We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but lovely weekend-getaway in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Della Posta to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Morcote 6922, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morcote
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modest but lovely weekend-getaway in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely and clean corner room overlooking the lake. The building and rooms are old, but have everything you need for a little (weekend) break.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and service was very good. Breakfast is basic but good.
We were also lucky to have found parking very close-by, it might be a little bit busier in high season though.
Downside for some people could be that you have to walk a fair amount of stairs up to the rooms and you might get some traffic noise from the road throughout the night. Our room didn't have air-con but only a fan. I personally prefer that but a lot of people don't, so please be aware of that.
If you expect 5-star comfort, then you might just be at the wrong place (at this hotel and probably in Morcote). If you are looking for a friendly, beautiful, (romantic) and charming get-away, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

3 ½ months in advance, we had booked for 9 people in total, 3 rooms (1x2, 1x3, 1x4), the reservation process was very nice and friendly.
I was very disappointed when we got in our room, after exactly 48 steps!! It was old, very old!! 185.- swiss francs for 3 pax. We enjoyed carrying our 6 y.o. daughter up there in the middle of the night !
We had a nice view, not directly on the lake, but overlooking some houses.... but OK.
My parents had a room with absolutely NO view. The only window was on the stairs. Disappointing, once again. 160.- for 2.
And the last room for 4, directly overlooking the lake, at 230.-. Sorry, but I didn't see it. I’ve been told that the bathroom was very old....

Positive points:
the food & the staff. We had dinner there and the pizzas were just EXCELLENT….and the service was really nice, really helpful !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel was great with good breakfast provided, room is clean and the price is affordable. Room with such price is remarkably reasonable as it has the best view of the lake. How i miss the pasta from the restaurant and the warmth of the staffs. I will come back for sure. Thumbs up.

Room Tip: rooms with the view on the second floor is perfect for solo traveler and also for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
496 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location, just separated from the lake by the only road through the town. At our visit in late October, this road was not at all busy, but probably would be so in the summer months. Due to the season,we had no problem finding a space in the limited pay-parking almost right in front of the hotel, free parking is at some further distance. We had a very spacious and pleasant room (nr 35) capable of sleeping 3 with a sofa and lake-view, tiled floors, good firm bed, good washroom with soap bars and a mini-shower. Good breakfast with cold meats, cheese, croissants and bread, juice and coffee, but no eggs. We ate dinner at the restaurant and chose the pizza as we heard good comments about it - it was a fantastic very thin-crust version, definitely one of the best we ever ate. Service was good and friendly, but of course as most places in Switzerland, relatively pricey for non-Swiss. We were very happy at this place and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room nr 35 overlooks the lake from the upper floor - but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We visited the restaurant earlier, their pizza is delicious! For the next visit we decided to spend the night there since the postal buses between Lugano and Morcote stop at early evening. The bus stops right in front of the place conveniently. The staff was very kind, the rooms had everything we needed: clean, good bed and warm shower. The style of the room fitted nicely with the atmosphere of the place. We found the price reasonable plus it also included a breakfast.

One of the rooms had a lake view, but since the lake is right in front of the building, that can also be enjoyed by eating on the balcony or down by the lakeside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Ive been eating here for 5 years and the food is always excellent and great friendly service.
Well worth visiting if you are in the area.
best food in Lugano
Also has a modest clean B and B at affordable prices

Room Tip: has a family room with kitchen, or ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found this to be a disappointing accommodation experience somewhat ameliorated by a stunning location. The building is very very old and the accommodation fit out is only a little younger. The view is glorious but the road is also just below. Parking is difficult and very much a lottery as to the distance ( we scored .. only about 300m .. other might not be so lucky).
The restaurant is popular , quite adequate , but nothing to get excited about.
Overall : we would not revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albergo Ristorante Della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Address: Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Della Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.