you are in the town on market day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
unite kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here breaking a south-north journey. Had very fond memories of a great restaurant with good, inexpensive rooms, safe parking, and quiet –i.e., everything you are looking for on such a journey – when we last stayed here about 20 years ago.

It’s in the same hands. Has been enlarged, but the rooms are still good, spacious, with large bathrooms and lashings of piping hot water. There is free Wi-Fi and there’s more parking. The restaurant has also been extended and there’s an overspill area which can be a bit dismal atmosphere-wise if they are using it as a kind of Anglophone kettling zone, as they appeared to be the night we were there.

The food is absolutely divine, from the freebie pre-starter (the night we went it was crème brulée au foie gras with a rhubarb granita topping…..) through to the freebie post-pudding to go with your coffee. Frogs’ legs are still on the menu – as they were 20 years ago – but the menus offer beautifully balanced fine dishes with masses of attention to detail. The sort of stuff you don’t get in your own kitchen. Nice big tables, exceptional cheese board.

An excellent wine list - but, as you would expect in a restaurant of this quality, the carafe wine is very drinkable and amazingly inexpensive.

We didn’t have breakfast but it looked very good.

When we arrived in Pont de Vaux we saw that it was the town’s Fete de la Musique that night: bands and stages were going up all over the town, with one outside a pub quite near the hotel. A tad alarmed, we checked this one out before dinner– this nearest venue was for The Intern’s (sic) aging rockers doing fab sixties numbers – and we went back after dinner and loved it. The reason I mention it here is because we didn’t hear a thing once we got back to the hotel: a room overlooking the courtyard and good glazing saw to that.

Pont de Vaux makes a good stop-over; it’s a town with some history, well-situated for Burgundian outings and Tournus, north, is exceptional.

Just try to get a table in the main dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Le Raisin:
Fabulous chef, the food was delicious and worth the detour.
Great staff, friendly and helpful.
Rooms adequate, small, simple but clean. Bed comfortable but not soft.
Private Parking, closed at night.
Free wifi
Breakfast typically French: 9 euros.

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back if you are a light sleeper. We asked for a room with a shower, it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thanks to other trip advisor reviews we stayed here on the 16th April and asked for a room overlooking the garden which was very quiet. The secure car park at the rear of the hotel was good and the hotel could be accessed from the car park. Staff were welcoming, helpful and we arrived early enough to enjoy a walk round Pont du Vaux and its marina.
The rooms are clean, straightforward and our bathroom was large and the beds straightforward divans which were very comfortable.
Others have raved about the restaurant - and they are right!! A simple menu around €27 looked fine, but we went for the €40+ menu and were not disappointed. An amuse bouche and a pre dessert were part of the menu and there was also a magnificient cheese trolley. We chose the poulet de bresse speciality and were well pleased. We both had sorbets for our dessert - mine the sorbet de vignerons which was made with red wine and highly unusual and delicious - my husband had the sorbet with vodka which he said made his eyes water in a good way!! Wine starts at €19 for a bottle which is very reasonable, and wine is also sold by the glass. Breakfast the next morning was more than adequate with a buffet of sweet cakes and breads as well as fruits and yoghurts, meats and cheeses. I had a jus de raisin which I loved. We will definitely make this a regular stop on our voyages.

Room Tip: I don't know if the front rooms are noisy are not, but the front of the hotel is on a road that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of Belgium friends who use this hotel as a half way point to Spain. We liked it so much we stayed for 2 nights. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful even with our pidgin French. The rooms were adequate, comfortable and quite. The restaurant was excellent - we were impressed with the quality of the food and the wine list. Relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice French atmosphere hotel in lively village with river-harbour. Stayed here twice. Basic but large rooms, clean and warm. Good parking. Nice little strawl around the village, after a very good restaurant visit. Recommended voor those staying a couple of days in the Burgundy area, for visits Macon, Cluny, Beaujolais.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Heart of England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Le Raisin is a pleasant 3 star hotel in the quiet town of Pont de Vaux near Macon in Burgundy. I have stayed here twice, the most recent trip a couple of weeks ago as a stop over en route to the alps. The rooms are very basic but large, clean and comfortable and there is secure free parking at the rear of the hotel. The main attraction for me is the wonderful restaurant, which delivers the most exquisite local food with a comprehensive wine list in truly convivial surroundings. During our last visit we opted the for the menu terroir (5 courses €53pp) The meal was sublime!! I have never made breakfast here so can't comment!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Raisin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Raisin

Address: 2 Place Michel Poizat - 01190, 01190 Pont-de-Vaux, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Pont-de-Vaux
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Raisin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.