We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Lakeview Motel & Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauble Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Lakeview Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
625 Main Street, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms are clean. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach. There are fires every night. The owners supplied sparklers for the kids. There are swings and a small play area for kids which my 2 enjoyed. The property is large and clean and includes a heated pool which we all enjoyed. Stay here with confidence and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello gasman & family! We thank you for your review of our facility and as always are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lakeview. Sparklers & kids, what can we say! No bonfire is complete without s'mores & sparklers......what a way to end a great beach day. Thanks again & we hope to see you next year! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is hard to believe that summer is coming to an end for another season and with that a wonderful time was spent at Lakeview Motel and Cottages. It is hard to believe that Gail and Randy Porter have owned the business for 10 years now. The improvements that they have made over the last 10 years are a wonderful improvements, what with the new deck/patio areas on the front of rooms 11 and 12, the new blacktop that was put in this season, along with the improvements that have been made since they obtained the business, you can see that they take pride in ownership and keep the business up to date. When you arrive you are always greeted with a friendly welcome, like you were old friends and when you leave they are always there to wish you a safe journey on your return to your home location. In fact I have referred several people to Lakeview Motel & Cottages and they have actually taken my advise on the reputation of Gail and Randy Porter and have stayed at Lakeview Motel & Cottages this year as part of their vacation.

Room Tip: For a single person or couple, I would recommend that you book room 11 or 12, as they are on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Karen G, How right you are about another summer coming to an end, we also can't believe how quickly they pass by. This has been a great summer for us and we are indeed enjoying our 10th anniversary with our guests this year. Thank you for recognising and appreciating the hard work we put into our facility and in turn sharing it with others. We also thank you for your referrals! Enjoy the rest of the summer and see you on your next visit. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hi
July 25-27, 2013
We stayed at this motel & cottage establishment which provided a very small town freindly atmosphere. The owners were very kind and helpful.
This place also provides access to BBQ and heated pool as well. There is a grocery store across from the Motel and just a few minutes walk to Sauble Beach. It was great.

We'll go back next year.

Room Tip: request room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Howard,
Thanks from both of us for taking the time to write your review. Always happy to hear when our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. We also enjoyed meeting you both and helping to make your trip to our area more enjoyable. Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you again! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The first time my husband and I spent the weekend at the Lakeview motel was in 1995. We were so impressed with the warm welcome of the owners of the motel, the cleanliness of the hotel and grounds, the pool and hot tub were an added bonus. We loved it so much that we stayed at Lakeview Motel for our Honeymoon. The summers to follow we brought all our family members to experience this home away from home atmosphere so close to the beach and everything else is so close too. The new owners Gail and Randy were just as amazing as the previous owners of the motel if not better. They made us feel like old friends they were great with our kids always smiling and so pleasant. We've always highly recommended Lakeview Motel to all our family and friends for an amazing time in Sauble Beach. Call and reserve your week or weekend at Lakeview motel you will NOT be disappointed. We are so happy to celebrate Sauble Beach as one of our family summer traditions at LAKEVIEW MOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jen M & family! Thanks so much for sharing your long time connection to Lakeview and Sauble Beach. Many visitors are making the summer visit to this area a tradition, just like yourselves! It is a part of the business we especially enjoy, reconnecting every year with guests who find the area so appealing. Thanks again and we'll see you soon. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I entered town on June 12th, 2013, via County Rd 8/Queen Street and continued to Main St., and there it was on the right, the Lakeview Motel and Cottages. We made our reservations via the Internet and understood that we were considerably PRE-Season, but were greeted with a lake view and much personal warmth, right off!

This property on Main Street is at the top of the hill about an 8 minute walk to the beach. Our accommodation was a two bedroom cottage (which is really a larger motel room with a verandah), which would accommodate 6 persons). Having visited their website, we were aware of the Rules & Regulations of the this section of the property and found them to be entirely reasonable (provide your own linens). Gail takes pains to give renters an 'original' cottage experience by haunting garages sales and antique shops for 'vintage' local cottage tchochkis and memorabilia. While the 'cottage' is in need of some updating, the owners, Gail and Randy, are in the process of doing just that. They made us feel like old friends, and provided us with a sparkling pool and use of a hot tub(which is being upgraded/replaced as we speak), comfortable lounges in the pool area, tucked in and sheltered by mature maples trees on 2 sides and the Motel/Cottages on 2 sides.

