We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very modest but overpriced Auberge in a stunning location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Della Posta to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta
Morcote 6922, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
Brisbane Queensland Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very modest but overpriced Auberge in a stunning location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found this to be a disappointing accommodation experience somewhat ameliorated by a stunning location. The building is very very old and the accommodation fit out is only a little younger. The view is glorious but the road is also just below. Parking is difficult and very much a lottery as to the distance ( we scored .. only about 300m .. other might not be so lucky).
The restaurant is popular , quite adequate , but nothing to get excited about.
Overall : we would not revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose the de la Posta in preference to the better known Carina Carlton in the same village, which used to be excellent but which, judging by TripAdvisor and other reviews and feedback, seems to be in serious decline. The de la Posta is only a modest Albergo but it was comfortable enough for a four nights stay. It was rather hot during our stay and there is no air-conditioning, but a fan was provided instead. TV reception is limited to three Swiss channels. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, but be aware that you will need to climb two spiral stair cases to reach the bedrooms. The hotel’s restaurant deservedly enjoys a good reputation, although service on the first night was surly and unfriendly. Breakfast offerings were modest but adequate. Two minor gripes: no bars of soap were provided and instead you’ll have to make do with a pathetic little sachet of bath gel instead. Surely they could do better. Secondly, a hair dryer would be helpful. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Albeit a bit touristy during the high season, Morcote, on Lake Lugano, is a picturesque little village. You can easily get to Lugano by boat, or by the frequent AutoPostale bus services

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is a lovely hotel right across the road from the lake. The front rooms have a beautiful view of the lake. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a good size. We ate twice at the hotel - the food was good but pricy, as is all food in Switzerland. Hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Some rooms at the back do not have private bathrooms and are very small but the rooms we had were great.
We were told there was parking but it is not at the hotel. There is a public parking lot about 500 meters down the road. We were here in the off season so can only imagine how hard it would be to find parking at high season.
The boat ride around the lake was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissier, Lausanne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

What a place to stay! Morcote is a ville with a wonderful nature and special people; they make you feel like at home! Whilst it receive a lot of visitors you don't feel crowded like in other places. We highly recommend to stay at the Albergo Hotel - Garni which is confortable and its people are extremely nice and friendly. If you choose a room with balcony -highly recomended- you will enjoy magnificent views over the lake. Close to this hotel, in the direction of the village, you will find the Grotto del Parco Restorant which offer among the best gastronomy not oly in Switzerland but probably around Europe. The food is just great, of excellent quality, and the people working in the restorant are very nice and professional! Morcote offers a combination of nature, nice people and excellent gastronomy not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a mini-suite at Della Posta (bed&breakfast) in Morcote, Switzerland with a view over the lake and hillside toward more of Switzerland and Italy; were there four days; parked the car and did day trips. You can take the bus to Lugano, a car trip to Bellinzona, or walk around the area. The restaurant (on the water or the open terrace) is extremely popular. Boats drive up and park at the dock, people drive in from other areas...make a reservation! It is a two-star, so do not set your sights too high on luxury furnishings; but they were quite adequate. The only draw back is the bathroom/salle des bains which could use a freshening up. WiFi is down stairs in or behind the enoteca (wine store) which is part of the hotel/restaurant. For a price-quality ratio, we were very happy. Originally we had planned to stay at the Carina but they were closed when we were making reservations. Della Posta was a very nice place to stay -- family oriented as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Ristorante Della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Della Posta

Address: Morcote 6922, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Della Posta Switzerland/Swiss Alps - Morcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Della Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.