We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano to your Saves list
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss Diamond Hotel in September and it was a treat for our Son and Daughter
in law as a wedding gift. They live in Monaco therefore its hard to find something that comes
up to standards they are used to. Pleased to say they loved this hotel it was on the lake front
very nicely decorated with good size rooms overlooking the lake. A very short drive from Lugano
and a great short break. That said is was very very expensive from rooms to food and drink, therefore I would consider this Hotel as a special treat. We would all return so that prob speaks
for itself. The staff were very considerate and attentive and they made our 2 year old grandson
very welcome. A lovely place.

Room Tip: lake view deluxe rooms are a good middle of the road choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
62
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely hotel right on the lake. The rooms are nice sized and well equipped. The service has been very good. We had an interesting meal at the Lago restaurant. We had a group of 16, and the dinner was flawlessly handled. There are many outstanding hotels in the area. If you are looking check this one out.
The rooms have balconies where you can sit and watch the boats on the lake

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or above for a splendid view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed one night for business and really enjoyed this short stay. Fast check-in, friendly staff, easy (valet) parking. Rooms are nice, although they look a bit old fashioned or classical (Baroque Style), they are quite new. A lot of rooms have great view on the Lake. Airco okay, but you can also open the windows. The bathroom (all pink marble) has a great rain shower, one that actually works great (a lot of power). TV/entertainment: took me 10 minuten to turn on the TV! Not great. Breakfast not 5 star, basic American Style, but outside terrace at the lake, with beautiful view, is definately 5 star quality. The bar is also very nice, didn't use the other facilities. I forgot my iPhone charger and reception sends it to my home address. Great service!

Room Tip: Definately choose a room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It took my breath away looking outside the many sliding glass doors from our Presidential suite to Lake Lugano. What a wonderful setting. The views are amazing. The Presidential suit sits on top of the restaurant with plenty of lounge chairs to enjoy the view. I have to admit that while the place is unbeatable its not really a 5 start hotel. I know the starts comes with the amenities the hotel offers like spa, pool, restaurant on site, etc. That's what makes a hotel a x amount of stars but this place seems a little bit run down. There were signs of humidity or leaks all over the ceiling. The carpet in the bedroom was blue with like it seems Clorox stains, also the quality of the carpet was cheap and rough. The hardwood floors are all scratched as well. We had also a connecting room (Presidential suite is 1000 and also Room 1001) which has the same leak marks in the ceiling. Even though we were right on top of the restaurant where they served breakfast we didn't hear any noise but the boats passing by and the people taking a splash on the lake. As you know Switzerland is very expensive, the restaurants around the area are expensive as well. The hotel restaurant served very small portions, my daughters ordered beef ravioli and literally got 5 raviolis on their plates. 225 CHF later we were off to sleep with three hungry kids. After that we decided to try a pizzeria in Melide a roughly 5 minutes car ride for a more decently priced meal and great service. Breakfast was ok, some cold cuts, a cheese cart managed by an old gentleman who will serve you some pieces, few yogurts and some sweet croissants and of course bread. They had runny scramble eggs and we ordered fried eggs for a nominal charge of 8 CHF which I believe it should be included in the breakfast items. Juices were not fresh squeezed but then again I have been spoiled while living in Spain with their fresh orange juice offered anywhere you go. The town of Lugano is not far from the hotel, a 10 minutes car ride but the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service which takes you to nearby areas as well as Lugano center, parking in Lugano can be challenging so I suggest you take advantage of one of the very few things that are included in the room price and the shuttle will take you and pick you up by the time you finish. The pool area is simply beautiful, as somebody already mentioned it was a little cold but the water was fresh as if it was from the lake, we didn't feel the chlorine burning our eyes. The staff was helpful and attentive, they made reservations for a private boat tour on the lake that was the highlight of our stay. Overall the place is beautiful but in need of some renovation, specially in the rooms.

Room Tip: there are 4 rooms facing the lake right on top of the restaurant. I think they call it deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was not bad but it didn't feel like a 5 star hotel to me. It's a lot cheaper than most 5 star hotels in the town of Lugano (Swiss Diamond is in the town of Morcote although it does overlook Lake Lugano). The main problem was the cleanliness of the room. It was a little dirty in some places and there were cobwebs on the ceiling in the bathroom. My other criticism of the room was that there was no full length mirror.

The positives about the hotel were plenty though; friendly staff, great indoor and outdoor pool (although I thought the outdoor pool was a little small and cold even though it was august), and a restaurant with a breathtaking view which made breakfast time a real treat. Although the breakfast spread was not bad I thought the selection of cheeses looked a bit sad, but then maybe that was because I had breakfast quite late and all the good stuff was gone!

Another great thing is that the hotel has a shuttle service which I think takes you anywhere (within reason) you want and it can pick you up again. The hotel is also around a 10 min journey from a huge designer outlet mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattaro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to SDH Lugano straight from Dolder Grand, Zurich and the class difference was seen right away. I wouldn't discuss the concept of the hotel, it's location and so on. But several things are in my opinion unacceptable for a 5 star facility. Upon arrival we weren't sure for how long we stay, so we told on the reception that we will decide next morning. They showed us the rooms and we picked the one we liked which came up to be the most expensive one from those offered.
Next morning, we were informed, that if we want to stay longer, we have to change the room to a different one. It was impolite and we left. Another thing that we didn't like was the quality of breakfast. It was ok, but not for a 5 star. Only the selection of cheeses was proper, all the rest of the food was questionable. And coffee... When they serve you poor coffee in german part of Switzerland I can understand that, but the Italian part can not afford it. The coffee must be good!
And the room ... The air conditioning in 408 works really loud, send somebody to fix it, please.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For my wife and me, this hotel was a wonderful experience. It is hard to improve upon the setting -- Lake Lugano -- and this place makes the most of it with dining rooms offering breathtaking scenic views. The room was very comfortable and meals (for us, two breakfasts and one dinner) were extremely good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Address: Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the enchanting shores of Lake Lugano, this luxurious property offers elegance and charm in a breathtaking location. Behind the impressive façade, the Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano boasts dining and leisure facilities that rank among the finest in Switzerland. Only 7 km away from the centre of Lugano, the hotel features 3 restaurants serving typical regional, Mediterranean and international cuisine with a wide range of international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Diamond Resort Olivella
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.