We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeannette Bristol” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandy Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Sandy Cove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor EX34 9SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jeannette Bristol”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beware the cost doesn't stack up. We had a broken venetian blind in the bathroom when you sat on the loo you could be seen from the footpath by people passing by as the window was clear glass . The lock on the bathroom door was faulty when leaving the bathroom you had to knock to be let out. We reported this to reception but no one repaired the blind or door. In the restaurant we had sausages we could not slice through as they were so hard. A plate that had not been washed properly and still had food and a long hair attached plus dirty cutlery and stewed coffee.
The hotel has an excellent view and good walks to Combe Martin or Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the part of the hotel that has been slightly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry for any problems you had, we think this has been lack of communication on our part. When you reported the problems you had, the maintenance team did visit your room to see the blind, a new blind was ordered immediately and the lock on the bathroom door was signed off as repaired - we do have a maintenance book for all problems. We are therefore very sorry as this was an error on our part. We had a meeting with the Chef immediately after reading your review and she has now changed supplier with regard to the sausages. As to your other comments about crockery and cutlery we have had a meeting with the Restaurant manager who has now introduced new systems to ensure that this does not happen again. We very much hope you would give us another chance and visit again in the future; if you did want to visit again, please ring in advance and speak to a manager and we will ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    32
    23
    10
See reviews for
48
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

had a lovely three course meal on mother's day,the chef made the best food ever,beautiful food, cooked perfectly was so stuffed. Amazing views, must ask for a sea view as it is a view to die for,in such a beautiful quite location.,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our food- Our Chef has won an AA Rosette for her food and it is so nice to hear that people do enjoy it so much. We will be sure to pass on your comments to her and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

me and my wife have recently stayed at this hotel and enjoyed all aspects from the gorgeous rooms and the amazing view to the delicious food and friendly welcoming service.

we booked it with late notice and was plesently surprised with what we received, we booked it directly with the hotel and we found this was the best price and they could offer us the best deal.

we found it hard to believe the hotel is a 3 star as we have stayed in 4 star hotels half as nice and double the price.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and couldn't seem to do enough for us.

we look forward to our next visit to sandy cove and will be looking at staying for longer next time as there is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we didn't have chance to fit it all in.

we couldn't recommend this hotel enough !!

thanks to sandy cove for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were so pleased with your room and the food. We will also be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff. We shall look forward to your next visit with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I chose a last minute 3 night break to this hotel. My daughter needed a complete relax from work and we used the trip advisor reviews to help make our choice. Our pleasant experience started from our initial phone call when Richard was extremely helpful and from start to finish of our holiday we were delighted.
Sandy Cove hotel is in an outstanding position overlooking the sea and our superior sea view rooms were just that! Amazing view, ensuite facilities,extremely comfortable beds,hair drier, toiletries, tea and coffee and flat screen tv.
The food was absolutely delicious - many compliments to the chef.The hotel has an AA rosette for culinary excellence 2012-2013 which is well deserved. Locally sourced and beautifully presented served by charming waiters and waitresses, all very well trained and delightful young people.
Facilities -great. An indoor/outdoor pool heated with sliding roof. We were lucky with lovely warm weather so were able to look at the views from the pool. Sauna, steam room, two heated loungers and also outside loungers.
The surrounding villages are delightful and unspoilt and when we returned from walking/ exploring we were able to relax by the pool or in the lounge which is very comfy or in the bar,again very comfortable with pool table.
Drawbacks - to be really picky the carpets are not very exciting but I don't care it certainly didn't worry us, maybe the decor is dated but so what. We had a fabulous holiday and only wish we could have stayed longer. On the last morning we also saw the dolphin! Yes we will certainly return.

Room Tip: We chose superior sea view which were worth every penny, see the lights of Wales twinkling as you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to leave such a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your daughter was able to get some relaxation time in. It is really nice to hear such nice comments about the staff- which I will be sure to pass on. Also to our Chef who will be pleased to know that her AA Awarded food is so well received. We shall look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Breath taking views very scenic, over looking the sea. We had a superior sea view room & would definitely recommend this room. big picture window amazing view, large room big built in wardrobe, lots soft lighting, bathroom big but needed a good chrome polish & the loo brush rusty which was not pleasant & paint peeling on top of toilet so let it down just a tiny bit,towels very clean if not bit thin. Large kettle (unfortunately it still had water in it not sure how long) lots of coffee tea & hot chocolate .Big bed plenty of draw space. Would recommend this room it was lovely.

We had a late sandwich on arrival lovely & more than just a sandwich included salad & chips reasonably priced.
We dined Saturday night buffet starter which was fantastic Fresh salmon prawns cold meats pasta salad rice salad salads egg mayonnaise -all help yourself. I had the Beef bourgeon melted in your mouth with French grain mustard mash. My husband had the fish in batter & was very disappointed dry tasteless & not much fish in it although it was very large. Help yourself to desert
3 course meal very reasonably priced -the price wasn't on the menu so at the time didn't realise how much it was going to cost but it was £43 for 2 for 3 course meal & coffee.
The downside it was busy we were sat at a claustrophobic very wobbly table & chairs ,it was very hot in the room & uncomfortable.
We were sat at the table not asked if we would like a drink & it was over 10 minutes until asked & even longer to order food.Apart from this it was a very pleasant evening.

