We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the hills above Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cantonale, Cademario 6936, Switzerland   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cademario
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Luxury in the hills above Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel has been tastefully renovated in 2013. The location is wonderful overlooking Lake Lugano and is ideal for hiking trips.
The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. If you have the choice do not take room 129 on the 1st floor, which is located right above the kitchen. Food odors enter the room.
We had a light dinner in the bar, the food and wines were excellent.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice post.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you appreciated our newly renovated style and were captured by the our lake view.
We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room. During our closing – phase from 14th to 30th January 2014, we will try to improve our ventilation system to avoid food odors in the room.

With the hope of welcoming you back at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your contribution to improve our service.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
53
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located 3 hours away by Car from Zurich, at the hilly village of Cademario, the drive was quite challenging but the view was priceless. The Hotel's Highlights: Spacious room with the breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, large balcony, the lovely decoration and interiors, the relaxing DOT Spa with its huge an modern spa, outdoor pool overlooking the lake, the friendly and attentive service at the restaurant and at the bar (La Terazza & La Cucina), food and beverages are surprisingly reasonably priced (they were of very good quality and tasty) and the free non-alcoholic beverages at the mini bar. On the other hand, Kurhaus Cademario's Lowlights were the renovation at the garden (we weren't able to check it out to have a walk) plus the reception when we arrived could have been friendlier. We were fortunate enough to be the very first guests at the hotel right after the major renovation. The Infrastructure of the hotel was immaculate. It was not fully booked. Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa is definitely one of favorite Hotels in Switzerland and we are coming back. Thank you for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your visit and to have given us your precious impressions.
We are very happy to hear that our renovated Kurhaus Cademario is now one of your favorite Hotel in Switzerland. We appreciated very much your comments regarding the Restaurant and the DOT.Spa.
We took note as well of the lowlights you mentioned. It’s a pleasure to receive positive comments, but we are at your disposal for any feedback you might want to share with us. It is thank to your help that we learn and discover how to improve and provide a better service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Kurhaus Cademario is a lovely gem hidden in Ticino's Lugano region. We went there on the weekend of 14-15th of December, and the weather was absolutely beautiful - the hotel is surrounded by great hiking paths, so we were able to see a lot of the amazing scenery. The hotel and SPA itself is stunning - the decor and style are absolutely up my alley, as I am somewhat of an architecture buff and Cademario took my breath away. The staff are lovely, speak English, French, Italian, German and I wouldn't be surprised if many more languages, they are very friendly and the atmosphere they create complements the style of the hotel very well. The SPA is almost luxurious, all facilities brand new and amazing. We haven't been able to try the cuisine, but the breakfast was fantastic. An absolute must when in Lugano area- the views from the restaurant terrace are to die for!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kurhaus Cademario and appreciated our newly renovated style as well as our DOT.Spa.
It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your holiday. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear your compliments as our main goal is to let the client feel like at home. All our staff try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Kurhaus Cademario was completely renovated and reopened in May 2013. Spa, rooms, pool, restaurants, everything is new! The style of the hotel is comfortable - you feel like at home. The breathtaking view is the most spectacular unique selling propostion of the hotel. From the hotel you have very nice opportunities for hiking trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our newly renovated style.
We are glad to know that you felt comfortable. It is a great satisfaction for us, as our main philosophy is to let the client feel like at home. We try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards,

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

None of the hotels in the town of Lugano appeared attractive, unless and of course, youre only here to squirrel away your hand earned finances into its established banks, or lose it in the casinos.
Lugano is not a particularly attractive place to visit, compared to other towns and villages dotting the lake shoreline, and my weekend break was intended to be enjoyed relaxing, enjoying the spectacular landscapes, wine, and food. This I was able to achieve by staying in this newly renovated hillside Spa hotel.
In typically Swiss style, uncomplicated designs, finest materials, and a cuisine to support this, made our stay a delight. The rooms are very well appointed, to very high standards...nothing was missing. Spa facilities are reasonably priced, and of very high standard. The hotel of course offers all the usual services, like airport transfer, taxi, consierge.
Although a bit secluded, and not too easy to find due to poor signposting, we were glad to have made the choice of staying here. Its a good stepping off point for rambles in the hills, passing small villages, stopping for refreshment, and simply enjoying the good life.

Room Tip: A room facing the Lago is by far the best option...at the end of the day, the views are better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was recently completely refurbished. Great attention to details and harmony with nature. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, modern spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pool and spacious treatment cabins. Spectacular view on the lake and Lugano region. Access road narrow and bendy, not very easy to find. Good for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a long trip in Europe and seeing many hotels, this was a perfect way of ending our trip. The road to the hotel was not easy but once we arrived the friendliness, attention and the warm feeling given by the staff was just great! The room was cozy and had everything you might need...not to talk about the spa which has a very good concept. The restaurant has a beautiful view over the Lugano lake, something to enjoy as long as you can. We will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Don't miss the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the warmly and friendly manner of our staff made you feel comfortable.
We are happy to give your compliments as well to them which will bring a great satisfactions.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Lugano
Address: Via Cantonale, Cademario 6936, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Cademario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cademario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa is completely renovated and offers magnificent view of the Lake Lugano. Cademario is one of the sunniest spots in Switzerland and is just 12 km from Lugano away.Situated in an extensive 3 ha park grounds, the hotel includes 82 rooms and suites, two restaurants, a bar, conference and banqueting rooms, various terraces with panoramic view and the 2.200 m² DOT.Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, VerticalBooking, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.