We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Elegant and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milton's Country Lodge

Milton's Country Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Milton's Country Lodge to your Saves list
Milton's Country Lodge
Stock Lane, Lower Langford BS40 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightfully Elegant and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I visit the UK and Europe on business 2 or 3 times a year and always like to try smaller hotels near to the airports I fly out of. I spend my life in the large modern chain hotels and this establishment is a breath of fresh air. The rooms and main building are beautifully decorated and have a warm "at home" feeling to them. The beds and furnishings are ultra comfortable and the surrounding country side is breath takingly beautiful. Even the herd of cows next door are friendly! The English cooked breakfast was excellant and generous in proportions. The Manager was very welcoming and helpful and the service could not be faulted. This place is perfectly situated for Bristol airport and was excellant value for 95 GBPs (not to mention cheaper than their competitors). This is the sort of place I would love to retire in!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I left feeling completely ripped off. For £79 B&B for 2, we had cobwebs, badly chipped sink, loose socket, curtains lined with old curtains and sheets and duvet covers possibly from the 1970's. I could just about forgive the tepid breakfast, served with tinned tomatoes, but not, what appeared to both my husband and me, to be mould on the brown toast. I could go on, but suffice to say, you would be well advised to look elswhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Now called simply Milton's Lodge.

Restaurant is now closed but good restaurants in the village if you get there before 20.30.

We had a deal with the hotel where we paid an extra £10 for secure parking for the airport for a week, one minute away, including good transfers to Bristol airport and back. Total overnight price including the airport parking was £89.

This place looks like someone spent a lot of money on it once but it seems a bit uncared for now. Clean but the furniture looks like it's been put in the rooms as an afterthought. Room was large but quite dark. Double bed was twins put together.

This is a good overnight for the airport but if you want to stay in a cheerful place for a break I would think that you would be better off staying in another B and B in the same village.

I would recommend for a good overnight for the airport but not for a holiday or a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010 via mobile

We booked for three of us and airport parking. The secure parking as part of package was 3 minutes up the road and service excellent.

The little bedroom in room is very small and to be fair they do warn you my son slept in living room as he found it too small. The mezzanine bedroom and living area are lovely.

It is very convenient and good value with airport parking and pick up service.

Breakfast is good but cooked does have to be ordered night before.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010 via mobile

After arriving at a really inconvenient time near midnight our hostess couldn't have been more helpful. The room was first class with the bed up on a mezzanine. It was a really interesting and nice set up. Very clean and tidy with a mini bar and a comfy lounge area in the ro. Very spacious and a good base if you are travelling around. The breakfast was wonderful and we were made to feel very welcome.would definitely recommend to friends and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

Last december my boyfriend and I stayed for a long weekend at Miltons Lodge. What can I say. We had the best time ever. The room was very big and so romantic. Everything was very clean and in the restaurant we had a fabolous meal for a very good price. Also the English breakfast was very well made and so big, I couldn't finish it. Miltons is run by a nice couple who made us feel realy welcome. We will definitely come back this year for another long weekend, but then with the three of us. Me, my boyfriend and our newborn baby.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and that it was so clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Excellent value for money.
We booked the dinner/ bed and breakfast package and could actualy not believe how cheap it was for what we got.
Very luxurious, big and clean room with a complete lounge to relax in!
Spacious and clean bathroom.
Room has everything you need and the staff was amazing.
The restraurant is very romantic.
The food (both dinner and breakfast) is (unlike many other hotels) absolutely delicious.
We stayed in many many hotels and this one sure stands out in the great vakue for money department
Not only will we be back we will defenately recommend this hotel to everyone we know.

  • Liked — The value for money and the quality of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milton's Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton's Country Lodge

Address: Stock Lane, Lower Langford BS40 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Lower Langford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lower Langford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Milton's Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton's Country Lodge Lower Langford, Somerset, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milton's Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.