Outside view of the pool with the cover on was a bit shabby but don't be put off ,we used it & very warm lovely ,shabby tiling at waters edge of pool. The warm sun loungers lovely & the steam room & sauna looked very modern & clean. No lockable lockers avaible but cubby holes on the wall to put clothes ,towels available at reception.NO toilet roll in the toilet at the pool not even a spare which was very poor. You also need to get a pass to enter.
Main areas needed tidying up the lounge area was dark ,lovely walled dark panelling but green bush needs throwing & needs modernising, some areas need paintwork.

The downside there was a wedding party-& as it rained they took over the whole lounge guest area so nowhere for guest to sit & you made to feel like you were gate crashing the wedding a lot of other guests we very unhappy -we were paying quite high prices for 3* .The terrace area lovely but it rained the whole time we stayed so couldn't use it.. The hotel everywhere was uncomfortably warm ,did ask for a window table & was told no.
Sleep wise although thewedding reception was in a marquee away from hotel the guest when it was finished chatting well into the early hours under our bedroom -it was to stuffy to shut the windows so not a good night sleep.
Breakfast was disappointing bacon hard sausages tasteless & over cooked over long wait ,main waitress seemed to have got out of bed the wrong way. & had an attitude about her when again said it was to hot & we had table in closed in area. She did offer to open the windows but we were so far away we would not have got the benefit -should have opened some early let air circulate. Lot of other guest said they couldn't wait to get out of restaurant as it was so airless.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic get away, but check that there is not a wedding on.3 * hotel bordering on 4* prices so get a deal
Definitely stay again Staff were very helpful & friendly plenty of staff about. Shame about breakfast .

Room Tip: 33 sea view superior "semi detached"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay. The negative aspects we do take very seriously and we have informed the relevant departments and we do apologise for the points that you have raised. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has a view over the North Devon coast that most hotels would die for, it is truly breathtaking and if you pay for a room with a sea view it's definitely worth it! The pool area and all the outdoor facilities, on a good weather day are fabulous. Pool is great, steam room and sauna all clean and well kept! Lovely grounds - no issues here at all.
Would echo what others have said that in places the hotel feels a little tired and sometimes is a little old fashioned. It is understandable that it is a 3 star, but with the facilities of a 4 star. This is reflected in the staff too, who are all very polite and friendly but they just feel as if they are working in a hotel from the 80's. We didn't eat in the restaurant, only because we went out most evenings but we did have food on the "decks"which is the best location to eat albeit the menu needs some excitement, is basically traditional pub food and not necessarily well cooked.

Our room was a superior sea view. I am not sure it was particularly superior in any way, maybe just a wee bit bigger. Room was cleaned every day, perfectly acceptably but didn't have anything in the room which was anything above a 3 star. This was a room on the top floor, which looked new to be honest but still the grouting on the floor in the bathroom was missing in places. I would go back though just maybe not stay as long next time and not pay extra for a superior room!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you rightly say we are a 3 star Hotel & have been told by the AA that we could try and go for 4 star but we prefer to be a top end 3 star. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We are suprised about your feedback on the superior rooms as we have had very good comments on them and we do have 2 with balconies. We believe there is a small problem with the grout on the bathroom floor in this room as it is a new build and the builder says that, as it is a wooden floor, there is slight movement but this will settle down soon, we do however constantly grout. We very much look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all the good points. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large with a beautiful view, cleaned daily and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet. The food was good, especially at breakfast. The pool was really warm with a movable roof so you felt as if you were half outdoors. There was plenty of seating outside with a well kept lawn. Easy to walk along the coast path or to the nearby village of Berrynarbor. Large TV with a good picture. Nice lounge you could sit in and lovely view from the restaurant. We would really have liked to have chairs in our bedroom so we could sit and admire the view from there.
Bad points: There was wi fi but very intermittent and it didn't work in our bedroom. No O2 signal that I could find. The food portion sizes were variable at dinner, (fish and chips ok but the fish meal on the menu was tiny) the Saturday night buffet did not include much of the types of seafood/ fish that were advertised. The cream tea contained the most dry,tasteless scones I have ever had. The pool roof was ugly especially in such a beautiful surrounding and the inside part was quite dirty with toilets out of order and some mould. What worried me more was that it would be very easy for a small child to run away and fall in the pool (say at a wedding reception) as the sides were open and the gate to the enclosure left open. Our bathroom had a dirty floor and the shower/hot water pressure was quite weak but the water was warm enough.
The weather was lovely which helped everything.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the seaview rooms
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review- we are pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us and are pleased to hear the good points of your visit. However we do take all reviews seriously so we have let the relevant departments know of your negative points that you have addressed. And we hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor EX34 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.