We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing, romantic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Kurhaus, Cademario 6936, Switzerland   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
O Sole Mio
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cademario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An amazing, romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Kurhaus Cademario is a lovely gem hidden in Ticino's Lugano region. We went there on the weekend of 14-15th of December, and the weather was absolutely beautiful - the hotel is surrounded by great hiking paths, so we were able to see a lot of the amazing scenery. The hotel and SPA itself is stunning - the decor and style are absolutely up my alley, as I am somewhat of an architecture buff and Cademario took my breath away. The staff are lovely, speak English, French, Italian, German and I wouldn't be surprised if many more languages, they are very friendly and the atmosphere they create complements the style of the hotel very well. The SPA is almost luxurious, all facilities brand new and amazing. We haven't been able to try the cuisine, but the breakfast was fantastic. An absolute must when in Lugano area- the views from the restaurant terrace are to die for!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kurhaus Cademario and appreciated our newly renovated style as well as our DOT.Spa.
It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your holiday. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear your compliments as our main goal is to let the client feel like at home. All our staff try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
120
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Kurhaus Cademario was completely renovated and reopened in May 2013. Spa, rooms, pool, restaurants, everything is new! The style of the hotel is comfortable - you feel like at home. The breathtaking view is the most spectacular unique selling propostion of the hotel. From the hotel you have very nice opportunities for hiking trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our newly renovated style.
We are glad to know that you felt comfortable. It is a great satisfaction for us, as our main philosophy is to let the client feel like at home. We try to establish a direct contact with our guests by maintaining at the same time our competence.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Best regards,

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

None of the hotels in the town of Lugano appeared attractive, unless and of course, youre only here to squirrel away your hand earned finances into its established banks, or lose it in the casinos.
Lugano is not a particularly attractive place to visit, compared to other towns and villages dotting the lake shoreline, and my weekend break was intended to be enjoyed relaxing, enjoying the spectacular landscapes, wine, and food. This I was able to achieve by staying in this newly renovated hillside Spa hotel.
In typically Swiss style, uncomplicated designs, finest materials, and a cuisine to support this, made our stay a delight. The rooms are very well appointed, to very high standards...nothing was missing. Spa facilities are reasonably priced, and of very high standard. The hotel of course offers all the usual services, like airport transfer, taxi, consierge.
Although a bit secluded, and not too easy to find due to poor signposting, we were glad to have made the choice of staying here. Its a good stepping off point for rambles in the hills, passing small villages, stopping for refreshment, and simply enjoying the good life.

Room Tip: A room facing the Lago is by far the best option...at the end of the day, the views are better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was recently completely refurbished. Great attention to details and harmony with nature. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, modern spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pool and spacious treatment cabins. Spectacular view on the lake and Lugano region. Access road narrow and bendy, not very easy to find. Good for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a long trip in Europe and seeing many hotels, this was a perfect way of ending our trip. The road to the hotel was not easy but once we arrived the friendliness, attention and the warm feeling given by the staff was just great! The room was cozy and had everything you might need...not to talk about the spa which has a very good concept. The restaurant has a beautiful view over the Lugano lake, something to enjoy as long as you can. We will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Don't miss the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the warmly and friendly manner of our staff made you feel comfortable.
We are happy to give your compliments as well to them which will bring a great satisfactions.

We look forward to welcome you soon again at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

Sunny greetings from Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a Eupean vacation which included 2 nights at the Kurhaus Cademario. We had reservations about booking Kurhaus due to limited reviews and concerns that recent renovations would not be completed. but we are so pleased that we took a chance and booked it as our stay was amazing!!! The entire hotel has been completely renovated inside and out and all renovations are completed asides from some landscaping in the back garden. We booked a two night "Come back Special" which included a 5 course meal and we were welcomed with prosecco at check in.

Our room was immaculate and clean. We chose the superior lake front room rather than the deluxe as the view was most important to us. Our view of the lake from our balcony was exactly as pictured on the hotel website. The room was spacious with modern amenities including an interactive personalized television. It's very eco-friendly so some of the air conditioning controls took some getting used to but nothing too complicated. They even provide an outdoor cushion for the lounge chair. MIni bar includes a few basic drinks which is nice after paying for bottled water all throughout Europe.

The Spa facilities were immaculate; we spent a lot of time in the "waterworld" which had many hidden surprises including different types of jacuzzi's which start at the touch of a button. There were atleast 12 differnt types of jets located in various areas. The brine which is a salt water pool has both a warm and cold areas and is also eqipped with various jets. The pool is an indoor/outdoor pool and lounge chairs and umbrellas are available. We chose not to explore the nude sauna facilities. The outdoor pool behind the hotel also was completed asides from the surrounding vegetation as mentioned.I planned to purchase a spa service but ran out of time.

The restaurant was second to none and definitly our best dinner of our week and a half vacation throughout Europe. The 5 course tasting menu was predetermined but the staff was accomodating to my needs and allowed substitutions from the restaurant menu which was truely appreciated. We enjoyed salad, soup, a 1st and 2nd course as well as dessert. All courses were gourmet and the service was exceptional. The head waiter spoke several languages and was friendly and accomodating. We could not have been treated better. Our outside table had an immaculate view of the lake below us. Buffet breakfast including eggs and bacon was included each morning and we ate soup and salad in ther bar area the 2nd night of our stay. The food was absolutely delicious.

I highly recommend this superb establishment. The drive to get there includes several winding miles uphill but the view is worth it. We had a car but surprisingly the bus seems to run very frequently. If traveling by car, take a short drive to Menaggio where you can take a ferry to several lovely lakeside towns including Bellagio. Nearby Lugano looked very crowded, busy and was under construction in many areas - you are much better off enjoying the peace and tranquility of the Kurhauss Cademario where you can be pampered and soak in the beauty of the mountans and lakes below you.

Room Tip: 4th floor Lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your fantastic comment.
It is a great satisfaction for us to hear that you spent such a wonderful time with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we will see you back soon at the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I together with my girlfriend spent a few relaxing days at the new Hotel Kurhaus Cademario. Unfortunately the spa was not yet ready, but on the whole it was all very nice! I remember with great pleasure the restaurant and the excellent menu dedicated to half board. The dining room service excellent, and I assure you I know a lot of restaurants ....
Congratulations on the selection of personnel for the service!

Grant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Grant,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We highly appreciate your comments about our employees and the Restaurant.

Our DOT.Spa with its sauna and water world is now open and will make your next stay even more perfect.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the sunny Cademario.

KURHAUS CADEMARIO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Kurhaus, Cademario 6936, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Cademario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cademario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at an altitude of 850 m, the Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa offers magnificent view of the Lake Lugano and the surrounding mountains. Cademario is one of the sunniest spots in Switzerland and is just 12 km from Lugano. Situated in an extensive 3 ha park grounds, the hotel includes 82 rooms and suites, two restaurants, a bar, conference and banqueting rooms, various terraces with panoramic view and the 2.200 M² DOT.Spa. Savour the Ticino way of life and "Italianita". The hospitality, charm and friendliness of the south and the northern sense of precision and quality. Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa: experience the Dolce Vita, Ticino style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelsClick, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.