We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“usual standard, but dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel to your Saves list
Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel
North Waltham RG25 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Waltham
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“usual standard, but dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week, and found it to be a rather dated premier inn. No air condtioning, or heating in bathroom, or telephone in the room.
our room as a little on the noisey side, from the M3 and main road outside. but not enough for us to request the "good nights sleep guarantee"!
the pub resturant next door, was good value, however we were disapointed that breakfast was only until 10.00 on a sunday (all other Premier inns we've stayed in were 10.30 - 11.00), we got there at 09.55am and were told we couldn't have any hot food but we could still have a "continetal" breakfast but at the same price (£8.95 each).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
45
32
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I didn't stay. Just had a quick supper with a colleague

The scotch and egg starter was so much better than I was expecting.
Do have it.

Other then that. the wi-fi only seemed to work in one area of the pub and it was very warm.

Great dish though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late January 13. Room was just ok - decor tired - bed comfortable. Doors in corridor dirty - why?
Evening meal in adjoining restaurant on both nights good - service v. good although I dont like to smell the toilets whilst waiting for a drink to be served at the bar. Furthermore a error on the bill which was quickly resolved - good - but ended in a manager repremanding staff in front of me - not good.
Breakfast on the second day was not up to the usual good standard - chef - learn to poach an egg please - its not difficult.

I would stay here again if options were limited. Do not have a roadside room as they will be noisy.

Room Tip: Do not have a roadside room as they will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First time in a Premier Inn and for the price, very good value. Staff were pleasent and helpful. The room was basic and comforable other than it was too hot even after turning the radiator off and opening the window. It was Christmas night and fairly quiet, Breakfast was ok but was not served in main restaurant and an issue I will take up separately. Not bad overall value

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

One night stopover after a Christams party in the restaurant next door. Receptionist went out of her way to swap rooms around so we could have a downstairs room as my wife is disabled. Housekeeping instantly converted the room from double to twin. Comfortable, everything worked OK. Excellent good value breakfast in the morning. Overall good value for a budget hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights during a visit to Winchester, the room was clean and comfortable but over looked the kitchen roof and the extractor fans were noisy. The restaurant was noisy and the food was poor but the staff friendly

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Does what it says on the tin - a room with a bed for a cheap rate. Room was warm, clean and bed was comfy. No issues with road noise or other guests.

Downsides - TV signal was weak and kept freezing, water pressure in shower was awful.

Fine for a stopover.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: North Waltham RG25 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > North Waltham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Basingstoke South is conveniently positioned within easy reach of Junction 7 M3. For shops and local amenities, Basingstoke town centre is 7 miles away and is easy to reach the Festival Leisure Park and Festival Shopping Centre. Our Basingstoke South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, flatscreen TVs with Freeview, WIFI and free parking. We also have the Wheatsheaf Chef & Brewer onsite. The Chef & Brewer pub is part of a collection of charming, traditional pub restaurants with a modern service style and ethos, spread throughout the UK. Offering freshly prepared food and high quality drink at great value, traditional pub values are at the heart of Chef & Brewer. The pub is reassuringly genuine with old beams, nooks and crannies, roaring log fires in the winter and cooling gardens in the summer. With a proper bar area perfect to prop yourself up against while enjoying a pint of real ale or a chilled glass of wine and comfortable and relaxing dining areas, Chef & Brewer is right for every time of day or day of the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.