We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esther's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Esther's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Esther's Guesthouse
Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Super clean place, modern and comfortable. Free wifi. Esther was very kind and willing to make our stay comfortable. We booked room #2, slightly small for our likings but nevertheless had a breathtaking view and was super clean. Some rules posted like "please clean your dishes after use" or "please no showers after 11:30pm"...they all make sense and you can be glad she posted them since you are sharing this guesthouse with a few other guests. The shared bathroom wasn't too bad since we only shared with another room. Get the breakfast (with homemade alp cheese, homemade bread, etc.), it was well worth the 15 CHF.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
68
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Beautiful town and B&B.
Our room was clean, the food was fresh, and the people were friendly.

Do not need to go much into detail here... get the breakfast, it is amazing! It is food from her farm.

Hike, take in the scenery, pick wildflowers, and eat CHOCOLATE!

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast is a tad expensive
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The guesthouse is a neat, clean and friendly-looking place. Rooms are original and cozy, the location is perfect.
However, there are many, many rules (such as: always clean the kitchen after you use it but do NOT use it after 10 pm / do not shower for more than 3 min / remove your shoes before entering the house / do not use the lounge after 10 pm etc etc) which must be obeyed - otherewise you get to know Esther's apparently uncontrollable temper which might spoil your vacation to a considerable extent.
But should you have a secret affinity for rules and orders and maybe for funny games of guilt and atonement, do not hesitate to book your room as soon as possible....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed in Room 5 over Christmas. It was a bit too 'rustic' for my tastes. But over Christmas, Esther's is the only game in town (if you want to stay in Gimmelwald, that is.) I also don't see what the big deal is about her breakfast. Then again, I've never understood the allure of the European 'cold' breakfast. Another thing... there's a sign in the bathroom asking you not to use the hot water for more than THREE MINUTES. Just what you want to hear after being outside playing in the snow all day. :)

Anyway, it got the job done. But I was happy to leave there this morning. On the plus side some of the other guests we met there were pretty interesting and the town of Gimmelwald itself (and the entire area) was absolutely beautiful!

  • Liked — location; close proximity to the Gondola station
  • Disliked — Bathroom was not in room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Everyone on here has already said what a wonderful place this is, and I'll just second it. The Esthers (yes, there are two) are friendly and helpful, and we even ran into one of them on a long hike we were doing!

I do have a couple of different things to add, based on the fact that we were travelling with our 8 month old twins and two dogs. She has only one babycot, so bring another bed if you have more than one child who needs one. We stayed in 2-bedroom Apartment A, and it was chilly at night (even in July!). Since it was summer, the heat wasn't turned on, so if you're planning a family trip in the summer, bring enough warm pajamas for everyone. We brought our dogs too (we're living in Zurich right now), and we were a test case for her. She'd previously had a guest that allowed their dogs to tear up the place, and she had to redo many of the walls. So, she tentatively accepts dogs now, but wants to make sure they behave.

Apartment A has a full kitchen with fridge, so we bought breakfast from her little store every morning (which was also amazingly tasty). We did go upstairs for coffee, and it seems like a fun experience to chat with other guests over breakfast.

Wonderful experience, thanks Esther!

  • Liked — The view out our window in the morning - breathtaking!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Esther's B&B was spotless, had high-quality rooms and beds, and provided the best homemade breakfast I have ever had. Americans will appreciate the generous cups of coffee. Each morning, Esther made bread and yogurt and also had homemade cheeses and meats available. Not to mention the more-than-ideal location: small town in the Alps, gorgeous views, and not overcrowded. We also enjoyed chatting with (most of) the other guests around mealtime. :) We did not want to leave and can't wait to come back someday!

  • Liked — Clean, safe, ideal location, food, attentive owner
  • Disliked — Nothing major
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Gimmelwald was the last stay after three weeks in Paris, Rome, Florence, and Cinque Terre. Gimmelwald and Esther's were the highlight of our trip.

We stayed in Apartment B which is on the 2nd level and has it's own private balcony. Apartment A does not, I believe. The balcony had fabulous views of the mountains. Having our meals at the dining table out there was heavenly. We really enjoyed having a kitchen to cook in. It was great to have some home cooked meals and we saved a ton of money vs. eating in restaurants. The equipment was so nice I commented it was like staying in someone's actual home--not your usual rental kitchen set up.

The whole place was very neat and clean and even though there is a common area, it was never noisy. If it weren't so far from home, I'd go to Esther's and Gimmelwald every year.

The pictures on their website are very accurate if you want to see what it looks like.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not one thing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esther's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esther's Guesthouse

Address: Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Esther's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Guesthouse Hotel Gimmelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esther's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.