We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good traditional French Auberge-Etape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Raisin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pont-de-Vaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Raisin
Save
You added Hotel Le Raisin to your Saves list
2 Place Michel Poizat - 01190, 01190 Pont-de-Vaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good traditional French Auberge-Etape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Pont-de-Vaux is a busy but pleasant little town with its leafy canal and marina.

The hotel is clean, staff friendly, and my room very good value overall, in particular considering the hotel's location: i.e.conveniently close to the busy Paris-Lyon route, but sufficiently distant from it as well.

Good meal also, especially the "little bits": i.e. the Mise-en-Bouche, the sorbet Vigneron, the Pre-Dessert, all very nice. Although I think the hotel part of Le Raisin is bettter quality for price than the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We got a hint from a couple at the Cote d'Azur that when we drove back to the Netherlands and wanted to stop half-way we should go there and we did. A nice cosy hotel / restaurant were time more or less stood still. Large rooms, large beds, big batroom. But the rooms is not the special here, it's the food. They really know what a great cuisine is. Excellent food, although not cheap, made it a nice experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful although it sometimes would help if they try to speak one or two words English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

For more than 20 years, we are frequent visitors of Le Raisin. Since living in South Africa, the frequency has obviously dropped but whenever we have the opportunity, we will grab it to return to this wonderful place.

We were welcomed as usual by the lovely owner and host of the hotel, Mrs. Gisèle Chazot and by co-host Mrs. Maryline Dijoux Chazot. Both these charming ladies are hands on every night in the restaurant as well.

Rooms in the hotel are rather basic, but clean with good beds. The only negative side is that there is only a bath in which you have to shower, which for elderly can be a bit of a hassle. Breakfast used to be quite basic, but this has changed since our last visit and is now offering a nice variety of delicious items and breads.

The main reason for choosing this place is not the hotel, but the restaurant. Unfortunately we had to learn about the passing away of Mr. Chazot two years ago, which was quite a shock to us. However, in his tradition and to honour his great cooking skills, chef Nicolas Guichardan and his team continue to cook up a storm in this cosy place. Expect traditional, truly delicious items on the menu such as les Grenouilles Fraîches Sautées en Dombes, le Rôtie de Sandre à L’Ail Doux, le Poulet de Bresse, le Coeur de Filet de Boeuf and la Noix de Ris de Veau Braisée aux Morilles, to name but a few. Add to this a superb choise of Fromages Affinées and the fantastic Crêpes Parmentier, and your evening is a complete indulgence. My absolute favourite came from the cold starter choices: La Terrine aux Trois Saveurs. What an incredible feast!

Yes, the menu hasn’t changed over the years and this to my humble opinion must have been the reason for losing their Michelin Star in the past. I don’t know if they even care about it. Le Raisin is so popular and packed on most of the evenings anyway. However, the food here was, and still is of such a fantastic level, that I am already dreaming about my next visit. Chef Guichardan cooks the traditional dishes with loads of passion, and at the same time is adding some modern twists. Combine this haute cuisine with a cosy dining area with big tables and comfortable chairs, a nice wine menu with good choice for everyone’s desires and pockets, and hands on service that is spot on. I wonder if Michelin people ever returned to this fabulous place? Because Guichardan and Le Raisin most certainly deserve a Star.

Thank you all at Le Raisin for giving us a splendid time, again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

8 of us (2 families) had a one night stay over on our way to our ski holiday. This hotel is family run and is steeped in history and felt very special. The car park is plenty big enough and we were met by our car with our room keys. A lovely lady also helped with our bags.The owner speaks beautiful English. The rooms were lovely and big. But it is the food I particularly want to rave about! The evening meal was amazing. We went for the cheapest set menu and the courses just kept coming! lovely fresh bread (made on the premises I think), 'amuse bouche', a cheese trolley not just a board! And afterwards a tray of what looked like homemade chocolates. We were blown away. The children's meals were also spot on. Now - the breakfast. Wow. Fresh pineapple, prunes in cinnamon, several homemade brioches, as well as plenty of croissants, fresh bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, pain au chocolat and homemade plum jam. Pont de Vaux is pretty small, and the hotel is right at the heart of it, with a couple of bars nearby. But honestly, you really don't need to leave this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here on the way back from skiing in the Alps - excellent stopover location. Room was large and has everything you need - although did note no aircon and it could be hot in the summer. Good value accommodation overall. Very good to have a secure car park at the back. But the best thing was the food! Absolutely excellent from start to finish - allow plenty of time because you need to savour each mouthful and make room for the little extras - a mini banana clafoutis as a 'pre-pudding' for example - and superb petits fours. Excellent and charming service, very good wine list which offers a good range to suit all tastes and pockets. We shall go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Discovered this place perhaps 15 years ago. We're hooked and we return whenever we visit the area from Canada.
We have stayed here with complete satisfaction but this time (Oct 2011) we were in a B&B across the Saone in the Maconnais region.
The accommodation in this hotel is plain. Well maintained, spotless -- but plain.
No matter. We come for the food (Breakfasts, lunch, dinner) and the faultless old-fashioned service.
This is classic regional French cooking: snails, frog's legs, poulet de Bresse -- but kicked up a notch, with inventive preparations and gorgeous presentation.
The prices are very, very modest. The food -- superlative.
39 E or $55 incl. tax for a multi-course meal???? I counted 9 courses, including the entremets! Unimaginable in N. America
Don't take my word for it:
Here is a link to my photo album from this meal -- dinner for 2 on October 12, 2011.
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2435992735632.2130997.1126123095&type=1&l=00baa82d8a

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the modern Annex at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel. This place was a great surprise. We were staying on a boat in the marina and found this well reviewed on Trip Advisor. It is a large hotel restaurant with various dining rooms. Quite formal but the customers were quite mixed smart and casual, some children etc.
We had the 29 Euro Menu and three children's meals. The children's meals which were superb entrecote steak were very well received. Our menus despite being the cheapest on the list were wonderful. Everything beautifully presented and perfectly cooked from start to finish.
The price was incredible value but this is not a cheap restaurant particularly. We spent $180 for four adults and three children with two very good bottles of wine. I really hope to have the chance to eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Raisin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Raisin

Address: 2 Place Michel Poizat - 01190, 01190 Pont-de-Vaux, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Pont-de-Vaux
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Raisin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.