We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very charming afternoon out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Vapeur Parc

Swiss Vapeur Parc
Route de la Plage, Le Bouveret CH 1897 , Switzerland
+41 24 481 44 10
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique park displays its attractions in an area of over 17’000 m2 at Le Bouveret, in a pleasant location adjacent to the shores of Lake Geneva, Switzerland. One miniature train enthusiast, having come from afar to admire this touristic marvel of lower Valais, confided that all the troubles of everyday life seem to disappear within the gates of the park. Only a child’s earliest experiences of joy can come close to expressing the first sensations of a trip on a miniature train. The little trains chug along as if by magic through a sumptuous decor displaying miniature replicas from the rich heritage of Switzerland: the Castle of Aigle, the Church of Saanen, the Halls of Neuchâtel, the Swiss Residence, railway buildings and constructions of every sort (bridges, viaducts, tunnels, etc.), conjuring up a journey into a land of dreams !
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A very charming afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As we paid to go in and I saw what I thought was a rather small area I was wondering if we would even fill an hour here - in fact, it was bigger than I thought, and we spent a very enjoyable afternoon pottering around on trains and admiring a world in miniature. The weather forecast had been grim so there weren't many people around when we got there (later on the sun came out and there were queues for the trains). Several trains to ride on - different stops - pleasant little walks - picnic areas - a cafe (hot meals, usual unimaginative kids offering of nuggets, sausage and chips (with not a vegetable for them in sight!!) but I had a very passable lasagne and salad. ) We were only passing and came here completely on the spur of the moment, but we all had a lovely time. I wouldn't say this is worth a day trip however as you could be in an out in an hour or two. Attention to detail on the replica models is very good - a nice feel good factor in an old fashioned outing kind of way!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool place for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A realy nice place where you can see a ton of miniature trains. Beautifully kept and a free bike centre next door.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the parc yesterday with a 3.5 year old girl and a train mad 18 month old boy.

It was a really great way to spend a few hours entertaining both the children and us parents.

The detail in the buildings etc was fantastic. Enough trains to ensure minimal waits ( never more than a few mins). Train journey was long enough for parents to relax with very happy children.

Eating was fine - not gourmet but pretty reasonable.

Will certainly return again - a really good find v

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great fun with or without kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Great place this, with lots of interesting a trains to ride on. Jump on a train and ride round the park passing replica Swiss buildings, mountains, bridges and other well known landmarks. Very reasonably priced with a small food and drink outlet.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The place is really interesting for kids even for adults. One whole ride is like 20-30mins. With beautiful miniature of famous sceneries of switzerland.

They have enough small trains if they havr big volume of poeple visiting the park and no long waiting in the line.

Paying 15fr is worth it ,ride all you can. They have also small food stalls and restaurant inside and souvenir shops as well.

The place itself is wonderful near lake of geneva ,you can even have a short walk afterwards ;)

My son is an SBB "Ticki Park" member so we got 50% off discount for the entrance fee for the whole family.

(simply subscribe your child in sbb.ch and you'll get a lot of benefits and discounts ,for swiss residents only)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Vapeur Parc also viewed

Le Bouveret, Canton of Valais
Evionnaz, Canton of Valais
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Swiss Vapeur Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Vapeur Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.