We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The movie atmosphere is not enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kleine Scheidegg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue des Alpes to your Saves list
Kleine Scheidegg 3801, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Turin, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The movie atmosphere is not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located on the famaous Jungfrau railway and is only reachable by that way: this gives to the place a great charm that is less appreciated if you come to know this fact when you are still on your way a few hours before the last train leaves from the railway station. The building is exactly the same you see in the movie "North Face" and it's actually quite charming in its old-fashion atmosphere. Interiors show a true sensation of prebellic time and all the staff is very kind. Unfortunately we were in a room that was defined simple but nice: it was simple but not as nice as the price should have required. Dogs are not admitted but an exeption (35 Euros each dog/day) has been made for ours and I suppose that for this expensive exeption an effort could be done not to look at them like plug-victims. Food is of good quality but not the one you expect in such a place. The selection of wines is exellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somewhere in oregon usa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying at this hotel was on my bucket list ever since I read the White Spider eons ago. I finally made it there and if I had more time I would of spent 2 weeks there, instead of 2 nights. It was wonderful to sit out on the balcony of our large room, drink beer and look at the Jungfrau. Breakfasts were ok, dinners were excellent. Loved the fact that not much has been updated, yet it didn't feel old, even though you knew the chairs in the library were ancient.

Probably not for children. The only downside for us was the 2 tour groups that arrived and were quite noisy, but the hotel can't control that. We loved it anyway!!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 75, very large with a huge balcony. I'd definitely recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I should say this was one of the most singular experiences we had when we visited to the hotel. The classical rooms, great food, fantabulous views great hiking and walking trails etc etc.. The stay comes with dinner included since the last train that you can catch to the hotel is around 5 pm at interlaken ost which is the only negative but that is because it lies in the foot of the Eiger... i would recommend this hotel straight thumbs up anyone who wants to have great swiss experience. It is expensive but considering the location, services and food , the stay is worth more than the money. The hotel has a nice reading room, small pool table and very nice attenders and bar tenders who are always there when you need something. On the whole, this is not a typical hotel and strongly recommended if you want to stay and enjoy the place.
There are only two negatives i can think off. One, the booking can only be done through email and you cannot check them online. The second which is more of an advantage considering the location which helps you go around for a walk and enjoy the nature in the evenings. It is that you should take the 5 pm train to kleine scheidegg hotel if u want to be there in the evening as it is the last train otherwise, you are on your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

At, approximately, a 2500 m altitude, the resonance of things change but I was taken aback by the beauty of the location, overlooking the valley and facing the creek Eiger: at a distance from one of the highest trains stations in Europe, stands this hotel, majestically. The von Almn family is present and talks to you about the breakfast-terrace in the early morning sun or the skiing in early February. The Bellevue-Des Alpes is run with grace by the von Almen family who discreetly extend advice and share their experiences of the place. Great location for hikes and walks. In the evening, in the restaurant, the rhythm changes and everything feels quite special. From the dining area, you overlook the majestic valley and, rain or shine, you know you are in an exceptional spot, far away from generic time and goings about. By myself, I had a valuable time, three evenings in a row, watching night settling in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is situated on a saddle on the Kleine Scheidegg, at 2064 meters, above Wengen and Grindelwald. First established in 1840, the hotel has gone through several make-overs whilst attracting the new tourist classes hungry to experience the mountains so close to the hotel. The closest and most dramatic is the famous/infamous Eiger with its vertical north face. Next to it sits the Moench which is situated next to the Jungfrau. In 1905 there was a project to take the train through the mountains from outside the hotel through the Eiger into its neighbour to rise up to the Jungfraujoch. Though closed during WW1, the hotel became the attraction for the Roaring Twenties & Thirties. This was the era for the great climbing teams, and the English skiers walking up to the Lauberhorn and racing down into Wengen or Grindelwald. This is when it had its major facelift. The black marble fireplace, the Persian rugs in the reception hall, matched by oil paintings of the surrounding mountains by famous artists hanging on the panelled walls of the sitting room. The comfy armchairs and sofas, the writing desks, all there to invite the guest. The present owners, Andreas & Sylvia von Almen, have treated this historical hotel with great sensitivity, conserving the old-world character whilst bringing the essentials up to date. The service is attentive and considerate at all times, particularly under the watchful eye of the maitre d'hotel, Erwin. Evening meals are fine dining, supplemented by a Swiss salad buffet. The hotel nestles under the face of the Eiger, a perfect starting point for skiers, hikers and those who just want to relax on the terrace on a warm sunny day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west look out onto the Moench and Jungfrau. Rooms looking out to the east will have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no hotel like this anywhere for a skiing holiday. This hotel is beautifully restored, comfortable and warm considering it is at the top of the ski lifts and was built at the turn of the 20th century. The service is excellent and cannot be faulted and the food is exceptional too. If you are looking for fast computer networking and latest in television technology, then this is not the hotel for you. Long may it remain this way and not change. This is a very unique place to have a holiday in both the Winter and the Summer. It is an equally wonderful place to stay if hiking in the Alps during the Summer months. We have done both and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the Jungfrau mountain and the other side faces the Grindelwald valley wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stepping through the revolving door for the first time you are immediately swept away into a previous century. With the Eiger as the backdrop the nostalgia and history is simply overwhelming. Any review on tripadvisor will not do it justice and it will only have to be experienced first hand to fully appreciate this magnificent hotel. The pistes at the breathtaking Kleine Scheidegge is just a small bonus to the emotional sensation of discovering something from a past century.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue des Alpes

Address: Kleine Scheidegg 3801, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Kleine Scheidegg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kleine Scheidegg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.