We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esther's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Esther's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esther's Guesthouse
Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our family of 4 adults spent 5 nights at Esther's Guesthouse, and it was everything I had hoped for and much more. Esther greeted us on arrival and provided much helpful advice on what to see and do. We were in Apt. B, and it was wonderful, great view of the mountains right from the room and private deck. Very comfortable and extremely clean. Beautiful flower garden and handing baskets on the porch, just perfect. Gimmelwald is a very special place, the scenery is spectacular and the people are so friendly. A trip of a lifetime, can't wait to go back!

Adamo Family, USA

Room Tip: We loved Apt. B spacious, great deck with wonderful view, kitchen and more than enough room for 4 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
54
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest Park, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful guesthouse! We stayed in room 6, a large room that can sleep up to 4 people. I was traveling with my husband, my brother, and my sister. A perk was there was one double bed for the couple, and two separate single beds for my siblings, so everyone had a good sleeping arrangement. The room was very clean and had a nice private bathroom with good water pressure and hot water in the shower, although guests are asked to turn off the water while soaping, shampooing, etc. We had two nice windows with a great view of the mountains, and a Gimmelwald is such a quiet village at night we could leave both open with no noise issues. Franzi was the staff member we worked with during our stay, and she was so helpful and sweet, and an absolute pleasure to work with.
The 15 franc breakfast was very good and had a large assortment of different foods typical in the region (bread, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, etc). I found it was worth the money, but I'm not sure there are many other options in Gimmelwald to be honest. For dinner we ate one night at the hostel and one night at the Pension restaurant in between Esther's and the hostel. Both nights I had fondue, and the restaurant's was by far superior to that from the hostel. Note for fondue at the restaurant, you must make prior arrangements.
I would also highly recommend the trip to the Schilthorn, and hiking to the Kilchbalm. Both awesome experiences. It's hard to believe how beautiful Gimmelwald is!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Esther's Guesthouse in Gimmelwald Switzerland. It is a tiny town high in the mountains with 150 residents. It is a great place to hike from. You can rent bikes in Murren and bike down the mountain and take the tram back up. The breakfast was not included but well worth the cost. Our room was spacious and wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

At the recommendation of a colleague, my family booked three rooms at Esther's Guesthouse in early October. While the weather may have been uncooperative, the service, friendliness and value of our B&B was anything but. Great breakfasts, wonderful views and a constant smile from Francie made Esther's Guesthouse a must see.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My daughter and I returned from our journey to to Berner Oberland Region of Switzerland a couple of days ago - what a great time we had!

We spent 4 days at Esther's Guesthouse in Gimmelwald. We had Apartment B and it could have easily accomodated another 2 or 3 people. The location was excellent, only a couple of minutes from the cable car station. The beds were very comfortable and we had our own bathroom with a great shower and lots of hot water. The deck overlooked the mountains and I wish we could have had more time to just sit there and enjoy the view. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and dishes, pots and pans- everything needed to do your own cooking which we did do for breakfasts and lunches.
The apartment also had a large living room with table, 2 couches, television and board games in addition to the many brochures describing things to do in the region.
Esther does provide a hearty breakfast for 15.00 Swiss Francs per person, per day and we did take advantage of this on one of our days and really enjoyed it.
There are many hikes within easy reach of Esthers and we did do 3 while we were there. We are hoping to return next year and this time, we will spend our whole time in the area at Esther's Guesthouse.
I highly recommend this beautiful place and Esther, herself, is a lovely lady.

Room Tip: Book directly through Esther's Guesthouse website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented Apartment A, and it was perfect. It is within 50 meters of the cable car station so it was no problem to get our luggage to our room. We had our own large deck where we spent hours just looking at the scenery. With our own kitchen we were able to cook and eat all of the delicious food we had picked up on the way there. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Esther's has the three things I look for while on vacation: clean rooms, bathrooms & kitchen, centrally located to transport, and safe. And the views aren't bad either. Esther has a great breakfast and we either make our own supper or eat at the Hostel - they have good pizza.

Room Tip: Book early because rooms are in high demand and sometimes sell out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esther's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esther's Guesthouse

Address: Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Esther's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Guesthouse Hotel Gimmelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esther's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.