We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Save
You added Hotel Mittaghorn to your Saves list
Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Saratoga,CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay at Walters was out of this world. Tim was a phenomenal host, he answered all our questions and told hilarious stories at dinner. Walter cooks dinner for 15 francs a night, which is very reasonable. The food is delicious and we had the best time talking with other travelers about all sorts of things. The rooms are spacious and all have outstanding views. The beds are probably the comfortable beds I've slept on. The shared bathroom down the hall is clean and wasn't a problem. The showers cost 1 franc for 5 minutes of hot water, which is plenty enough. The included breakfast is simple, but enough to start you on your day. There are some cranky sheep right next to the hotel that make the funniest noises, we enjoyed them. Walters was the best hotel we stayed in out of our three week vacation in Europe, i can see why Rick Steves recommends it. Thank you Tim and Walter for wonderful hospitality, i can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

After stumbling across this little village in the alps after an episode of Rick Steves, my g/f and I decided to stay at the Hotel Mittaghorn for it's reasonable rates. We didn't assume much from this place and figured it was just a nice bed to sleep in, but we received hospitality, socialization and experiences that well exceeded out expectations.

Tim was a fantastic host, and was there to answer any questions you had; from places to eat, to trails to hike, activities to do and general culture of the area. He also has a wealth of stories and experiences to share, and my favorite part of the day would be sitting at dinner at a communal table and listening to tim share his stories about the locals, happenings in the area, and curiosities that you'd never find in any guide book. Tim helped us find a great hike, rainy day activities in the valley and an unforgettable 30 min. paragliding adventure.

A big part of the Hotel Mittaghorn "experience" is the nightly dinners. 15CHF might seem a lot for a rotating dinner, but the food was pleasant, tasty and (according to Tim) the most affordable meal in Switzerland. There aren't too many places int he village to "go out" for dinner, and a meal in the valley would cost you at LEAST 45CHF. Not only is the dinner reasonable, but having dinner at the communal table is a great chance to talk with Tim and other travelers. My g/f and I loved sitting back, laughing and chatting every night.

As far as the rooms, they were perfect for us. Comfy bed, warm sheets, clean towels and a view that unparalleled to any other in Europe. While coin feeding a shower seemed a little odd, the water was warm and readily available.

We chose the Hotel Mittaghorn over the local hostel, and while we payed a little more for having a private room, we felt like the social experience and hospitality that Tim and Walter extended to us was well worth the negligible price difference.

I you're planning a trip to Switzerland, an extended stay with Tim and Walter at the Hotel Mittaghorn is a must.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

After reading much about the Hotel Mittaghorn I was concerned it wouldnt live up to our expectations but it did. If you are looking for a very remote village with million dollar views, Gimmelwald is the place and Mittaghorn is the hotel. As others have said, Tim was very helpful in answering any questions we had. While I was apprehensive about the rotating dinner menu, my husband accidentally told Walter that we would be eating dinner that night when he called to reconfirm our room. And Im so glad he did! At 15 chf, not only was it a steal, it was delicious! We ended up eating the other menu the second night of our stay. Soup, a main course, dessert, and wine. We are still talking about the yummy cream of leek soup (if you are reading this Tim, I emailed you for the recipe. Please send it my way!). The best part about the meals was meeting the other guests. We actually were seated next to a couple from my husbands hometown all the way in Texas! Both nights we enjoyed several hours of conversation with Tim and the other guests. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin! Our second night there was a giant family with several small children staying in the room next to us and we could hear them screaming, playing, etc. Also we noticed that the two rooms on either side of us had balconies while ours only had a window so perhaps request a room with balcony (not sure if they are more money). Also come with a supply of 1 chf coins. You will need them for the hot water in the shower!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here Sept 2011. Spent 1 night. Was such a lovely stay. The view from our room was breathtaking. Tim, the host, was extremely helpful in planning hikes. We loved the Swiss breakfast the next morning.
That night, it was hard for us to go to sleep. We had the window open and the view of the glacier with moon over it was too beautiful. Hard to close our eyes. Would stay again. We want to come back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is so simple and relaxing. It attracts a clientele with amazing interests and experiences to share. And Tim, the manager, is simply a class act.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is one of those special places. Let's start:

1. Lovely wooden house, creaky, cosy and with amazing views.
2. Staff is so special, friendly, honest and trustworthy.
3. They donate revenue to a community project in latin america. Amazing what they do.
4. Price for staying including breakfast and dinner so good and cheap.

DEfinitely going back, is one of those u never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This quirky little lodge was the coolest and most comfortable place I've ever been and I didn't want to leave! It was a pleasure talking to Walter, and Tim is the friendliest and most helpful host ever! Gimmelwald is like this hidden gem of a place and the views from this hotel make you want to do nothing but stare out the window. Thanks Walter and Tim for the most memorable 3 days of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mittaghorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.