We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano to your Saves list
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights, the physical elements of the hotel and rooms are amazing, the size, view and quality of the facilities are definately 5 star. Unfortunately the service was at best average. The rooms were barely cleaned on 2 of the 4 days we stayed, we were left with out towels on one of the nights and our experience of the restuarants was very similar. We booked the parnoramic restaurant, which is in an amazing location with in the hotel. The food we were served was good, but the service was terrible. There we 3 other tables that evening, of which one looked like it was entertaining a client of the hotel, around 10 people who seemed to be getting every attention of the waiters and other staff. This meant our empty plates were left on the table for 10 minutes and it took forever to get their attention. Not normally an issue but when its your wifes birthday and you are paying over €200 for a meal you expect some kind of attention and service.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view, should not be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
62
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights in June, they messed up our room at arrival (no baby cot, twin beds instead of king size) which wasn't great given we arrived very late. However, after 10 mins we were upgraded to a lake view room which was great. Service was excellent throughout, from front desk to pool staff. The pool area is great and the views over the lake are fantastic. The only real setback was that the rooms smelled of cigarette despite being non-smoking. We liked the breakfast but did not try much of the other food as we tried some of the (great) little local restaurants on the lake. Not the most modern or affordable of hotels but overall a very good place that I would love to visit again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent two nights here and what a wonderful place to stay, we had a room with amazing views across Lake Lugano- just stunning. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and importantly immaculate. The service here is of an exceptional high standard and service with a smile. Check in and check out process was efficient. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide selection of foods to choose from. The wellness spa is worth a visit, we both had a back massage here which would have to be the best I have had, eased the effects of long periods of travel- highly recommend! Also had a facial and again one of the best I have had. Concirege services here are excellent and the Mercedes shuttle service into Lugano is great. There are plenty of beautiful walks along the lake paths and are easy to do . Some wonderful photo opportunities exist -the lake is just beautiful. We would love to return here for a visit and highly recommend for anyone wishing to sample Lake Lugano Switzerland.

Room Tip: Request a room with view of lake, and visit the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in room on the 4 Floor. Room was very quiet, clean and beautiful, as opposed to Grand Hotel Eden, Lugano, when we have been stayed 3 night before arrived to the Swiss Diamond Hotel.
There is excellent service, helpful staff and good room-service. We were without a car, so for us it was very important that guests are provided by shuttles about 8 times a day to the city center. Also, we were pleased by transfer to the airport on the day of our departure at 5 am.
We chose the hotel for our summer vacation, and definitely chosen Swiss Diamond Hotel for all our family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Wonderful service, exceeding customer's expectation. Charming restaurant on the lake's shore. Very comfortable and spacious room. The hotel is very well maintained. Ask for familly packages. It inclueds a visit to the Swiss miniature park, one hour journey on the lake, 4 courses dinners + 2 courses dinner for children, lunch packs and free shutle to Lugano.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are large with a wonderful view on the lake of Lugano
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with half board. Our room was on the 3rd floor with the Lugano lake view. The room was excellent with a fantastic view. The only downside is that one could hear the cars passing by, people talking and the activities that goes on in front of the hotel. The SPA area was very good and well stocked with everything that one needs. But too dark for my taste. The big disappointment was the food at the restaurant. Starting from the appetizer till desert the food had no taste to it. As a good cook I was completely disappointed. Luckily the hotel was nice enough to reimburse the second night. On the other hand I have to say that service was EXCELLENT! throughout the entire hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just love this hotel !
Expensive but a wonderful treat .
Great Decor
Great Staff
Great wellness ( although indoor pool quite small for size of hotel)
Fab lake view
The only thing I didnt like was the outdoor pool which was very very cold ( in August)

Room Tip: ask for lake view or the rooms set on the lake itself away from main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Address: Riva Lago Olivella, Morcote 6921, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the enchanting shores of Lake Lugano, this luxurious property offers elegance and charm in a breathtaking location. Behind the impressive façade, the Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano boasts dining and leisure facilities that rank among the finest in Switzerland. Only 7 km away from the centre of Lugano, the hotel features 3 restaurants serving typical regional, Mediterranean and international cuisine with a wide range of international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Diamond Resort Olivella
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.