We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serpiano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Serpiano to your Saves list
Hotel Serpiano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Serpiano, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We arrived at the hotel by post bus which winds, hooting noisily at every bend, up the narrow road from Mendrisio. It is a huge hotel with different levels, our large and comfortable room and balcony overlooking gardens and mountains. The highlight is the restaurant looking down over Lake Lugano; the view is just stunning. The weather was rather cool and wet while we were there but we took every opportunity to eat on the terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts an excellent range of cereals and eggs and fruit and local bread, croissants and pastries.
Filled to the brim with breakfast we set off each morning to explore the locality. A car would have made exploring easier perhaps but we one day walked up to the very peak of the mountain up a well marked footpath spotting a fire salamander on the way up through the woods (even more stunning views) and another day took the cable car down to the lake and a boat trip along the lake to the town of Lugano for window shopping.
We were tempted into the beautiful pool at the hotel several times and happily whiled away a rainy afternoon in the jacuzzi and the sauna. It was lovely to be supplied with slippers and fluffy white dressing gowns so that we could change in our room and then just walk down to the pool. A real get away from it all hotel and a super place to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: We opted for a slightly cheaper room without the stunning view but loved the quiet and the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
47
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked this hotel while organising a shopping trip to Mendrisio. We were surprised by the location: mountain top with stunning views on the Morcote area and lake Lugano. Not the easyiest road to get there but it is certainly worth the effort! We had dinner at the restaurant overlooking the valley and lake Lugano with local dishes from the Ticino region. Highly recommended for romantic hideways and cullinary delights.

Room Tip: Lake view is more expensive but so much worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Until 1,5 years ago and before moving to the Portuguese archipelago of the Azores I used to live in the nearby village of Tremona which is just 10 minutes away by car from Serpiano. In past years I often came up here to Serpiano to unwind and relax, for walks and to enjoy food and drinks on the splendid, panoramic terrace. It is a magic and very relaxing place made for people who want to be away from the hustle and bustle, and away from noise and polluted air.
The hotel is to be found in a region called "Mendrisiotto", the southernmost part of Switzerland. In its lower parts there is a lot of traffic, and for sure it is not a place where spoiled people with good taste feel very much at ease. (Natives from here, the "Momo", might hate me from now onwards, hehe but sorry, this is my opinion as the really beautiful places are to be found around Lugano, in Morcote, Collina d'Oro and in Gandria). But there is ONE exception here, and that's Serpiano!
From loud and commercialized Mendrisio you head for Rancate - Besazio - Arzo - Méride, and the more you drive uphill the prettier and more quiet everything becomes. It is worth stopping for a moment in the village of Méride. I love this place because it is a tiny village that reminds you of a bygone area. There is a famous fossile museum (nearby Monte San Giorgo is a UNESCO World Heritage site!) and some typical restaurants (they call them here "grotto"), as well as some wonderful, medieval seeming stone houses with thick walls.
From Méride you keep on driving uphill to reach Serpiano after around 6 kilometers/4 miles. The road from Méride onwards is windy and you better drive slowly and carefully if you are not used to such kind of roads, but NATURE here is very, very beautiful and virgin. So take your time, drive slowly and really enjoy the pretty environment of this area which is covered by wonderful, old trees. All your eyes can see are the intense green colours of the woods and fields, and the azure of the sky... When you see to your right an old house painted in rosa colour you have reached the Atélier of "Fiorello". He is the most famous painter of the area, and he sells wonderful, very colourful paintings here. It's a must to stop by on your way. If you buy a painting it will be a wonderful souvenir that will remind you forever about your holiday.
Almost next door to "Fiorello's" Atélier you will see on your lefthand side HOTEL SERPIANO which is, without a doubt, the most beautiful place of the "Mendrisiotto" to stay!

