We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplars Farmhouse B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Poplars Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
Poplars Farmhouse B&B
Poplars Farm Lane, | Colchester, Stoke by Nayland CO6 4RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For 10% OFF!
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from spending two nights at this great B&B. David and Paul made us very welcome with a huge pot of tea and biscuits served in their exquisite sitting room when we arrived (and also another when we came back from touring about the area in the freezing weather!) so that's always a good start! The house is very old and spacious and it's so quiet thereabouts you could hear a pin drop in Colchester. We had the Gardenia room with its quirkily-sloping floor (I said the place was old!) and plenty of space to rattle about in. It's all very clean and warmly welcoming. David and Paul are there in the background - always helpful, always good to talk to, always the brilliant mine hosts. If you're into good English breakfasts then you will enjoy their breakfast which is freshly-cooked and served on hot plates - guaranteed to last you until tea-time. The sitting room is great to relax in - there's a TV, plenty of DVDs (watched Love Actually for the umpteenth time and enjoyed it all over again) and heaps of books if you feel like reading. There's wi-fi if you want to catch up on e-mails or browse what to do for your following day's stay. It's a real home from home and I reckon David and Paul have sussed out how to run a darned good B&B. Thanks a million, guys - you were ace!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
137
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really cannot think of anything they could have done to make our stay more perfect! We loved that they had wellies and brollies by the door and insisted we made ourselves at home! We had our wine in their fridge and borrowed appropriate glasses. I had asked for Special Milk as I'm dairy intolerant and instead of being made to feel like an inconvenience, I had my own milk in my own jug! The little extra touches, like fresh milk for drinks, breakfast when you want it and not at a set time, and just the loveliest hosts, make this place special. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had the beamed room which had a bath and had bags of character - the rooms at the other end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a relaxing few days in this B&B and loved it. The bedrooms are gorgeous and comfy, David and Paul are friendly and helpful hosts, and the surrounding countryside is lovely. We would definitely recommend this place to others and will be returning there ourselves before long I'm sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful and luxurious night at Poplars Farmhouse. David and Paul looked after us exceedingly well and even heated up our picnic and laid out their beautiful dining room table for us to enjoy. A beautiful setting and beautifully appointed house and rooms - a real treat and only 30 minutes down the road for us! Thanks also for the loan of the wellies so we could enjoy a relaxing walk to the village after a very tasty breakfast ..... and gave us gluten free toast to boot. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent some of the best weekends here during our trips to England. The people are very nice and friendly, we felt at home straight away ! The house is fantastic and the bedrooms absolutely wonderful . The food is superb ( there is a huge amount of choice for breakfast to suit everyone ) . The setting is lovely and quiet and we couldn't ask for any better! One thing's for sure , we will be back !
Marie and Benoit

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Poplars Farmhouse is truly a beautiful oasis in a modern world. As you step through the door the ancient building seems evoke a tranquillity, which dictates the pace at which you live throughout your stay. The rooms are comfortable, and elegant with very stylish touches. The hosts David and Paul couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was superb. We stayed for two nights in November 2012, we would definitely recommend it and will certainly be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely old historic building, a friendly welcome, a comfortable room and a hearty breakfast overlooking a well-kept garden. What more do you want? Add to that the attraction of good food at the Crown in Stoke by Nayland, and the beautiful countryside around and you have the perfect place for a weekend visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poplars Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Farmhouse B&B

Address: Poplars Farm Lane, | Colchester, Stoke by Nayland CO6 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars is a 17th century farmhouse tucked away in the heart of Constable Country. It is situated on its own in a very peaceful setting amongst fields and trees, yet only a short walking distance from the picturesque village of Stoke by Nayland. So why not escape from your usual life and experience this hidden gem of pure relaxation? We invite you to enjoy this beautiful ambiance and tranquility whilst at the same time offer you top quality luxury accommodation with comfort, homemade food to suit your diet, homely hospitality and being attentive to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Poplars Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplars Farmhouse B&B Stoke By Nayland, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplars Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.