We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Esther's Guesthouse Already"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esther's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Esther's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Esther's Guesthouse
Kirchstatt, Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Missing Esther's Guesthouse Already"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My daughter and I returned from our journey to to Berner Oberland Region of Switzerland a couple of days ago - what a great time we had!

We spent 4 days at Esther's Guesthouse in Gimmelwald. We had Apartment B and it could have easily accomodated another 2 or 3 people. The location was excellent, only a couple of minutes from the cable car station. The beds were very comfortable and we had our own bathroom with a great shower and lots of hot water. The deck overlooked the mountains and I wish we could have had more time to just sit there and enjoy the view. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and dishes, pots and pans- everything needed to do your own cooking which we did do for breakfasts and lunches.
The apartment also had a large living room with table, 2 couches, television and board games in addition to the many brochures describing things to do in the region.
Esther does provide a hearty breakfast for 15.00 Swiss Francs per person, per day and we did take advantage of this on one of our days and really enjoyed it.
There are many hikes within easy reach of Esthers and we did do 3 while we were there. We are hoping to return next year and this time, we will spend our whole time in the area at Esther's Guesthouse.
I highly recommend this beautiful place and Esther, herself, is a lovely lady.

Room Tip: Book directly through Esther's Guesthouse website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
69
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented Apartment A, and it was perfect. It is within 50 meters of the cable car station so it was no problem to get our luggage to our room. We had our own large deck where we spent hours just looking at the scenery. With our own kitchen we were able to cook and eat all of the delicious food we had picked up on the way there. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Esther's has the three things I look for while on vacation: clean rooms, bathrooms & kitchen, centrally located to transport, and safe. And the views aren't bad either. Esther has a great breakfast and we either make our own supper or eat at the Hostel - they have good pizza.

Room Tip: Book early because rooms are in high demand and sometimes sell out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Third time in Gimmelwald and staying at Esther's Guesthouse. One of the loveliest places to visit and the best place to stay. Apartment A was roomy and spotless, and lounging on the deck after a day of hiking is priceless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a lovely 4 day visit in Gimmelwald and so enjoyed staying at Esther's Guesthouse. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. We used the large kitchen several nights to make our own dinners. Plenty of room to make your own food or to enjoy the lovely breakfasts if desired. Our double room had a drop- dead view of the mountains and was quiet and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The guesthouse was just steps from the cable car station, the room we reserved was a triple room with a shared bathroom, and room size was ok. The room itself was colorful and joyful with a view of the mountains. There was no AC, but actually we felt that there was no need for it. The shared bathroom was spotless clean, since all of the guests stick to Mrs. Esther’s sharp rules , the rooms as well as the rest of the hotel’s interior were really very clean. This partly relates to the fact that Mrs. Esther’s recommends moving inside with the slippers she offers. The guesthouse house had a clean kitchen with good utensils and a big fridge that all guests can use. The guesthouse lobby was a warm place were guests from different nationalities interact. The breakfast room is cozy. we took our breakfast in the guesthouse once , where Mrs. Esther served eggs , cheese , bread , jam , milk , yogurt , cereals , honey , cocoa , tea coffee and cold cuts
.as regards the location the guesthouse is in the heart of Gimmelwald very close to other landmarks such as Gimmelwald pension and the mountain hostel where you can enjoy lunch or dinner
The place is an excellent starting point for visiting the near by cities and attractions such as Murren , lauterbrunnen , schilthorn and Jungfrau
The place is also a good starting point for many hiking trails . we tried the one to Murren , it was really awesome
The price was almost affordable
The only cons were
That breakfast is served ONLY at 8 SHARP
There was no safe box or mini bar in the room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Esther's Guesthouse is simply lovely. We were lucky to stay in Room 6, normally a triple, so we paid a bit more, but the views were absolutely spectacular. The room has an in-suite bath with a small shower. Bring your own shampoos/ toiletries; otherwise just all-in-one shower gel provided with small bar soap. Some (thin) towels are provided. The place is absolutely spotless. It's a great location from which to hike into the forests on a well-maintained trail, or a jumping-off point to Murren, which has the area's closest grocery. Wireless Internet access and communal computer available. Breakfast is filling, costs extra, and is delicious: warm breads, local cheeses and ham, yogurt, sliced fruit, hard-boiled eggs, muesli, jams and butter, tea, coffee and juice - a great start for a day of hiking.

Room Tip: We liked Room 6 on the 3rd floor, but it's up several flights of stairs if you have heavy luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esther's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esther's Guesthouse

Address: Kirchstatt, Gimmelwald CH 3826, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Esther's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Guesthouse Hotel Gimmelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esther's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.