We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caddon View Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caddon View Country Guest House to your Saves list
Caddon View Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Pirn Road, Innerleithen EH44 6HH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I visit several times per year. Steve and Lisa have made it a haven for this single traveller. Great welcome, unfailing attention to detail, comfort, excellent food to a "fine dining" standard in sparkling clean, bright decor. They are great at ensuring their guests get the most out of the area. Wish I could come oftener. They provide a much better experience than more expensive hotels in which I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
107
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped overnight on a snowy journey from Leeds to Stirling. What a welcome from Steve and Lisa - hot tea, homemade cake and a roaring log stove. Lovely room and fantastic food in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast. Will definitely see them again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely guest house, the food was amazing an he owners very welcoming. Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent and the welcome coffee and cake a bonus. Had a great stay and have no problem recommending theCaddon View for a relaxing break. Took he owners detailed advice for a scenic route to Bewick

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at Caddon View last weekend. Our hosts Steve and Lisa were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The house is decorated to a high standard and radiates warmth and comfort to a weary traveller. The food is excellent and we were taken aback when Steve said he had not been professionally trained as it was of a high standard and beautifully presented. We had to bring Meg our collie with us and Steve and Lisa went to the trouble of putting a water bowl and doggie towel out for her which was very much appreciated. All in all a little piece of Heaven on Earth!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We do like to look after our canine guests in our dog friendly room by providing a water bowl and towels for muddy paws! There are so many walks from our front door to keep all pets happy - be it running up hills or playing in streams.
Of course we are happy that you had a superb stay as well as Meg!
Best wishes and we hope to see you in the future,
Lisa & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the welcoming cup of tea & cake on arrival to leaving after a lovely breakfast we had a very comfortable stay at Caddon View. I would recommend Caddon View to my friends, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your kind review. Its good to hear that you enjoyed your tea and home-made cake upon your arrival.
We would love to see you once again and maybe for a few more days?!
Best wishes,
Lisa & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we spent 4 days in Scotland and the Borders region did not disappoint, fabulous walks/climbs & activities. Excellent choice of places to eat out, people so friendly and helpful. Scenery to die for! like being in the Alps! The best part being Caddon View, after a full day out to come back tired but happy it is welcoming, clean, beautiful well equipped rooms. Steve & Lisa so friendly and full of ideas for trips and a wealth of local knowledge.

Restaurant has good reviews, we didn't eat here during our stay but menu read well, they try to source all food locally which is a good for local traders and the environment.

very nice breakfast selection/ well cooked and nothing too much trouble, would happily stay here again, good position for getting out and about on foot or by car, local bus service good as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Yarrow" with out daughters (15yrs) in the room next door, this is a corner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear CazL,
Many thanks for your kind words. Its lovely for the Scottish Borders to be compared to the Alps, the scenery is certainly stunning in the Tweed Valley.
We do hope to see you all again in the future.
Best wishes,
Lisa & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights last week and wished we could have stayed for longer! Steve and Lisa are very warm, friendly hosts. The standard of food is excellent, both the breakfast and the evening meal were exceptional. Our room was clean, light and spacious. We were lucky enough to be given an upgrade when we arrived. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! Overall a brilliant stay in a beautiful part of the country, I would definitely recommend Caddon View and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind response. It was a pleasure to upgrade you to a superior double room - something we always try to do when we have availability. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Lisa & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caddon View Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caddon View Country Guest House

Address: 14 Pirn Road, Innerleithen EH44 6HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caddon View Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1850's, Caddon View is an award winning 4* country guest house and restaurant which provides luxurious accommodation in the beautiful Tweed Valley. Relax in our comfortable drawing room with a glass of wine or a dram from our carefully selected list and then dine in our award winning restaurant. Why stay anywhere else when you can have everything you need under one roof. In the morning start your day with a choice from our breakfast menu, even a glass of Bucks Fizz if it's a special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caddon View Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caddon View Country Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caddon View Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.