We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rothesay Hotel to your Saves list
The Rothesay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   175 Lymington Rd, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday and loved the place. It was very quiet and the room was nice. Breakfast was good . Michael was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Beowulf stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
35
87
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, Surrey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Trying to find a hotel in Highcliffe that would take a single night booking over a bank holiday is difficult, so many thanks to the Rothesay for accomodating us.

Outside the courtyard is a nice sun trap and there is a good size car park out the front.

Yes the hotel is on a main road, but the main building is set back, so you don't walk out the front door onto a busy road the car park is first, so i don't see this as a problem. Also its busy depending on your time of visit, like us we stayed on a bank holiday and the weather was good so there were a lot of people off ot the beach.

The room we had was small, but it had what we wanted and for a single night was not a real issue. Had a nice shower and the room was clean and tidy.

Breakfast was fine and like our room, met our needs without being exceptional.

Were woken up at 8 by what sounded like someone hoovering, but not the end of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Rothesay. On arrival we were greeted by Michael the owner who immediately offered us a complimentary drink of tea or coffee. After depositing our luggage in our room we made our way to the patio area. The sun was shining and the patio was lovely. Michael then arrived with our drinks and home made cake. I ask, what more could you possibly ask for. A good size reasonably priced clean room I hear you say, well that was on the bill also, along with a great breakfast. The hospitality was second to none. Add to that the location, with Highcliffe Castle and the town literally just a few minutes away. Would highly recommend this hotel and if I am ever in the Dorset area again will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel owner took our booking a year ago for the whole hotel (16 rooms) for 2 nights for a wedding party.

A few days before the wedding he advised us that he had taken a more lucrative booking to house homeless former council tenants and therefore could no longer accommodate our party

I don’t need to describe the sort of place this is or add comments to the owners actions most people will understand the class of establishment we are talking about and what the owner is like to deal with.

Avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found The Rothesay to be very reasonably priced especially as there was an indoor pool and sauna which has to be booked but meant that your family had sole use which was really nice. The rooms were a good size, we enjoyed the breakfasts and the owner was helpful. Plus my dog crazy kids could walk their dog which was a nice bonus. There are a selection of places to eat close by so no need to drive. A great place for a relaxing break after Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a one night stay at the Rothesay. On arrival we were greeted by Michael the owner and checked in very quickly. As we were first to check in (hotel was fully booked) we got a choice of rooms and was upgraded to the Castle Suite.

Yes, the room was traditional and not of a modern decor but this just added to the style of the hotel. The room was huge and the bathroom small (which we were told to start with) - bathroom was the only let down of the stay not the size just the quality and decor, and the shower needs replacing although was in usable condition.

Other than that the rest of the stay was brilliant - Michael served complimentary tea and gorgeous home made cake on arrival on the patio (very modern with rattan furniture/decking etc).

We booked a time to swim for early the next morning - such a great touch to have the pool/sauna to ourselves and a great start to the day. Breakfast was amazing - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juice and full english cooked to order using superb quality goods- and the service exceptional, I believe we were served by Michael's children who were polite, professional and did a fab job at ensuring everyone was served to a high standard.

Location was great, short taxi ride into Christchurch and 2 min walk from highcliff castle and walk down to the beach and amazing coastline.

I'd definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel welcome was very good but quality of the decor and cleanliness let it down. Owners were helpful with local information and advice.

We were given a larger room on arrival for no extra charge which was welcome. However, the

Ensuite bathroom which was extremely small was half painted and not particularly clean. Paintwork in the room needed painting and wallpaper in room was peeling off in one area.

The hotel seemed to have an air of neglect and required updating and refurbishing.

We did not use pool and sauna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Address: 175 Lymington Rd, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rothesay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rothesay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.