We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon De La Curva - CLOSED

El Fogon De La Curva
Carr 115 KM. 7.1, Anasco, Puerto Rico
+1 787-826-0096
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are a family place with traditional foods & with a breathtaking hilltop ocean view!
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So so...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had chicken wings as a starter plate. They where very tasteful, crunchy and well cooked! Ice cold beer... very nice view of the sea...For dinner we order the chicharones de pollo with mofongo and the bbq pork ribs with rice and beans. Chicharrones = untasteful, ribs had tooo much sause, rice and beans where blah! In general, we shouldn't had order dinner... nice for samplers, beer, ocean view but will not recommend it for dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our cold beers & wonderful hilltop ocean view! We are open from 11:00am to 10:00pm serving both lunch & dinner, our menu consist of Fresh local fish, Lechon Asado, Chicken Asado, Turkey Asado, Smoked BBQ rIbs, chuleta Kan Kan, Lion Fish, variety of Mofongos, Fat Boy Burgers, & even Italian home made pizza. We are always available to help with making good choices regarding our traditional menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience for Anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

El Fogon is family-owned with a friendly atmosphere and we felt right at home. The menu offers traditional Puerto Rican food along with Italian food. The server, who was the owner, was fluent in both English and Spanish and gave honest recommendations when we asked questions. All food was brought out quickly. The portion sizes were generous and the prices were very fair. The only downside was that seasonal offerings limit part of the menu, but this demonstrates how local and fresh the food is.

As a starter we ordered chicken empanadillas, which were prepared fresh and tasty. I ordered a grouper fish fillet that was really well-cooked along with two sides; I got the rice and beans along with amarillos (sweet plantains), which were delicious! My boyfriend ordered a pizza and the dough was soft, chewy and just perfect. We split the coconut cake for dessert and left the restaurant very satisfied.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you, so nice to hear you left very satisfied! We try our best to make everyones visit a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“if in rincon, pr try this restaurant located in the town of añasco on town line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Really great PR food...ESP great Italian pizza....Italian food too.....fantastic...we come here once a week when we visit in the winter...it's a must try...a fun place to go with friends or family....very reasonable....owners and staff are great....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you, yes we do a one size thin crust pizza pie..our sauce is a family recipe with a choice of toppings (pepperoni, pork, meatball, sausage, eggplant, chicken parm & the famous one which is pepperoni, pork, onions with peppers)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a nice dinner at El Fogon. They have a great menu with lots of choice and combos. It's a great value and the view is fabulous!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you, enjoying our ocean view & tropical breezes for lunch or dinner is a great way of spending time on our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good Puerto Rican fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

El Fogon is high on the hill with a wonderful view of the ocean, especially around sunset. The owners are present and greet you, wait on you, and chat. The food was Puerto Rican fare, you must try the mofongo.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you, the sunsets are beautiful from our hill top dining area! The whales love to give a show from time to time and its amazing when we catch them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon De La Curva also viewed

Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon De La Curva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.