We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Save Saved
You added Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Morcote
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A diamond indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a superb hotel, I think probably the best in Lugano area. The quality at everything was phenomenal. Where to start ... the staff was very friendly. The hotel room was perfect, and I mean it: classy, spacious, very clean, everything was either new or perfectly maintained, the bathroom was outstanding, the bath had hydro-massage, and more. The hotel has a very nice pool indoors to relax. I visited during Winter so I could not enjoy the outdoor pool. I took a Spa day and it was really very good. The breakfast is included and has everything you may ever want even the typical Swiss breakfast "Birchermüesli" which is delicious (even compared to Sprüngli's Birchermüesli). The coffee and cappuccinos are top, I think you can actually tell the quality of a Hotel by the quality of their coffees.

In conclusion, I really recommend this Hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: View to the lake of Lugano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
55
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I went there for a weekend with a friend. The service was welcoming and professional. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there and the food was also of a good quality. Lunch and breakfast were served in the terrace overlooking Lugano lake which was breathtakingly beautiful. The room was spacious and classy, with a nice big bathroom, both very clean. Unfortunately, there were some problems that spoiled the picture. When we entered the hotel our noses were attacked by a chlorinated swimming pool smell. I don´t know if it was a temporary ventilation problem or it´s always like that, but it was quite unpleasant. In the evening we went to the bar for a drink and a small dinner and were shocked to see (or rather smell) men smoking cigars. The bar is not well air-conditioned so we spent a few hours in a sickening smoke. We could not leave as we were meeting other friends there. There was a live music and I felt really sorry for the nice lady that had to sing in this disgusting atmosphere. As the hotel is not directly in Lugano we had no choice to go somewhere else. If we knew in advance that it was allowed to smoke there we wouldn´t have booked the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Swiss Diamond Hotel in Morcote (About 9 Kilometers from Lugano) is a real good hotel, even it is situated isolated from any Shopping or "Action" area. The Hotel has very polite staff, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are elegantly decorated and the wellness area is also up mto top standards (maybe a Little bit too small, only 6 resting places and 8 chairs in the entire area.) - but the pool is large enough, 10 x 5 m (I guess?) .. Sauna and Haman and Steam bath.
Restaurat offers very good quality - as are the prices ( on simllar level ). This Hotel is a very good place to hold confidential meetings, relax alone or as couple, maybe not so much suited for families with children or People who want cities and Action. Situated on he lakeside, the view is spectecular and -esecially in summer - it is a great location.

Room Tip: It pays t o take the rooms to the lakeview side !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here as part of Insight Gold Playgrounds of Europe tour. Probably the biggest hotel room and bathroom of the trip. Two separate closets,lots of space, very nice decor. Grounds are large, well kept, lots of space to sit out near the lake. Very nice outdoor pool. Beautiful restaurant overlooking the pool. Buffet breakfasts ok, only selection of cereals, cheeses meats, no hot food, so rather limited. The room and breakfasts were included in the tour so I cannot comment on value but be forewarned that eating at the hotel is not cheap. A buffet lunch (again, mostly cold cuts cheeses breads and fruits) is 35 euro per person, and did not include the 10 euro bottle of water or 6 euro coffee. One night, too lazy to travel and there are no restaurants (or stores or anything) near the hotel so we shared an omelet and salad. Another 30 euro for room service. We did not have supper at the hotel but another couple who did dine there said it cost well over 200 euro for dinner and wine. Only other issues include the language barrier we had with the staff and a so-so gym with absolutely no ventilation. But it is overall a very nice hotel, nice location, if you want to splurge.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are across the street, away from the lake. Pretty quiet area so noise not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Swiss Diamond hotel is nice, and it tries to be elegant, but it is not accurate to say it is in Lugano as the hotel name implies. It is really closer to Morcote which is not all that close to Lugano. The hotel offers a shuttle to take you in to Lugano, but you need to schedule a ride and it takes 15 minutes to get there. In addition, the room I had was nice, but on the small side.

Unless you need to be in Morcote or want some isolation, I would recommend finding a hotel in Lugano proper. There are a lot of good choices there.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at this hotel, you should make sure you stay in a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, a little away from the city. The restaurant has amazing service and the classiest breakfast buffet around (once you fill your plate they carry it to the table). They have a shuttle that will pick you up from the Melide train station).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss Diamond Hotel in September and it was a treat for our Son and Daughter
in law as a wedding gift. They live in Monaco therefore its hard to find something that comes
up to standards they are used to. Pleased to say they loved this hotel it was on the lake front
very nicely decorated with good size rooms overlooking the lake. A very short drive from Lugano
and a great short break. That said is was very very expensive from rooms to food and drink, therefore I would consider this Hotel as a special treat. We would all return so that prob speaks
for itself. The staff were very considerate and attentive and they made our 2 year old grandson
very welcome. A lovely place.

Room Tip: lake view deluxe rooms are a good middle of the road choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Address: Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the enchanting shores of Lake Lugano, this luxurious property offers elegance and charm in a breathtaking location. Behind the impressive façade, the Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano boasts dining and leisure facilities that rank among the finest in Switzerland. Only 7 km away from the centre of Lugano, the hotel features 3 restaurants serving typical regional, Mediterranean and international cuisine with a wide range of international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Diamond Resort Olivella
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.