We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel for young parents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Campagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Campagnola to your Saves list
Hotel La Campagnola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campagnola 12 | above San Nazzaro, Vairano 6575, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vairano
Apples, Switzerland
1 review
“Perfect family hotel for young parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

In my opinion, La Campagnola is the perfect family hotel for young parents. Family oriented hotels can be quite boring for the parents, which is definitely not the case here. If you want your kids to be safe and have fun but you also want to feel "cool around the pool", this is the place to come and chill out. The breakfast buffet is probably the best I've ever enjoyed. You can see and taste the effort that goes into it. The view from the terraces is awesome and the rooms are fully equipped. The staff is friendly and the blues band plays excellent groovy, mellow music. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    11
    9
    0
See reviews for
44
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked with La Campagnola based on all the good reviews in here. In theory it's all great: plenty of space, nice views, live music, a selection of pools, restaurants, playgrounds, outdoor games, pets, a playroom and everything else that has slipped my mind. And really, the views, pools and all other outdoor things are nice indeed. As is the live music. But, well let's start with the rooms, or the studios. They are outdated, very basic, equipped with cheap furniture and, worst of all, not clean even when you arrive. Then, the reach of the wifi network is limited, so if your room is a bit away from reception or restaurants you can't connect. Whether you enquire about this at the time of booking does not really seem to matter. That leads me to the front desk staff who are, with one exception, lacking enthusiasm, service mentality and local knowledge. As for the restaurants, the waiters are attentive, friendly and helpful, but the food frankly is nothing special. Finally, the lady who was in charge of the kids' program was mostly busy babysitting the owner's daughter. Maybe all my negative experiences are due to the fact that we visited in June, at the beginning of the season. Still a bit of a letdown.

Room Tip: want wifi? book close to reception or restaurants. want a nice room? book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent two nights here. Wonderful, helpful staff at this resort, couldn't be more attentive. Superb lake views. We had a studio apartment which was very comfortable without frills, large patio with table and chairs. Spotlessly clean room with plenty of hot water for showering, beds were good and well-equipped kitchen with stove/oven and microwave plus a coffee machine. Food at the restaurant was good.
Shuttle service from station whenever needed.

Room Tip: We had room 30. This was a last minute booking, located at the end of a building, quiet but with par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were in a spacious very clean studio, kitchen with 4 cooking places-fully equipped, and we had a very big balcony with a beautiful view of the Lago Maggiore. We did not use the kitchen as in our reservation the plentiful breakfast was included.
Staff very kind and helpful even at the pool they served us. Hotel has 2 pools from which one was heated up to 28°C which was a treat at the beginning of April.
Hotel has music theme evenings and the best we found the evening with the Blues Connection;an Italian Duo which played high standard Blues and Folk. We had a table grill dinner and it was more then good. All food was very good. Further the more you are free to eat were you want: either inside or on the beautiful terrace.
We stayed 3 nights and will definitely be back. They also have a wellness program

Room Tip: No noisy rooms/ 1st and 2nd floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We spent an amazing week here at the end of August. We had had a lovely one bedroom apartment with a balcony. The view from the balcony of Lake Maggiore was stunning. The hotel was set up in the hills above the lake so there were stunning views every where. The grounds were beautifully manicured with wonderful flowers and shrubs in abundance. There is a great botanical garden within a short walk. Although the apartment had full kitchen facilities, we opted for the half board option and were very impressed with the food. We were the only vegetarians, but the chefs in both the grotto and the restaurant went out of their way to prepare inventive, delicious and beautifully presented food for us. In particular the chef at the grotto was really keen to make sure that everything was just right for us. The meat dishes looked equally well presented and were appreciated by the other guests. The serving staff were were very efficient and friendly.
It was a great hotel for children with a pool right next to the dining area so that we could leisurely finish our meal whilst we kept an eye on our children (7 and 9) as they swam in the pool. There was a great mini golf course which the whole family enjoyed. There was live music on several evenings and afternoons which was of a very high standard.
We made a few trips into San Nazzaro and to some of the other lake side towns (e.g. Luino and Ascona) but mostly chilled out at the hotel. Great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vairano
1.7 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 33 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castello Del Sole
Castello Del Sole
#1 of 33 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Orselina
Villa Orselina
#1 of 2 in Orselina
5.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#6 of 33 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parkhotel Delta
Parkhotel Delta
#15 of 33 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Arancio
#20 of 33 in Ascona
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Campagnola

Address: Via Campagnola 12 | above San Nazzaro, Vairano 6575, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Vairano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vairano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Campagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Campagnola – a “pearl” of breathtaking views over the Lago Maggiore, surrounded by Mediterranean gardens. Enjoy the deserved rest away from everyday life and immerse yourself in a holiday world, where top service, quality, attractive prices and children are top priority.We are looking forward to welcoming you!Family Stefano & Nicole Zoppè & team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Campagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Campagnola Switzerland/Vairano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Campagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.