We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Olivier

L'Olivier
18 Rue de St-Maurice, La Tour-de-Peilz 1814, Switzerland
+41 21 977 07 07
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $71
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Volgograd, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best in the area ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had lunch at this place and truly enjoyed every single moment. Beautiful view, outside sitting (if the weather permits), proper table setting and unbelievable great tasting food. They have their own garden so most vegetables and herbs are fresh from it. It's quite pricy, but worth every bit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chardonne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good food,Beautiful location, and all menus items can be made Gluten Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This restaurant was a really pleasant surprise. We went as a couple on a Saturday evening.
The setting is perfect, surrounded by the fragrant flower and herb gardens of this hotel and with a stunning view of the lake and mountains.
The price is very reasonable if you take the menu (4 courses for chf 68), but rather more expensive if you order a la carte.
We also checked the kids menu, good, heathly choices and also the option of a menu (chf 25).
All items on the menu can be made gluten free, which was an amazing surprise here in Switzerland!
We'd definitely go back and next time take the kids!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good works meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with a group of work colleagues, we were 20, so unfortunately we had to stay in the ballroom.

The place is in a hotel with a nice herb garden.

The meal was set for us, we had tuna ceviche, then smoked salmon, then duck, finished with a choc cake and sorbet

Good alto and food and service

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bon_Rivage, Directeur général at L'Olivier, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Nigelandsusan,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues for this evening.
During this evening, we gave you a separate room, as per the organizer request.
We would be glad to have you back with us to discover our restaurant main dining room.

Warm regards,
L'équipe de l'Hostellerie Bon Rivage / restaurant l'Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A very good restaurant! Fabulous food and view. I had lunch and dinner there. Looking out on Geneva lake. Beautiful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A good meal in pleasant surroundings and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Upon entering the hotel the young Lady in the reception accompanied me down to the sunny and nicely decorated dining room for my lunch, which was a nice gesture.
As I was unaccompanied, I needed something to read and found several foreign daily newspapers on the table at the entry.
The Maitre d', as well as the waiter, were welcoming and professional all through the meal.
I had a Kir (vin blanc) as an aperitif (CHF 7), while studying the very varied and well designed menu.
There was a dish which intrigued me as a starter - the Trilogie de Homard. The waiter explained this dish and it showed to be exactly as explained. It consisted of 5 "tastes"; a Lobster bisque; a goose liver pate; a light Lobster Mousse; 2 pieces of cold Lobster and a mixed salad (CHF 23). It was an interesting and inventive mix, where all parts were stimulating the taste buds.
For the main dish I had the Filet de Perche, which happened to be the 'Poisson du Jour' (CHF42), and was from the lake and certainly fresh. It was served differently (not with a side portion of French Fries, as so often is the case). The outer ring was filets of the fish and the inner ring was with small, boiled potatoes, covered with thin layers of length-wise sliced carrots and cucumbers. It was simply delicious.
As I prefer red wine, I had a couple of deci's of the house wine, The Reserve Special - a local Chardonneret, which went very well with the fish (CHF13).
For dessert I had the "Paris - Brest", whatever a pastry filled with a cream of tryffle and an ice cream with an almond brittle on top, has to do with either of these cities is a mystery...but it was very good! (CHF16).
I will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivier also viewed

Vevey, Canton of Vaud
La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton of Vaud
 
La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton of Vaud
La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to L'Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Olivier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.