The 'Guest Lounge' offered Wi-fi , so we could keep up with our email During the Summer Season I understand that the signal is boosted and you can enjoy your computer connection at your own cottage. Cottages are individually air-conditioned and have electric heat for times when the weather is cool. Flat-screen TV was available with a fair range of stations on offer.

There are propane Barbecues available for use (you provide your own tools and do basic cleanup) and a fire-pit is put out in the early evening(after 7:00 p.m.) which encourages socializing and the campfire experience.

This little oasis is within walking distance to the Dairy Queen, Subway sandwich shop, The Gift Bowl (a converted bowling centre), the Sauble Dunes Restaurant and Bar(who's parking lot was previously the 'roller rink!'), and various clothing and surf shops. There is also an art gallery, grocery store and LCBO extremely handy. On the beach there are more food outlets, including hand-dipped ice cream, Beavertails and a burger joint.. All round wonderful location!

Room Tip: Morning sun comes in most windows. Farther off the road is quietest. Late afternoon sun hits ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello folks! Thank you for taking the time to post a nice, detailed review for future visitors to Lakeview. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as catching up on places unseen for so many years. We always say that as much as Sauble Beach has changed, it still remains so much the same! Our seasonal business has received many upgrades and improvements and continues to do so each & every year (can't believe this is our 10th anniversary!). We look forward to seeing you again in August when you return for another visit. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband, 14-year / 10-year old daughter and I decided to stay at the Lakeview Motel & Cottages for 2 nights from Fri Aug 31 to Sat Sept 1st, 2012. This was our second time staying in a motel in less then a month as we were in Tobermory for the Aug long weekend. Let's just say ... this motel stood out!

We were impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail. We used all the facilities during our 2 night stay: propane barbecues (utensils supplied if rqd), roasted marshmallows on the evening bonfires, the pool facilities (immaculate), badminton, free wi-fi, and a full size fridge/freezer. Cable TV is also available. You can tell that Randy and Gail take pride in providing their guests with a great holiday experience. I love the attention to detail; everything from the recycling bins, the hand made Lakeview booklet (tourist guide) to the hand made fridge magnet they give you as a send off gift. Randy and Gail work very hard. They are up early cleaning the motel and in bed late by the time they close the pool and bonfire.

The motel is located on the Main Street in a central area that is just far enough away from the beach where you don't have the evening noise and yet, central enough to walk to the beach within 5 minutes. We never used our vehicle during our stay and walked everywhere. The motel was well organized, clean and modern.

I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Sauble Beach. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Lorraine & Mike, Thank you for your review after your stay with us last Labour Day weekend and our apologies for the late response! Your comments and appreciation of our facility as well as acknowledgement of our work is very important to us. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both & your daughters and are looking forward to seeing you again this Labour Day weekend!
Until then, have a great summer! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband, 8-year old son and I stayed at the Lakeview Motel from Tues. Aug. 21 to Fri. Aug. 24, 2012. We had a great time. We had stayed at this motel many times before my son was born and this was our first time back.

This visit was especially good for the following reasons:

Our room was recently renovated and very comfortable and clean.

It's like a time machine. There is a pool, hot tub, 5 propane BBQ's and picnic tables. There is a full size fridge in the front portion of each room along with a table and chairs. The sheets are all hung and dry in the sunshine. Things haven't changed in 20 years plus.

Sauble Beach and Sauble Falls Provincial Park are both still beautiful and lots of fun. My son loved exploring and swimming the numerous waterfalls the best.

We will definitely be coming back to this area and staying at this motel again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Teena & Family,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your stay with us. We too enjoyed meeting you and your family, and especially sharing stories of your earlier visits to Lakeview before we purchased the business. It's nice to reminisce and share memories of the Smith family and what great folks they were! They initiated some great features, which of course we have continued, so along with the updating, renovating, & improvements, we think it's better than ever! We look forward to seeing you next year! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Address: 625 Main Street, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Main Street with the beach, amusements & shopping all at your fingertips! Clean, spacious, and modern motel & cottage units. Rates include: inground heated pool, barbeques & picnic tables, play area, bon fire pit, badminton, parking…..located in our beautiful, private setting. All units feature a/c, full size fridges, LCD colour TV’s with cable, WIFI, 4 pc bath, double,queen or king bed units. Stay & play at our resort location!Your hosts: Randy & Gail ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.