We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Sandy Cove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor EX34 9SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Another awesome trip to The Sandy Cove Hotel! Time and time again this hotel and it's staff never fail to disappoint, rooms food and view you can not beat and all for a fraction of what you would expect to pay!! If you haven't yet been...GO!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    45
    40
    24
    12
See reviews for
56
123
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful room and very clean! The food is phenomenal and the newly refurbished dining room is stylish but so comfortable and relaxed. The location is great and the sea views are breathtaking! Will definitely be recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend break at Sandy Cove Hotel. We saw the pictures of the wonderful view on the hotel website, which also has some brilliant pictures of the amazing food. The view did not disappoint and neither did the food! Since staying at the hotel a few months ago I have recommended it to friends who have had similar experiences. We have already booked to come back in September and cannot wait!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was recently hoping to treat my husband to a nice lunch at Sandy Cove for his birthday. Upon entering via the main doors I was TOLD that lunch was not available, just sandwiches. When I pointed out that the website suggested otherwise I was advised (in the most patronising of ways) that 'NOOOOOO. Just sandwiches'. Not a glimmer of an apology for the misleading 'lunch is available between 12 - 2' message on their website nor any suggestion that Customer Service might be a pre-requisite for the imbecile manning the front desk. Particularly when the establishment boasts about it's 'welcoming, dedicated team of people'. I cannot recall feeling so unwelcome in a hotel or restaurant, EVER.
Anyway, we didn't eat here, won't be doing so anytime soon and will definitely not be recommending it to our guests (we run a local holiday let business).
If I could give it no stars I would. Well done Sandy Cove.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel does not live up to the website marketing. We went for a weekend stay to check out the hotel as a possible wedding venue. The view was beautiful, and that was really the only good thing. It's a shame as the place has such potential, but is in need of some money spent on it and probably some better management and kitchen staff.

Parts of the hotel are really shabby (and a bit smelly), with dirty carpets, chipped paintwork etc. Our room was satisfactory for a standard B&B but not a 'luxury' hotel. The carpet needed replacing and so did the ill-fitting door. The noise from people struggling to get past each other in the very narrow the corridor did not give a relaxing atmosphere.

The food was disappointing, we had paid for breakfast and an evening meal. Breakfast was a bit basic (plain cheap sliced bread for toast, basic cereal, plain tea or coffee- no lattes/earl grey). The cooked breakfast was ok, but the staff were slow in serving it and the table linen was not clean. Sauces were not provided on the tables, but dolloped on your plate by the staff at request.

The evening meal was pretty awful, after a long walk and a small lunch (in anticipation) it was very disappointing. The menu choice was very limited and the staff were slow to serve us. There were no bread rolls left, so we had to wait for more to come out of the oven (not freshly made, but the part-baked rolls you buy from Tesco). We were given one roll each and sat eating that, still waiting for our drinks. The starters were served on slates, and were stone cold and small in size. The main was served on a chipped plate, and again a small portion. I had pork belly which wasn't that nice (in my opinion), with green beans, and mash (one small ice cream scoop of sloppy tasteless 'potato'). Dessert was also disappointing, I had a lemon tart with blueberries (about 5). The tart was not freshly made but looked like it had been bought from the local supermarket (quite nice actually). The brownie, on closer inspection of the menu, was a 'brownie sundae' - so small bits of cold brownie on top of cheap ice-cream with honeycombe bits (the burnt sugar left a sour aftertaste) - generally not nice.

The pool was basic (under a polytunnel type contraption) and looked ok but was not the standard I'd have expected from the website. The steam and sauna/ changing area smelled moldy, and it can't be good for your health to be breathing in mold spores. So we didn't use the facilities.

I hope the owners plan on doing some upgrades and refurbishments because the place has such potential if some money (probably quite a lot) was spent on it and the staff paid a bit more attention to providing for their guests.

Needless to say we will be getting married elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were very impressed last year so returned this year. Room 46 recommended by manager and was perfect for us and the children. Very good value and very friendly. I always wonder why I think we need to go abroad when we stay at this hotel. Can't wait to go back. Even the constant moaning from the couple across from us about everything didn't bother us! Thankyou to everyone at Sandy Cove.

Maxine May

Room Tip: Room 46 if you have older children as adjoining rooms and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 young children for 4 nights, it was a really enjoyable break and a wonderful hotel. We had never stayed here before, we found it online and loved the look of it. It definitely lived up to our expectations and more. We had a family room which was brilliant as it had a separate area for the children, it was very clean and spacious. The food was amazing, if we lived locally we would definitely visit here for dinner on a regular basis! The restaurant was very nicely decorated and the staff were very friendly. The children loved the swimming pool, especially on the day we had really nice weather and the sides were open so it was outdoor! The sea views were fantastic, the children loved to be on the lookout for boats. There was quite a lot to do for famlies in the area, the hotel information book had quite alot of informaiton in about things to do in the area which was a big help. We will definitely be going back to this hotel very soon as we all enjoyed it. We have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor EX34 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.