We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Tree

Save Saved
You added Beech Tree to your Saves list
Beech Tree
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beech Tree
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Stuart Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Ely
1 review
“Chillout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the beech tree. The proprietors were very welcoming polite, courteous and obliging. The room was very clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of cereal, fruit, juices and of course a delicious full english. We have happy memories of our stay, but most endearing of all will be the memory of the warmth and genuine hospitality we received from Nina and John. We shall certainly be recommending the beech tree to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Myself and husband went to the beech tree on the 6th July, for 3 nights.
We we very unlucky, because the weather
for the first 2 days was dreadful. It helped that our room was very pleasent, and was somewhere nice to come back to. The owners were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was lovely, cerial, fruit, juice, toast and a cooked breakfast.
The only problem, that might effect some guests, is the time. If you want a cooked breakfast you need to be down stairs by 8.45am. This was fine with us, but as this was a guest house, that catered for wedding parties, there was a young couple who arrived back late and at 9.15
Was to late for the cooked breakfast. But the owner does let you know, when you arrive of the times. The beds were made everday, There was a television and tea, coffee making facilaties in the room. You can get access to wifi, just ask the owner and he will give you the code. There are a few shops nearby, and a beach within walking distance. There are plenty of resturants and pubs, but you need a car. The Beech Tree has its own parking at the front of the building. Dorset is lovely and we would go back to this B & B again. The only thing we found difficult, was parking in Dorset, their are plenty of car parks, but they are very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We were in the area for a wedding and decided the Beech tree was a perfect place to stay. We booked six of the seven available rooms and the best man booked the remaining room, with a separate booking. After a lengthy induction by the extremely friendly owner (with emphasis on ensuring the front door to the guest house is securely locked at all times). We thought we'd made a pretty good choice! However, on return from a very pleasant meal, on the eve of the wedding, we discovered there had been a double booking, there was no longer a room available for the last 2 friends to arrive! You can imagine how upsetting this was, considering we had booked 6 rooms in September of the previous year and the best man had also booked his room, during that same week! Unfortunately, the owner failed to admit his mistake! After alot of discussion, and swapping around, and with the usher very kindly agreeing to move to another hotel nearby, and book another room elsewhere, for the next night, we all got a bed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at this B&B. We were there for three nights. It was a great location to explore the area from and I would strongly recommend it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Owners double booked our room and asked to stay with a neighbour ... we had come to Highcliffe for a wedding and we had to get changed in the lounge, the owners reluctantly let us use the shower and asked us to leave the wedding to meet the neighbour we were staying with and pick up the keys!

Fortunately, we were able to book a room at the local Best Western hotel (recomended by a fellow guest) during the wedding ... much better option if you are in the area ... £80 for a double room in a 4 star hotel ...

Can't give a review in relation to the rooms etc. as we didn't get to see them .. .and finally the owners refused to give back our deposit!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We were two couples staying here for a long weekend. The host is very welcoming, and the whole place is very clean. When we arrived the host showed us how he'd already aranged a breakfast table of four just for us. There is tea and coffee, and a hairdryer in the rooms. The triple glazing in our room meant we weren't disturbed by a lot of traffic noise. There is free wi-fi. The breakfast was good (although a few more mushrooms would have been nice), with a range of cereals, fruit, and full English.
The house it at the end of the high street in Highcliffe, so close to various shops, restaurants and tea rooms, although it's not a very fascinating place as such. It's short walk round the corner to the beach.
We used the B&B as a base for driving to Christchurch, Lymington, and the New Forest, for which it is well place. There is ample parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beech Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree

Address: 2 Stuart Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Tree 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beech Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Highcliffe, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.