We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St John's House B&B

St John's House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cononley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St John's House B&B
Save
You added St John's House B&B to your Saves list
Crosshills Road | Near Skipton, Cononley, Skipton BD20 8LA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Cononley B&B and Inns
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Quite a few B & B's around the country give the impression being held together with string, but St John's House restored all my faith. Terrific facilities that would compete with a serious hotel, beautifully presented (even a personalised file!) and energetically and warmly run by Doug and Kath whose children just add to the scene. Lovely breakfast which kept me going all day and definitely somewhere to return to. Totally recommended without reservation!
Simon R.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for the great comments, Simon. A brief stay but we enjoyed having you and thank you for booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed two nights. Kath and Doug were great hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. The children had their own bedroom just off ours and it was stocked with books and toys. There were DVDs for the TV in the main bedroom too. Bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculately clean and very comfortable. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for the lovely feedback Ian. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope the rest of your hols were good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My son, grandson and myself were only booked in for one night but ended up staying two as it was soooooooo nice!! Kath and Doug were lovely, family suite was superb - breakfasts were great and they even had two children similar ages to Rocco - so he had a great time playing with them. We can all highly recommend St John's in Cononley!!

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you Geri for the lovely comments. We really enjoyed having you and the kids loved their new playmate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked St John's B&B for 1 night as somewhere to break a long journey, but now I wish that we had stayed there for a few days. The welcome was very warm and friendly and there was even a letter in our room welcoming us personally. We stayed in the family room and the views were superb across the Yorkshire Dales. The 2 joining bedrooms and bathroom were of the highest quality, every detail had been thought off, even the tissue box matched the bed linen. We were very comfortable and the next day were treated to a delicious breakfast. We will definately return and I would highly recommend this B&B. Relaxing and luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments. Thank you for staying with us and hope we see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at the St John's B&B. Kath was friendly, accommodating and very helpful. The double room was very clean, spacious and had great views and it is a well furnished and very comfortable room with a great ensuite. The breakfast was lovely and so was the coffee. The B&B is in a great location for getting out in the Yorkshire Dales. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Manager at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and thank you for the kind comments. Lovely to meet you both. Best wishes, Kath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean, spacious rooms, great views, great location, just a short walk up the hill from the railway station (frequent trains from Leeds and Bradford). We stayed in the family room which was great for us, plenty of room. Lovely breakfast, again with views out onto the Dales. Would certainly chosse to stay here again.

Room Tip: From what I could see both rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments Dave. You are welcome to stay any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

St johns house B&B, excellent location in cononley very friendly hosts, lovely, spacious & very clean rooms, also a very filling breakfast to be had..lovely. would definately recommend to everyone and will go back for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments Andy. Hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St John's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St John's House B&B

Address: Crosshills Road | Near Skipton, Cononley, Skipton BD20 8LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Cononley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cononley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both of our rooms benefit from stunning views across the Aire Valley. The emphasis is on comfort and quality. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, along with fresh milk and home-made cakes/biscuits served daily. Each room has flat screen televisions and free Internet access. The en-suite shower rooms are spacious, light and airy with high performance showers. We have private parking and secure cycle storage. We are a short walk away from a mainline train station, two pubs serving food, village shop and children's park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St John's House B&B Cononley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St John's House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.