This hotel offers different room options and it all depends what exactly you are looking for. Let me explain... The rooms are to be found in two different buildings. There is the older building where the history of this hotel started decades ago. Here are to be found the reception (with very nice, friendly and always very helpful staff!), the public areas, the restaurant and the magnificent terrace that offers superpanoramic vistas over lake Lugano and the surrounding green hills and mountains. Enjoying a meal on this terrace is something unforgettable on a mild summer evening! The rooms in this building have been renovated not too long ago. They are quite small but look fresh, neat and well kept with their greenish walls. There are big, sliding balcony doors and thanks to them no room seems dark. The white, new bathrooms are spacious and look nice. They come either with a big shower or with a bath tub. There are rooms facing south which I personally like most as they offer magnificent views (green hills, fields and some also offer lake view). The only thing to consider about those rooms is the fact that in summer (june, july and august) it can get very hot in this area. (However, up here in Serpiano it is always noteably cooler than in the lower parts such as Mendrisio or Chiasso...). There is no air condition in the rooms and if it happens to be a hot summer, one might be happier to stay in a room facing north. There the views are less nice (that is my personal opinion...), and from some rooms you can just see wonderful, old trees. But the plus of these rooms is that they are always fresh, airy and cool. The rooms with the most spectacular views are the corner rooms in the main building (for example 219, 220, 319, 320). If "a room with a view" is something you go mad for, it is a MUST to book such a room!
The other option that you have for your accomodation is to choose the newer building. It is interconnected with the main buildng. Those newer rooms are larger, the furniture is of a higher standard and all those newer rooms are facing south. Due to the topography and the place where they were constructed they however offer a less spectacular view than the rooms in the main building, as the new annex is on a lower garden level part.
To sum up, you must decide what you want. If you want high quality rooms, you must make the compromise of having less spectacular views. If you are happy with a smaller room and furniture that is a bit more modest, you will get a better view. It's all upon you to choose your preferred room...
Long time ago the quality and presentation of food for sure was a problem here, but since a couple of years Hotel Serpiano has excellent chefs and the food is very delicious. Some guests criticize that food here is too expensive for being a 3 stars hotel. I do not agree at all with that, because the quality of food and its presentation are of a much higher standard than you would expect it from a hotel of this category. There are daily changing menus with regional touch and adapted to the season. I find them excellent, and every single dish they presented me was impeccable and excellent. Their osso buco and brasato are divine, so is the risotto, and some of the deserts could not be more delicious in a ritzy Michelin star restaurant. For a tourist it might be a nice experience to dine in other small, local "grotti", but believe me that in no other restaurant around here you will get a better quality and variety of food than here. And if it happens to be a sunny and warm day, a lunch or dinner on Serpiano's panoramic terrace is the best you can get!
There is another cute, but simpler option for lunch and dinner - Ristorante Funivia. One kilometer from Hotel Serpiano, walking or driving through the woods, there is a restaurant with a wonderful, panoramic terrace overlooking the lake and the mountains. It's a nice change to come here once in a while, and also here it's very romantic and peaceful!
There is a small cablecar (10 or 12 people fit in there...) going down from this restaurant to the pretty village of Brusino Arsizio. On a sunny day it's a nice change to do the following excursion: Just take the "funivía", go down to Brusino, walk a bit around in this quiet village, then take the public boat to cross over to nearby Morcote (which is by far the prettiest village around). There is a good variety of restaurants there, and you will find many shops to hunt for a souvenir. Don't miss to visit the nice "Parco Scherrer" (botanical garden), and it is also a must to walk up to the wonderful church of Morcote and go for a walk around "Arbóstora" area where you can admire the biggest and most beautiful villas of the area, which all have wonderful gardens with subtropical vegetation (oleandri, bougainvilléas, agaves etc.). Then walk back to Morcote's pier, take the public boat back to Brusino Arsizio and the "funivía" up to Serpiano. On a sunny day this is an unforgettably beautiful excursion! After that you will come back to Hotel Serpiano and realize that the heavenly peace up here is so relaxing, so good, so nice! By the way, Hotel Serpiano offers an indoor pool, sauna and a SPA with all kind of fantastic treatments that caresses your body and soul.
In my opinion it is the best 3 stars hotel around, with very competitive prices, very good and friendly service as well as excellent food! I like everything here, and the only "criticism" or "kind input" I would allow myself to give to the management are those: As Hotel Serpiano is one of the very few remaining QUIET Hotels located in splendid isolation, small children and dogs are for sure NOT what other guests really appreciate in this paradise here. A guest comes to Serpiano because he/she is looking for PEACE AND RELAX! There are 100 other hotels in Ticino which are very nice, but none of them enjoys such a QUIET location as Serpiano is priviledged to do.
Serpiano is the ONLY Hotel that is isolated and therefore no other Hotel has the potential of offering so much peace as Serpiano can! Therefore in my opinion it is very much of a pity if small children are running and screaming around, or dogs are making noise disturbing those guests who are choosing Serpiano because they expect it to be absolutely quiet. I think that families with small and/or hyper active kids and noisy dogs should opt for another hotel, not to destroy the last remaining, QUIET paradise in this area!...

Room Tip: If you are into a room with a thrilling view, opt for rooms 219, 220, 319 or 320
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having run a 10 day event for around 30 people at Hotel Serpiano I have nothing but the highest praise for the location, the facilities and above all the staff. Each and every employee made the group feel at home from the outset, looked after them admirably - the kitchen brigade even came up with helpful recipes for sore throats when one of the participants fell ill. It is fair to say that the group was exceptionally well looked after and pampered, which lead to them spending a memorable 10 days in this truly beautiful location despite the frequent rain and unusually inclement July weather. As the organiser it was a great relief and pleasure to work with such competent and pleasant partners. This is truly hospitality at its best! A big thanks to all the Hotel Sepriano crew! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you seek solitude and beautiful view...this is the Location.
It is not the easiest way to get to. For 3 km you drive a single car road, but when you reach the destination a breathtaking view awaits you.
The reception gave us a warm welcome. We had a spacious room facing the garden and part of the lake. The room was clean and had a large balcony where 2 deck chairs fitted easily.
In the hallway to the rooms where nice paitings of a local painter.
We had dinner in the Restaurant. Very good variety on the menue. We had the lamb rack which was cooked perfectly. As desert we had cheese platter and mousse with hazelnut. The wine we had was from a local producer and the recommendation of the knowledgable restaurant manager. Service was impeccable.
The breakfast was OK. We would like to have seen fresh made coffee rather than filter coffee on a heating plate.
This is a beautiful hotel which is off the beaten track and worth every "scary" moment you drive along that road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This place sits at the top of the world and offer you million dollar views at affordable prices - the food in the restaurant is possibly the best I have had in years and the terrace on a beautiful clear day competes with Europe's best hotels

Room Tip: End rooms overlooking the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I was as a partecipant of a congress at the Hotel Serpiano. I enjoyed my stay there because of the great pastry which has been served for the coffebreaks, the dinner was very tasty and in the freetime we could enjoy the faboulous panoramic view overlooking the Lake Lugano.

The staff and management is very friendly and helpfull.

I can recommend this place for other congresses and hopo to be able to come back soon.

Please note that I have not sleept in this hotel, so there is no rating about the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Serpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpiano

Address: Via Serpiano, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Serpiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpiano 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Serpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serpiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.