We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive to it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serpiano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Serpiano to your Saves list
Hotel Serpiano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Serpiano, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hastings
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive to it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The last 4Km is rather hair raising at times around the narrow bends with big drops etc. On arrival you are met with a building painted white and red, a colour scheme throughout. We had a comfy room and it was comfortable overlooking the main entrance, caused no trouble at all.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful, service good.
But it is the view that capture this place, stunning. Had 2 dinners there with a perfect setting.
one evening they had a young orchestra entertaining, another evening a pianist.
It is a place trying hard to please the customer and it is well worth the drive up there.
Swimming pool and beauty treatment there and a local artist just up the road. You can take the cable car down to the lake and for a boat trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
47
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is in a UNESCO area and it is wonderful .. the whole area is beautiful and at the end of the trail is the Hotel Serpiano. The staff are very friendly and ready to help with whatever your needs are. The room was a bit basic but had the most wonderful view, well everywhere you went in the hotel .. the view was awesome. The Restaurant Terrace had great entertainment and the food was great and not too expensive. It was a wonderful stay and one that we will remember for a long time!

Just noticed another of the reviews about the 'heat'. It was hot while we were there but they gave us a 'stand-up' fan to use in the room which helped tremendously. But no matter what the beauty of the place, the food, the staff made up for the fact that they were having a 'heat-wave'!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Serpiano Hotel is one of the greatest place we stayed at. Its may be not one of the newest buildings but it is certainly very well looked after. It is very clean and modern with amazing views almost from every side of the building. The restaurant terrace is the best area where you can have romantic dinner and great breakfast in the morning which is by the way was simply amazing with so many choice to suit everyone preferences. The location is beautiful without a doubt with easy access to the cable car and if you keen on walking through a forest of San Giorgio mount (the hotel stays on it) then there is a trial straight down to the lake. Will definitely stay in Serpiano hotel next time again as this place is certainly the best in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A little hard to find but it is well worth it! I love the service. Guy(I think that is her name) was so helpful. Breakfast was included and it was a English breakfast. Has great views. Very inexpensive for what is included. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punta gorda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The outside of the hotel is quite ugly but inside there are all the facilites one would need for a short break . However as of the previous reviewer there were no fans or air con and it was probably about 35C. Hardly slept a wink. The next door room was also taken and we were kept awake all night by their TV and snoring because both sliders were open to try and get some air moving around. Quite ridiculous for a hotel of that price and quality. Restaurant food was not bad although extremely expensive compared to the UK or Italy.........£8 for a plate of frites! Beautiful grounds and the staff were lovely. We had a lake view room which was truly amazing. We travelled down on the cable car into the village (one cafe) and took the boat trip around the lake for the day which was an amazing experience. We also ate in the cable car restaurant which we would highly recommend although also very expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a cool room in the summer forgo the view and sleep under the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Manager at Hotel Serpiano, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Badders10

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments and evaluations of our hotel. Your kind comments about the hotel are much appreciated. We do apologise for not meeting all of your expectations.

Our hotel is situated at an altitude of 650 meters which usually offers a nice refreshing breeze at night, especially when compared with the sometimes sticky humidity of Lugano, Mendrisio or any lake village. This is something which is highly appreciated by our guests and a reason why so many stay a long time with us. However, you really did pick one of the hottest nights so far this year to stay with us!

We have reviewed the selling price of the ‘frites’ and can confirm that they are charged at a price of CHF8 which would be equivalent to £5.57 on the current conversion rate. We believe this is in line with prices generally in Switzerland and Europe. We hope this helps to clarify this point and that you might now feel that the hotel wasn’t quite so ‘expensive’ after all.

We are sorry that your neighbour disturbed your sleep with the television. If we had known, we would have been happy to ask them to reduce the sound. But of course in regard to the snoring, we might have not been able to help!

Best regards
Seminar & Wellness Hotel Serpiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A lovely setting Serpiano is the name of the hotel up on a mountain and not a village…lovely view BUT nothing else – including things we take for granted – like A/C. had just been in Milan and Sicily where it was hot, but it was nothing like here, such humidity and nary a breeze and – no a/c. too dreadful for words - hence my 'terrible' rating for sleep quality. Spent 3 nights/days attending a meeting here…took the funicular –a cable sauna car – down to the village and didn’t see a soul except the folks in the tiny market. good for a 15-minute stroll. Good for pensioners getting treatments and romantic couples I suppose. As others have said tricky to get to. wi-fi free only in public areas, otherwise must pay by the hour…and for an entire day it did not work in the public areas/conference room at all. too tranquil....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I found this hotel with a good price when searching Lugano Hotels. First of all, I did the right way to choose this hotel.
Driving along a beautiful road with trees covering, you reach the hotel in 20 min. from the main road. Silence everyhere. You just dive into a green sea. Some of the rooms look to the forest, some of them looks to the lake. They upgraded my room with a fantastic view of the Lugano Lake.

The room was big enough and clean. Inside the hotel, there is spa center and a big closed pool. After seeing the Lugano town or shopping in Fox Town ( Outlet ) you can relax in there.

At night we did not go out for dinner because the road to the hotel may be scare. So we ate at the restaurant of the hotel which I believe we made a good choice. Prices are like usual restaurants of city center. But the dishes were big enough. And the presentation was just like a michelin star restaurants.

I want to go there again and relax there much more days.

I suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Serpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpiano

Address: Via Serpiano, Serpiano 6867, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Serpiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serpiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpiano 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Serpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serpiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.