We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Barcarolle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Barcarolle to your Saves list
Hotel La Barcarolle
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route De Promenthoux, Prangins, Nyon District 1197, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aix-en-Provence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want classic rudeness and apathy, by some staff and certainly management, stay here. We had an apauling stay here. I incurred the wrath of serving staff because I asked for a clean plate. Management were away skiing and could not be contacted during my weekend stay. Our credit card was charged without our permission or discussion of our legitimate complaint. I will never, ever stay here again. A dated, tired, over priced, badly run establishment. A visitor centre dedicated to displaying classic rude French-Swiss rudeness.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. unfortunately we cannot find traces of your file nor the dates of your stay under your name to help us to give you the right reply. Maybe you shared the room of someone who registered under another name. I am quite chocked by your words and need to clarify the situation which seams incredable.
With my best regards.
Michèle L. E. Liechti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
21
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is a part of luxury Swiss life and you can feel it from the reception, sleeping in your room, walking in the yard and to the lake or during breakfast. Unfortunately no fitness room. The Internet is free at the whole territory of the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, Directeur général at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Google Translation
Merci pour vos compliments au sujet de notre Etablissement. Ils sont encourageants pour mes collaborateurs et moi-même et nous aident à être attentifs au confort de notre clientèle afin de leur assurer un excellent séjour.
Michèle L. E. Liechti
Directrice Générale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is simply lovely, the site is exquisite and watching the morning break from our balcony over the lake and the snow-clad peaks in the distance is magical. As was having the hotel pool to ourselves the morning we were there. Through booking.com I had a fabulous deal which made this most luxurious of my stop-over hotels one of the cheapest. The breakfast buffet was up to standard, (fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, breads, boiled eggs to cook yourself). The Bogner bathroom products were lovely and there was even hair conditioner for a nice change.
There were a few drawbacks, however: the staff were overall a bit too laid-back. I had the impression that if you were to ask, nothing would be too great an imposition. In the absence of requests, service just didn't occur to them. One staff member did distinguish himself from the rest by offering a level of service commensurate with the style of the hotel and I'm still grateful to him, it wasn't easy crossing Central Europe alone with 2 kids, one of whom had a broken arm, and it's the little services and kindnesses that make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a three-night stay, which we enjoyed. The room was good - and my wife is not easily pleased with bathrooms! From the top floor (room 304) we had a very nice view over the grass down to the lake, with the mountains rising on the other side. Strolling down to the lake-side was nice (though we felt they could actually make *much* more of the garden area). We had one very good dinner in the restaurant, and one not quite so good on a Monday (perhaps the chef was having a day off). The staff were all helpful and pleasant. The lounge and bar area is comfortable, and leads out onto a well-designed terrace overlooking the lake.
After 6:00 Jean-Pierre was playing piano in the lounge, was happy to play some Duke Ellington, and did it remarkably well. If you like that kind of thing, it is worth going just to settle in the lounge with a Negroni for a chat and listen to him.
The Orchidarium, which is walking-distance nearby, is lovely.

Room Tip: 304, for example, had an excellent view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure-Edith, General Manager at Hotel La Barcarolle, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your comments on your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed most of it. We did appreciate your remarks regarding the weaknesses in the service which helps us to improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a great small hotel, but not to small. It's easy to get to know the staff after a few days.

My room is a good size and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Lot's of quality amenities in the bathroom including a robe and slippers.

Breakfast is great - not a lot, but the right mix of everything. Sitting outside on the large patio during the summer is a pleasure. They have a great lawn that leads down to the water with a beachside bar for drinks. The rooms all have small balconies looking towards the lake, but we are set back, so don't expect a perfect view. However, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: It's outside of Nyon in a section called Prangin. It would be quite a walk, so a car is necessa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We celebrated our wedding at the Barcarolle and we were enchanted with the wedding suite which included a coffee machine and capsules, walk in closet, 2 TVs and 2 bathrooms, etc. Very nice. The view was great, right towards the lake, the "cadre" amazing.
The only negative point I would say is that it is so expensive! We got the room for free but I saw the list of prices: 350 CHF for a double room is a bit over the top :(
Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good - i was very satisfied :-))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Beside the (depending on the room very limited) view on the lake, there is no point going there. Old-fashioned, dusty rooms (bath was ok though), a TV that shos the time in such right blue color which won't let you sleep in the otherwise nice bed. The real catastrophes are the overpriced rates and the breakfast buffet (Check out the pics!!). I don't get what you pay so much money for since the facilities in the hotel are extremely limited. The young service staff is friendly but very inattentive. I had to get up and look for them when I wanted to order a second coffee. They're professionals, I'm sure, however, they seem not very well trained by the management. I do not call this a 4-star superior hotel, 3-star would be fair and honest. Additionally, getting there by public transportation is a pain since the next bus stop is a 15-min walk away and has very limited service. The connections at Nyon train station are unfortunately not very good either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Barcarolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barcarolle

Address: Route De Promenthoux, Prangins, Nyon District 1197, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Prangins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prangins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Barcarolle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Barcarolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Barcarolle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.